The PCB has picked seamer Rahat Ali as a replacement for the injured Junaid Khan in Pakistan’s World Cup squad. The ICC’s technical committee will need to approve the switch. The selection of Ali, who has played only one ODI in a seven-year List A career and no international game since the Sharjah Test against New Zealand in November, was approved by PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan on the recommendation of chief selector Moin Khan.
Based on recent form, he is much better choice than Ehsan Adil, Sohail Tanvir and their kind of bowlers. Although his List A bowling average is 37, and Junaid Khan’s List A average is only 26. Definitely, not the same calibre of bowler as Junaid Khan. It would have been nice to get a genuine allrounder for the team balance, because we’re lacking one. Would like to see Hammad Azam or Yasir Arafat instead. Yasir was just there in Australia in the BBL, having won the BBL # 4 title with Perth Scortchers. However, I am happy Rahat is there instead of Sohail Tanvir, Bilawal Bhatti, Shoaib Malik, Raza Hassan and other names that were coming up in the media. I hope he plays ahead of Ehsan Adil though.
Looking at the stats of Bilawal and Rahat, it seems Bilawal has played more than twice the List A matches than Rahat. Rahat has 195 First Class (4 day matches) wickets but only 29 List A (50 overs).
Better than kukri but the problem here is that he doesnt have much pace. More of a medium pacer. So we clearly are lacking fast bowlers other than Irfan
he only played in one ODI in which he bowled 4 overs and gave away 34 runs
with this stats i’m sure he’s gona be another bhatti in world cup.
Profile:
Rahat Ali bowls with a side-on action and is capable of maintaining speeds around the 140 kph mark, but he insists his focus is more on swing. A left-arm fast bowler, he took to serious cricket during his first year of college, playing for Multan Cricket Club. He made his debut in 2007-08 for Multan, before shifting to Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited the following season. He was in sparking form for Khan Research Laboratories and Baluchistan in 2011-12, taking a total of 61 first-class wickets. It earned him a call-up to the Pakistan one-day squad for the tour of Sri Lanka in 2012, and a Test debut against South Africa in Johannesburg the next year.
Ehsan Adil selected having played 2 ODIs.
Rahat Ali selected having played 1 ODI.
Yasir Shah selected having played 0 ODIs.
Sohail Khan selected having played 5 ODIs.
Even minnows do not pick such a squad but hats off to our selectors and board. Injuries and ban is not an excuse because they opted not to give any of these players a chance. They may do well at the end of the day but if they were really talented then didn't they deserve a few games? I remember Pakistan playing full strength squad even against Bangladesh a few years ago even after winning series.
Well, most surprising is selection of batsmen who are just liabilities rather than match winners. For instance:
Shahzad on average plays 44 balls and score 32 runs
Hafiz on average plays 41 balls and score 30 runs
Younus on average plays 41 balls and score 31 runs
U Akmal on average plays 41 balls and score 35 runs
Misbah on average plays 58 balls and score 42 runs
Afridi on average plays 20 balls and score 23 runs
Together on average they would play 255 balls (42.5 overs)and would score around 190 runs with Pakistan losing 6 wkts. That is what on average they are doing throughout their career.
Now, what last 4 wickets could add in 7.5 overs is everyone’s guess. With present lots, Pakistan would be lucky if they add 25 to 30 runs in remaining overs, taking total on average to 220 in 50 overs.
With such score, no team on average can win against top teams.
Worse is that, their average includes runs playing on flat pitches of Sharjah and Dubai. In bouncy and pacy pitches of Aus and NZ, they might not be able to post their average runs, means team ability is to score on average even less than 220 runs in 50 overs (chasing or giving target). On top of that, most Pakistani fielders lack fielding quality.
In Australia and NZ, their averages are: U Akmal Ave = 37, Younus Ave = 18, Hafiz average = 12, Misbah (Test Average, as he did not play ODI in Aus and NZ) = 25
I think only players in the team at the top who deserve a place is Misbah (though he is too old now, and would lack in fielding) followed by Afridi down the order as hard hitter (and all rounder).
I would have preferred first 4 players who play on average at least 60 to 70 balls (Average over 45 and SR over 75), making ~ 200 in first 40 overs for loss of at most 4 wkts. Then team could have 3 hard hitters (two of them all rounders) at 5 to 7 with Ave over 25 and SR over 100, taking score to 270 plus. Remaining 4 players should be proper bowlers. If by any chance top 7 (4 batsmen and 3 All-rounders) fall early, than Pakistani bowlers should have average above 10 and SR over 100,so that they can still make Pakistan reach the target of at least 270 plus.
Well, most surprising is selection of batsmen who are just liabilities rather than match winners. For instance:
Together on average they would play 255 balls (42.5 overs)and would score around 190 runs with Pakistan losing 6 wkts. That is what on average they are doing throughout their career.
Now, what last 4 wickets could add in 7.5 overs is everyone’s guess. With present lots, Pakistan would be lucky if they add 25 to 30 runs in remaining overs, taking total on average to 220 in 50 overs.
Worse is that, their average includes runs playing on flat pitches of Sharjah and Dubai. In bouncy and pacy pitches of Aus and NZ, they might not be able to post their average runs, means team ability is to score on average even less than 220 runs in 50 overs (chasing or giving target). On top of that, most Pakistani fielders lack fielding quality.
In Australia and NZ, their averages are: U Akmal Ave = 37, Younus Ave = 18, Hafiz average = 12, Misbah (Test Average, as he did not play ODI in Aus and NZ) = 25
I think only players in the team at the top who deserve a place is Misbah (though he is too old now, and would lack in fielding) followed by Afridi down the order as hard hitter (and all rounder).
I would have preferred first 4 players who play on average at least 60 to 70 balls (Average over 45 and SR over 75), making ~ 200 in first 40 overs for loss of at most 4 wkts. Then team could have 3 hard hitters (two of them all rounders) at 5 to 7 with Ave over 25 and SR over 100, taking score to 270 plus. Remaining 4 players should be proper bowlers. If by any chance top 7 (4 batsmen and 3 All-rounders) fall early, than Pakistani bowlers should have average above 10 and SR over 100,so that they can still make Pakistan reach the target of at least 270 plus.
good analysis....loved the summary:
***Together on average they would play 255 balls (42.5 overs)and would score around 190 runs with Pakistan losing 6 wkts. That is what on average they are doing throughout their career.
so you just want the selection on the basis of players' performance/average in domestic cricket?
or do you think kon zayada rotiaan kha sakta hai shd be the selection criteria? pls guide.
the point is if you have already tried people from domestic cricket and you know they are failing, then why continuing this approach. Instead proper coaching is required.
Fawad Alam is the exception. Even after few good performances he would turn out to be a typical failure.
You select players from domestic cricket, try them and they fail. Ehsan Adil has very good bowling averge in domestic cricket but could not perform in international cricket. Haris sohail, sharjeel, ahmad shehzad, sohaib maqsood had very good domestic cricket records, what happened to them?
Ok, if you think we have ignored some supermen in domestic cricket do let me know.
Fawad Alam is the exception. Even after few good performances he would turn out to be a typical failure.
You select players from domestic cricket, try them and they fail. Ehsan Adil has very good bowling averge in domestic cricket but could not perform in international cricket. Haris sohail, sharjeel, ahmad shehzad had very good domestic cricket records, what happened to them?
Ok, if you think we have ignored some supermen in domestic cricket do let me know.
sir jee....you did not answer my question..
aur kaisay select karien youngsters ko? what shd be the criteria?
kon zayada larikyan patata hai?
ya kon zayada samosay kaha sakta ha in one sitting?
aur kaisay select karien youngsters ko? what shd be the criteria?
kon zayada larikyan patata hai?
ya kon zayada samosay kaha sakta ha in one sitting?
I was not teaching Saleem a cricket lesson. We are talking about the current selection.
My point is what else you have?
If you know you have tried players from domestic cricket and they are failed, why keep on ranting for selection on basis of average in domestic cricket?
Go with what you have now. For future, improve coaching the players (Shehzad, sohaib, etc) who performed in domestic but could not performed in international cricket.
How and where Fawad turn out to be typical failure, in domestic cricket or international cricket?
In First class and list A, he has highest average.
In test matches, Fawad average is more than 40, even when he is not given enough chance to prove himself.
In ODI (International cricket) he has highest average (45 runs per completed inning, SR 75).
In ODI, his strike rate is better than Shahzad, Hafiz, Misbah and equal to Younus.
[Younis SR is same as Fawad, but his average of 31 is pathetic. Another problem is that, Younis scores low most of the time with pathetic SR, but when he is settled (that happens sometime), he scores at reasonable pace and that is why his SR is equal to Fawad. As for Fawad, he scores from first ball he faces]
In test, Fawad became first Paksitani to make a century outside Pakistan on debut, and that also in second inning as opener (remember, we cry that we have no opener). In that match, Pakistan team collapsed in both first and second inning. Fawad score was second highest in first inning and was 168 in second inning (highest) while other 10 players together in second inning scored 143 runs (Fawad scored over 50 percent of total runs in second inning, as well as in that match. Best part is that, Fawad played in that match on debut as opener, even though normally he plays one down.
What PCB selectors did? Dropped him and since then only gave him 2 random test matches. Even then, he is few Pakistani players in history whose test match average is over 40. So, here is his international record, and you are saying that he fails?
Fawad ODI average in Australia is 39. In comparison:
U Akmal ave is 37
Younis ave is 18
Hafiz ave is 12
Misbah (played no ODI until 2015 in Aus or NZ), has his test ave = 25
What PCB selectors did, droped him for WC in Australia.
In 2014, Fawad ODI average is 69 (that international cricket)
next highest average is U Akmal ~ 40
Players with low averages as well as SR are playing, Fawad is dropped, as if, he is not even Pakistani, or team is not Pakistani but it is team of selectors.
AjazAli bhai, you Should know taht ODI matches are not domestic matches, they are international matches, so I hope you would not mix it up claiming that Fawad international matches performance is not good.
Here is performance of Fawad Alam in Australia ODI matches compared to others who got selected:
Yes … and I do not see any other criteria other than Parchi or nepotism that PCB and selection committee can use other than performance and average in domestic cricket, as national team has to get selected from domestic players, not players from Moons or Mars. On the other hand, only players who play domestic cricket should be eligible to play for country anyhow, and if any player is better than other (deserve to get selected over other), than they should show in domestic cricket their worth with better performance than others, where all have same environment and similar opponents.
Anyhow: I do not know what you are talking about? It is your love of parchi and nepotism or really not knowing the situation?
I wrote that team should be selected on merit and performance. If you disagree than tell me why?
I wrote that Pakistan has pathetic team with pathetic players, and gave their career figures. If you disagree with the figures I gave then quote me right figures or accept what I wrote (my figures can be found on http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/player)
My way of selection (completely unbiased):** It would be independent of human selection. Figures and performance would speak itself. If selection was in my hand than, I would use ‘First Class’ figures to select test team and ‘list A’ figures to select ODI team. Just going into selecting batsmen to show what I mean.
For Batsmen: Once player is selected for test or ODI (through their performance in FC and list A), then I would give the players certain number of fixed innings, regardless of their performance. If they stay above a target figures in those fixed innings they stay, else they go back and prove themselves again in ‘First Class’ and/or ‘list A’.
For instance: Each player in Test and ODI team should get continuous evaluation. They go below certain bench mark and lose their places making way for players performing in ‘FC’ and ‘list A’ matches. Criteria for ‘FC’ should be scoring at least 500 runs in last one year and ‘list A’ should be scoring at least 200 runs in last one year.
For player to get into test on basis of FC figures, player with highest average gets in (if there is space in test).
For player to get into ODI on basis of ‘List A’ figures, player with highest (Ave multiply by SR) should get in (if there is space in test).
Test (player to continue or get dropped): All players who made a place in test as batsmen, they get minimum 5 innings to show their worth. Their Ave should be 40 or above in last 5 innings to play next match. If not, then their Ave should be above 42 to play next match. Else, they go back to play FC matches and come back if they qualify and there is place in test team (in place of any test player who may not qualify on mentioned set criteria and get dropped).
ODI (player to continue or get dropped): All players who made a place in ODI, they get minimum 5 innings to show their worth. If they are batsman playing in ODI, than their (Ave x SR) should be 3000 or above on average to play next inning. If not than their (Ave x SR) should be above 3250 on average in last 10 innings to keep playing. Else, they go back to play ‘list A’ and come back if they qualify and there is place in ODI team (in place of any ODI player who may not qualify on mentioned set criteria and get dropped).
Using this or similar method would have 7 obvious advantage:
1: No human interference in selection, hence no nepotism, Parchi or connection.
2: All players know where they stand, as performance in figures would be in front of them. So, no chance to have grudges or complains.
3: Players would work and practice hard, knowing that they can get into national team on basis of their performance alone, performance that has yard stick known to all and is obvious.
4: Once in national team, if players play bad or below standard, they would be out, and they would know the reason, so no complain.
5: Politics in team would end, and all players would be playing to give best performance for their own survival.
6: Pakistanis would know that team is not Parchi team, but got selected on merit, hence little reason for anyone to complain, regardless of team wins or loses.
7: It would encourage cricket in country and would give hope to all players.
AjazAli: You raised few points, so let me answer that:
1: Fawad do not excel in domestic performance, but he has also excelled in international performance. Still he is out while many lower grade players are playing in national team, and that should not be allowed.
2: There are players who may have good domestic performance but may not perform at international level. Normally, that does not happen, but let say you are right, than also, they deserve to have break in national team. Once player got selected, he should be given enough chance to prove himself, at least 5 to 10 innings. If he does not perform than he would be out anyhow (that is different matter that he may break into the team again, and as Pakistani, it should be his right).
3: If a Parchi player gets into team and performs than also he does not deserve to be in team. If he is so good, than he should perform in domestic cricket better than rest, and get in as others would do.
Pakistan team should not be personal property of anyone (including PCB or selectors). No one should use (nor should be allowed to use) their nepotism, parchi, rushwat, personal ‘like and dislike’ or personal whim to keep someone out of national team or bring someone in national team. Pakistani team should not be personal team (whoever they maybe) but should be national team, and all Pakistanis should have equal right to get in the team on performance and merit alone. Team should be such where nepotism, parchi, rushwat, personal ‘like and dislike’ or personal whim should not be tolerated. That is all.
AjazAli: You raised few points, so let me answer that:
1: Fawad do not excel in domestic performance, but he has also excelled in international performance. Still he is out while many lower grade players are playing in national team, and that should not be allowed.
2: There are players who may have good domestic performance but may not perform at international level. Normally, that does not happen, but let say you are right, than also, they deserve to have break in national team. Once player got selected, he should be given enough chance to prove himself, at least 5 to 10 innings. If he does not perform than he would be out anyhow (that is different matter that he may break into the team again, and as Pakistani, it should be his right).
3: If a Parchi player gets into team and performs than also he does not deserve to be in team. If he is so good, than he should perform in domestic cricket better than rest, and get in as others would do.
Pakistan team should not be personal property of anyone (including PCB or selectors). No one should use (nor should be allowed to use) their nepotism, parchi, rushwat, personal ‘like and dislike’ or personal whim to keep someone out of national team or bring someone in national team. Pakistani team should not be personal team (whoever they maybe) but should be national team, and all Pakistanis should have equal right to get in the team on performance and merit alone. Team should be such where nepotism, parchi, rushwat, personal ‘like and dislike’ or personal whim should not be tolerated. That is all.
If you say players who perform in domestic cricket perform equally in international cricket, then why dont you consider current selection's domestic record for your post # 7?
Domestic cricket record alone would not help you play & win against teams having players like Dale Steyn and Mitchell Johnson. This is simple thing to understand. Our batsmen dont learn when they enter into international cricket. Other teams analyze their batting style, find flaws and bowl them accordingly. Our batsmen dont get beyond the hitting mentality of domestic cricket and dont even adapt. That is where proper coaching is required to teach them how to adapt when you realize that you are getting trapped by other bowlers in international cricket.