Ok ok ok..Its not a war, nor its a debate. Shafqat has some edge since he is more of a veteran. BUT Rahat has been training with the Great Nusrat.
I love them both and have been listening to both quite a lot. Shafqats new album is amazing, and Rahat’s live performances are passionate and nostalgic of Nusrat.
As a side note, I think its interesting that most of the successful singers in Pakistan are Shia or Sufi types.
Well both of em are totally diffrent kind of artists. Shafqat is more of a fusion thing with classical and pop.
and rahat is for sufi music and qawalis so we cant really compare em
both are awsome and both are asset for pakistan
Shafqat is very versatile..be it pop or ghazals and classical songs he's fab! Rahat is a maestro in his sufi/slow numbers. His new album "charkha" is really nice!
Rahat i would say because along with having an opportunity to learn from NFAK and sing his songs plus if you look at his body of work then he is slightly better then shafqat amanat ali..but then again shafqat has a good album which has his songs and not the indian flim ones and rahat has more songs for indian movies which you cannot give him full credit for..his album charkha wasn't that good.
I think both are good, although, Shafqat's elder brother Asad had a much better voice. However, it must be noted Shafqat has left the realm of classical singing like his father and brother and moving into modern music. The same can be said about Rahat...
On a continuing note, I would say that (and no disrespects here, NFAK was a great musician) most Qawwals agree that NFAK destroyed qawwali. He was really good with instruments and composition but qawwali has lost its devotional touch... I think (again my opninio) it owuld have been better for qawwali to continue in its puritanical substance albeit with a small following rather than the corrupted, commercialised half-breed it has become today. Indeed, the methods adopted have increased the qawwali audience tremendously but at the same time it has lost the sufi touch, the devotional trance, that 'connection' which was a hallmark and bedrock of sufi poetry.
I think both are good, although, Shafqat's elder brother Asad had a much better voice. However, it must be noted Shafqat has left the realm of classical singing like his father and brother and moving into modern music. The same can be said about Rahat...
Bhai sahab, the classical spirit is very much alive and well with Mr. Shafqat. His latest CD is exclusively geared towards sufi-esque poetry. Not only that, he has incited old Raag and singing styles (kartar, darbari) for example. I implore you to listen to his new album.
On a continuing note, I would say that (and no disrespects here, NFAK was a great musician) most Qawwals agree that NFAK destroyed qawwali. He was really good with instruments and composition but qawwali has lost its devotional touch... I think (again my opninio) it owuld have been better for qawwali to continue in its puritanical substance albeit with a small following rather than the corrupted, commercialised half-breed it has become today. Indeed, the methods adopted have increased the qawwali audience tremendously but at the same time it has lost the sufi touch, the devotional trance, that 'connection' which was a hallmark and bedrock of sufi poetry.
Oh it certainly is commercialized. It can't go back now. We live in a global world, where people don't have the time they used to...even in good old Pakistan...and this commercialization is infact a product of that globalization. Kya kahain. That being said, I do miss the rivalry between the Sabris and Aziz Mian!
The Sabri Brothers critiqued Aziz's Qawwali, Main Sharabi Sharabi (I am an Alcoholic, I am an Alcoholic) through their own Qawwali, Peena Veena Chhor Sharabi (Quit Drinking, Alcoholic). Aziz Mian retorted with Hai Kambakht Toone Pee Hi Nahi (Alas You Haven't Drunk, Moron). After the release of Aziz Mian's response, Main Sharabi Sharabi is coupled with Hai Kambakht Toone Pee Hi Nahi in newly released volumes.
Bhai sahab, the classical spirit is very much alive and well with Mr. Shafqat. His latest CD is exclusively geared towards sufi-esque poetry. Not only that, he has incited old Raag and singing styles (kartar, darbari) for example. I implore you to listen to his new album.
Oh it certainly is commercialized. It can't go back now. We live in a global world, where people don't have the time they used to...even in good old Pakistan...and this commercialization is infact a product of that globalization. Kya kahain. That being said, I do miss the rivalry between the Sabris and Aziz Mian!
The Sabri Brothers critiqued Aziz's Qawwali, Main Sharabi Sharabi (I am an Alcoholic, I am an Alcoholic) through their own Qawwali, Peena Veena Chhor Sharabi (Quit Drinking, Alcoholic). Aziz Mian retorted with Hai Kambakht Toone Pee Hi Nahi (Alas You Haven't Drunk, Moron). After the release of Aziz Mian's response, Main Sharabi Sharabi is coupled with Hai Kambakht Toone Pee Hi Nahi in newly released volumes.
I haven't heard this album (Shafqat's) so can not comment. Aziz Main was an all time favourite and his qawwalis are the ones I usually listen to instead of usual music (This is what I meant when I said Nusrat's qawwalis focus more on musical instruments while Aziz/Saabri/Munshi Riazuddin's focus on the lyrics or the poetry)...
Waise I do not agree with your assessment about th world being global. Look at India... you might say that it isa very large market, but still) They value stars like Ustad Bismillah Khan. Anna Purna Devi and Ustad Allauddin Khan are still revered there dispite all the bollywood shenanigans, Ravi Shankar and Jagjit's concerts are still packed... And people respect Ustad Mehdi Hassan and Madam more there than our own country...
To be honest, I think we are getting culturally deprived as a people. The talent is there, the artists and ustaads are there, but the are sliing into oblivion just because people don't care!
Prof.Imran, Shafqat once told in an interview that his father was also considered modern and contemporary at his time (introduving thumri waghera waghera)...so classical music dont have one shape.
I think both are amazing, very unique in their own way. My fave is Shafqat but i also love Rahat's voice and all his songs are superb. I especially love "Ore Piya"...and "Teri Ore". Both of these singers are gifted with such unique, amazing voice and i am really proud that they belong to Pakistan :). Everytime i listen to any of Shafqat's song i fell in love with his voice and wish that i find a guy for me with a voice like that :p. LOL!