how on earth does one raise kids to be moral and religious?
some people suggest that they need to be in an Islamic environment (if I want to raise them as muslims) and for that one should move to Pakistan or a middle-eastern country..
i dont know, i dont agree… i think you can create a good moral enviroment wherever you’re living…
as i discussed with hubby, we as parents need to provide a good foundation for the kids and then it will be upto them to choose the right friends, the right circle for them to grow as a person… but its such a scary thought. I cant say that ive never done a bad thing in my life, or made mistakes, i have, plenty of them.. but at the end of the day, i didnt cause my parents any disrespect or disrespect for myself.. i could walk and can walk with my head held high.. but im wondering, how do i give my child that same education… if not better..
obviously, she’ll make mistakes, she’ll break at times, but i want her to come out fighting and strong.. i want her to grow up with good morals and have a solid foundation…
such a demanding task to be a parent… such an assignment
one of the most important things would be to show them by example! what confuses kids (not directed at you) is the hypocracy they learn from their parents... that religion is used at some times and ignored at others, trust me they will learn a lot from you.
While the extent of exposure to fitna is greater in western countries then it is in muslim, it is still possible to raise pious kids... however it helps if you socialise with families who carry similar thinking to yours... particularly living near the local musallah/ masjid helps...
I pray that Allah SWT blesses you with the kind of success you are aiming at, Amin :)
We all face that challenge today. I don’t think moving to an Islamic country would really help too much. Things over there are getting pretty westernized, in fact taking an ugly turn from what I hear. At least here we can tell our kids not to do something that this is not our culture, over there we’d be at a loss for words!
Anyways, I think kids follow best by the example we set. If our home is a solid foundation run on the right principles, they should catch on. We should also learn the art of keeping a fine balance between discipline and freedom otherwise we may have to face rebellion at some point.
Parenthood is hard. But the rewards for a job well done are great! Insha’allah we’ll be fine.
one of the most important things would be to show them by example! what confuses kids (not directed at you) is the hypocracy they learn from their parents... that religion is used at some times and ignored at others, trust me they will learn a lot from you.
While the extent of exposure to fitna is greater in western countries then it is in muslim, it is still possible to raise pious kids... however it helps if you socialise with families who carry similar thinking to yours... particularly living near the local musallah/ masjid helps...
I pray that Allah SWT blesses you with the kind of success you are aiming at, Amin :)
hi pinks, thanks for your comment :)
I agree we need to lead by example. Kids pick up so much from what we do.. they are such good observers. My daughter already knows where the jaanmaz is kept and when u tell her ke "challo namaz parein" she'll go and pick up the jaanmaz and hand me the dupatta...
However, I dont quite agree that we necessarily need to be living near a masjid to learn about religion... as kids we used to visit the mosque on Eid and other religious days, but most of my religion has been taught to me by my dad and interacting with other people (and not all of them being muslims). For me, I think, if you have that communication with your parents where you can discuss religion, life and other things openly, that is great... and i hope i can provide that type of environment for my kids... Inshallah
actually, im trying my best not to force anything on them.. as that will prob just make them rebel... and im trying this sabar thing with my hubby.. he's my experiment lol
I agree we need to lead by example. Kids pick up so much from what we do.. they are such good observers. My daughter already knows where the jaanmaz is kept and when u tell her ke "challo namaz parein" she'll go and pick up the jaanmaz and hand me the dupatta...
However, I dont quite agree that we necessarily need to be living near a masjid to learn about religion... as kids we used to visit the mosque on Eid and other religious days,** but most of my religion has been taught to me by my dad and interacting with other people (and not all of them being muslims). For me, I think, if you have that communication with your parents where you can discuss religion, life and other things openly**, that is great... and i hope i can provide that type of environment for my kids... Inshallah
actually, im trying my best not to force anything on them.. as that will prob just make them rebel... and im trying this sabar thing with my hubby.. he's my experiment lol
MashAllah its nice to hear this! its always best to have the kind of relationship where you can discuss things rather then to force it upon them... even if they do it, they'll end up doing it out of fear rather then by choice.
hawww kitna cute idea hai… subah subah, andherey mouN bachouN ko tayyar kar key, Prince by Lu ka biscuit de ke Sara apney bachouN ko school ke liye rukhsat karey gi
^ its not zulm mate... in an Islamic country, school and work is based around Islam.. maybe they just except the kids to wake up, pray and then go to school? :)