Re: 'Racist' UK bus drivers refuse to stop for hijabi schoolgirls
Actually, we muslim deserve all this humiliation.
arey arey kiun jee
don't generalise please
1 1/2 or some say 2 billion Muslim on this planet.
i know that we are not doing well and not living by Islam lekin hum itne bhee bure nahin hain jee
else why would the Prophet mediate for us :)
school kids should not be allowed to display any symbols religious or otherwise.
They need to wear the school uniform and 80% problems of hooliganism will go away.
Once a student reaches college, there is no longer a need for the uniform, and thus they should be free to wear their religious symbols etc.
They do wear the standard uniform just with the hijab added, a lot of UK state schools let the girls wear trousers as uniform and some in desi areas have an adapted version in the style of shalwar khameez..
That's true.
the point is that in schools (upto 12th grade education), there should be no religious symbol allowed such as: cross, star of david, or Hijab, niqab etc.
the emphasis should be to prepare the kids to be part of the mainstream, and make them ready for assimilation in the general society.
Will the avoidance of religious symbols eliminate the taunting? probably not.
Will the removal of religious symbols drastically reduce the taunting. Absolutely!
^And what about outside the schools? Hijab is for girls who are in their last few years of a high school, before that it's not even wajib.
^And what about outside the schools?
No problemo!
school age kids should be able to wear skirts, pants, hats, topis, hijab and everything in between.
No problemo!
school age kids should be able to wear skirts, pants, hats, topis, hijab and everything in between.
Then most people will start sending their kids to Islamic/sikh/christian schools so they can wear the required clothing.
Also, this news is not about kids being treated badly in schools....they were actually outside at a bus stop.
as an estimate i guess these kids will be black, from one of the newer immigrant communities. theres no size-able pak/indian communities on merseyside.
these kids will be in for a hard time immatterial of what they are wearing
Exactly. It is but natural that people who go to countries where muslims are in a majority and see how non muslims are being treated in these countries would want to dish out the same kind of treatment to muslims.
For all people who speak of outrage, imagine the kind of discrimination that is practiced in muslim countries and then speak. It is OK for muslims to be discriminatory while it is not OK for others. What logic.
this argument of how minorities may be treated in muslim countries is bogus, why use one wrong to justify another wrong? No one is saying its okay for one group to be discriminatory and not another.
people being discriminated anywhere have a right to speak up and have a right to equal treatment.
a muslim person born in UK, whose parents were born in UK has almost no link to some muslim country his grandparents may have come from.
cuz what are we saying otherwise, that until dictatorial regimes in muslims countries dont fix up their lame practices and protect minorities, giving them an equal shot to progress and prosper, until then minorities in UK should just shut up and deal with it?
so you are from bangalore, lets place that in indian terms. if the indians being attacked by ignorant racists in australia complain about it, should one just tell them to live with it because India has its own issues with prejudist attacks, I wont say racist attacks cuz y'all are all brown anyways.
It simple does not make sense, people should be concerned with prejudism everywhere, but obviously everyone is concerned with what impacts them most, and many posters being british have an interest.
^^
Your argument has been the resort of almost all the posters who go overboard whenever there is a perceived sense of discrimination in western countries.
Let me explain myself a little better.. Supposedly an average Joe flies to SA and sees the massive discrimination that is happening and begins to wonder why is it OK for the muslims to practise discrimination while it is not OK for others. He discusses the same with his beer buddies. This feeling spreads across.You get the picture I hope.
Also the average Joe does not care to find a difference between a first generation immigrant muslim or third generation
I agree it is wrong, but this is a natural outcome of the policies that are being practised in Islamic countries.
The only thing that saddens me that while most of the posters here would fight for equality in the west, they are happy with the way the Islamic countries treat their minorities.
There are n number of posts here regarding perceived discrimination in the west while there is not even a single post regarding discrimination in Islamic countries. While something is pointed out there are just lame excuses on how these countries dont profess themselves to be democratic. I really wonder how that is OK for them to act as they please.
Comparing the Australian attacks on Indians and this perceived slight is like comparing apples and oranges. There was a physical attack, not just some service being bad. Hope you understand.
'Racist' UK bus drivers refuse to stop for hijabi schoolgirls
Why should people treat us normally when Muslims can't treat their brothers and sisters nicely?
Maybe the next thing hijabans would do is (right after abandoning the scarf), die their hair blonde and rub off the brown skincolour of their faces. Then they definitely will be accepted and be treated normally for 100%.
Secondly, the majority of the bombings isnt done by muslims.
Thirdly, if people are so dumb that they they will pick on little muslim kids, because some muslim tend to be terrorists, then these dumb ignorant people need some lessons in "how not to generalize".
The sad thing is that even educated people behave like dumb ignorants.
It is wrong of the guys to bully the children. from what I am reading, the driver did not stop, to avoid the children being harassed in the bus - in the process he saved the children yet another trauma.
And then the township and police got together an devised possible ways of protecting the children.
SO WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU PEOPLE SO WORKED UP ABOUT?
Secondly, ask yourself - did this sort anti-muslim thing occur before all the terrorist attacks that the muslims started? IF YOU WANT TO BLAME SOMEONE BLAME THE MUSLIM TERRORISTS WHO ARE STILL TERRORISING EVERYONE ALL OVER THE GLOBE.
If some muslims are terrorists, then does that mean that the entire muslim population is to be hold accountable for their deeds?
If people think so and start generalising, then they are simply stupid and ignorant.
I dont believe in this post and before 9/11 crap,
thats just a justification for being stupid and ignorant.
AND MUSLIM TERRORISTS ARE NOT TERRORISING THE ENTIRE GLOBE. ITS THE AMERICAN AND ISRAELI TERRORISTS WHO ARE DOING SO.
Secondly, ask yourself - did this sort anti-muslim thing occur before all the terrorist attacks that the muslims started? IF YOU WANT TO BLAME SOMEONE BLAME THE MUSLIM TERRORISTS WHO ARE STILL TERRORISING EVERYONE ALL OVER THE GLOBE.
I asked myself that, and the answer was..Yes
Yes, anyone who was in the UK in the 70s and early 80s knows that.
not sure who was to blame then..
no one is supporting terrorist acts by muslim groups.
however that does not mean that idiotic actions of others can be supported or excused.
^^
Your argument has been the resort of almost all the posters who go overboard whenever there is a perceived sense of discrimination in western countries.
Let me explain myself a little better.. Supposedly an average Joe flies to SA and sees the massive discrimination that is happening and begins to wonder why is it OK for the muslims to practise discrimination while it is not OK for others. He discusses the same with his beer buddies. This feeling spreads across.You get the picture I hope. Also the average Joe does not care to find a difference between a first generation immigrant muslim or third generation
well just because the average joe does not bother care does not make his views right. It also does not matter whether someone is first, second, third or 50th generation..what is wrong is wrong and what is right is right. next time there is a beatdown on some black dude in US, we cant say well zimbabwe has this issue with white farmers being harassed by local blacks..
that would be a ridiculous statement and if some average joe is stupid enough to justify one wrong with another, then well, it is still wrong.
its not okay for anyone to discriminate, and if some 'average joe' is going to think that is really is okay to treat his neighbourhood brown kid like crap because well he thinks the kid is muslim and since muslim countries have their own discrimination problems..
us as educated, civilized and logical individuals should be above 'average joe' thinking.
I agree it is wrong, but this is a natural outcome of the policies that are being practised in Islamic countries. The only thing that saddens me that while most of the posters here would fight for equality in the west, they are happy with the way the Islamic countries treat their minorities. There are n number of posts here regarding perceived discrimination in the west while there is not even a single post regarding discrimination in Islamic countries. While something is pointed out there are just lame excuses on how these countries dont profess themselves to be democratic. I really wonder how that is OK for them to act as they please.
so screw islamic countries, I dont live there for a reason.
secondly your statement that there is not a single post regarding discrimination in islamic countries is completely off base. lets make a deal..you retract that statement, or I find one. if I find one of those then you leave the site for a month? hows that? :)
however, how is there not a single post..yet according to you when it is pointed out people make excuses..that would mean there is atleast a single post? right..
Comparing the Australian attacks on Indians and this perceived slight is like comparing apples and oranges. There was a physical attack, not just some service being bad. Hope you understand.
first of all its not just this 'perceived slight' that I am referring to, but the concept of justifying one wrong with another at any level. The point that you missed was that regardless of gravity of the incidence, one wrong can not be used to justify another wrong by any logical individual.
I myself was physically assaulted by three goons at one point in time. By your logic I really have no room to ever complain about it because region where my family hails from has a pathetic human rights and discrimination record?
My advice to you: Walk around in public with a black bin bag on you along with a hijab please. This is NORMAL for you then come here and open a thread enlightening us about your lovely experience and responses.
Thanks
What I was trying to make you understand...is that:
It should not be clothings, or whatever, it should be the action of that person which should make other person think negative or positive of that person. Stereotyping is bad.
Should I be more clear?
People should not worry or pass judgment on what any woman wear for whatever reason.
chalo yaar sula karo.. seedhi si baat hay..
if you want to wear a hijab, that's great.. but living in the west, you should be prepared for people who will be racist or treat you badly.. and its your right to protest etc.. haan bura hua hay in larkiyon kay saath, but muslims are to blame for the bad label we have like MKD said. apnay aap ko to theek karain.. muslim countries dont have much tolerance either, so it's not our place to preach to the UK about rights.
but yeah, power to the girls for standing up for their faith. but they should remember its an uphill battle, but thats what standing up for your beliefs is all about right? i wish them well.
this is not about religion, islamophobia at the street level is a very new concept, for the most it represents 'multiculturism' in britain not islam itself. so any hate is primarily directed at one being a foreigner not a muslim as such.
theres many people here who give up an EASY part of their inherited culture/religion to make themselves feel better, but it doesnt actually fool the locals. this is more a personal choice rather then a genuine attempt to fit in.