Raheel urges PM to resolve Panama issue

I don’t know under what authority he is threatening PM? What this has to do with national security?? PM CAOS ko appoint karta hay aor kuch arsay ke baad yeh he CAOS PM ko dhanda karta hay. aakhir Pakistan ke saath yeh mazaaq kab tak hota rahay ga? Three is assembly, courts and other venues which can be used to inquire of wrong doing? What the hell he is talking about?

**Raheel urges PM to resolve Panama issue - Pakistan - DAWN.COM
ISLAMABAD: Army chief Gen Raheel Sharif on Tuesday weighed in on the government-opposition row over the Panama Papers probe by asking Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to resolve the issue at the earliest.

Gen Sharif, according to a well-placed government source, conveyed the pointed message to the prime minister in a one-on-one meeting before another huddle on national security at PM House.

The army chief’s view was that the protracted controversy over Panama Papers investigation was affecting governance and national security and, therefore, the issue needed to be urgently brought to a close.

“Gen Sharif believes that the issue is causing instability and insecurity,” the source said.

The crisis erupted after Panama Papers leaks revealed offshore financial assets of Nawaz Sharif’s children. Although the leaked documents had disclosed offshore companies of several other leading politicians, the opposition has been demanding that the probe should start with the prime minister’s family.

The government and the opposition have separately proposed their terms of reference for a judicial inquiry. Persisting differences between the two sides over how the probe should proceed is preventing the start of the inquiry.

Coincidentally, the Panama*gate unfolded as Mr Sharif’s government was embroiled in a controversy with the military over the start of counter-terrorism operations in Punjab. The government had initially resisted authorising a military-led operation in the province, which the army unilaterally started after the Easter Day bombing in a Lahore park. Later the army compromised and settled for a coordination mechanism at the level of the provincial government.

The government has been adamant that the prime minister’s family had not done anything wrong by investing in overseas companies, but looks panicky.

Due to frosty civil-military relations, a national security meeting could not take place for an unusually long time. The last civil-military apex committee’s meeting on national security affairs was held on April 4 during which civil-military impasse over the authorisation of military-led counter-terrorism operations in Punjab was discussed.

Tuesday’s national security meeting was presided over by the prime minister and attended by Gen Sharif, Interior Minis-ter Chaudhry Nisar Ali, ISI Director General Lt Gen Rizwan Akhtar, Finance Minister Ishaq Dar and Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

“Issues pertaining to national and internal security were discussed during the meeting. It reviewed the progress of Operation Zarb-i-Azb and return of internally displaced persons,” a statement issued by the PM Office said.

Without mentioning the news about Gen Sharif calling for resolution of the controversy over Panama Papers probe, it asked the media to “avoid speculation/flashing of news pertaining to unrelated issues and obtained through sources”.

Re: Raheel urges PM to resolve Panama issue

Or wo jo PM poori quom ko dandaa kerta hai, oos ka hisaab kon de gaa?

The topic and news says COAS "urged" while OP used the word "threat". Huge difference. Consequences will vary too. And if we pick the words of given news, wuts the harm in that? COAS is right to point out that it should be resolved. PM has to come clean.

These kinda news just provide masala to our media talk shows and then those who believe on these news anchors go hyper. I'm sure this dust will settle down quitely

ab COAS PM ko pakar kar torture karay… court lai janay kay bajaye wahin par uska qissa tamam karaday…:hmmm:

**You mean hisaab about OBL captured from Military Academy Kakul Abbottabad or creation of Talibans/Al-Qaeda/Lashkr-e-Tayyaba or Kargil adventure in which 5000+ Pakistani Soldiers lost their lives ??

woh kaisay bhai? Can you quote any example of his dhanda to nation? He has been very cautious for the last three years of his tenure. According to panchi pai there is no parallel of his starting developing schemes in Punjab. I don't know what are you talking about?

I am no fan of N$. I am talking about constitutional rights of PM and CAOS. According to constitution of Pakistan, CAOS is subservient of PM not the other way round.

Yaar aap tou pakkay politician niklay. Instead of admitting our acknowledging the mistake, you started accusing the other party.

Maybe you don't count the loot maar of quom's paisaa as dandaa, but I do

That will be clear cut violation of constitution. Such CAOS should be hanged for treason. If you are quoting example of mqm worker who was killed in rangers’ custody, PM is not responsible for that as rangers and army are working without considering the authority of PM of Pakistan. Those people should have arrested and tried in civilian court to defend their actions.

Again you are not understanding my point. I am not discussing here corruption. I am talking about the constitutional problem.

In Pakistan "Urged" by CAOS is a threat. CAOS is working under PM not otherwise.

Who is following constitution here anyways? PNA invited dictators to take over a democratic govt. Nawaz is an illegitimate child of that dictatorship. You probably wont like to hear that but BB made a deal with a dictator to amend the constitution and remove the condition of a person being PM for only two terms. Your beloved politicians hijacked the constitution for their own good. We should not be crying when it comes back to bite us.

Why dictators had to involve in politics??

If you go through the history, it was always the fault of politicians that dictators jumped in.

You are quite right in this opinion (as far as I am concerned!

Isn't it ironic that current PM had been bred and brought up by arguably the worst dictators in current history and it was OK then - when during Chief Justice Sajjad Ali Shah's tenure as CJP the case against Amir ul Momineen was presented the Supreme Court was attacked and it was OK.

So basically it's selective approach towards what's right and wrong is adopted by PMLN and the worst thing is that people (voters) are ok with it as they have resigned to the fact that their 'halaa'at" will not change ever. That is scary part and that is what is stopping Pakistan from becoming any better (for at least last three decades)

Jubb tukk army/agencies/establishment ki proper system and procedure k through accountability ni hogi
Tubb tukk yay budmashi chaulti rahay gi

There has to be one leader who will put in place "Systems" which will be bigger/larger/stronger than any personality in the country. As it's human instinct to be above law and this trait is present in 99.99% of humans.

Countries are lucky when they have statesmen to guide and build nations in infancy stage; had Jinnah been alive till 1965 or so like India had Nehru; the situation in Pakistan would have been much better than what it is now.

As an example; there are countries which have developed in Democracy and some have done well in Authoritarian rule spanning over years. Each country is different; and if someone thinks that present state of so called democracy can give any benefit to Pakistan - either that person is really optimistic or has not seen (first hand) the actual state of the constituencies in which voter sells his/her vote for aatey ki bori, naan, pulao etc., and for many other issues like illegal detainment / cases etc etc.,.

I have witnessed several constituencies first hand courtesy several friends and family members who are active in electoral politics and also part of naukar shahi (DMG Group) and I have full belief that it is in current stakeholders benefit to not change the system as they are the beneficiaries of the system and most importantly they are above the law/system. Who does not like to feel and behave like a King and yet call it Democracy - best ever concoction!

I am beginning to disbelieve in all this democracy shamocracy, but that is not because of what is happening in Pakistan army/politicians but around the globe. In most countries army is real power. US democracy is fake as it comes, its not like 100% fake but to large extent haathi ke daant dhikanay ke aur khanay ke aur.

How? :) Can you give just one specific example what you are saying?

When Abraham Lincoln, the great leader said "Government of the People, by the people, for the people he really meant it. But when ZAB said 'is mulk ki asal taqat awam hay, mardood dictator said "is mulk ki asal taqat fauj hay". This is how Pakistan has been destroyed by these adventurers, not by illegitimate politicians. They may be corrupt but they are not responsible for weakening the foundation of Quaid's Pakistan.

When CAOS over ride his powers and kick the arse of one who appointed him, yes this is not democracy but dictator wearing the garb of a politician :)

This is a vague statement far from the truth. Give one such example to support what you are saying. Your example should be supported by link, news item.

With the exceptions of very few in the history of Pakistan, all politicians are illegitimate children of generals. I can prove that if you want.