IMO some people welcome biased behaviour based on their attitude towards the opposite party and define the outcome as racism to recieve pity from the publicity. I mean go there with like look I-AM-KING and u'd better give me ur best smile and ur 'jee sir' 'yes sir' ATTITUDE, my dear these things dont happen here in the west. You get what you give.
Once, when I had my pakistani passport during my high school time, our class went for a trip to France and Switzerland. I went to apply for the Visa, France denied me where as Switzerland not. Well I had to accept it and live with it. For me the case was closed. I did not argue but left the place. Now that I am EU citizen, I would like to visit every EU country but France is and will not be on my list. This has nothing to do discrimination but with certain rules, now am I racist against the french people coz of this? I don't know.
Mr Xtreme, I was watching some documentary of the pakistanis living in Bradford. I was like 'what the hell' I have never seen anything like that....so many pakistanis living there woooah!.
the question is simple..how many desis have pissed you off..and when u get pissed off at them is it always racism.
desis stink..they need to bathe more often, use deodorants and wash their clothes ... not all desis mind you, but many...you want proof..go to arrival lounge of any airport when a desi flisght is comign in, both the arriving passengers as well as the greeters stink...
we went to a store recenly and there was this desi aunty who just reeeeeked..I was like ughhh..not that I said anything but I made a face and commented queitly to my bro who was there..am i being racist..no, I am just disgusted with her BO.
If I had just said, o maaai go take a bath..I would be rude, but not racist..if some englishman said it it would be racism?
the word paki..do you know, how it was used, kids would say "paki" and put their fingers under their noses as if to block a bad smell...sadly..did they have a point? if desis did not stink, someone would nto have come up with that. Is it unfair, sure...it gets assigned to the whole community which is not right.
Now my fellow desis...think back..reflect...at how many diff ppl are we racist towards because we attribute the actions of some..to all. arabs, afghans, indians, hindus etc?
Desis never pissed me off because they stunk. Simple reason is because I was around in Pakistan where the whole place stunk. I've been around in England where it's stunk equally. Man I was in a place where some low life council estaters came into a shop and it was difficult not to puke cause they hadn't washed for so long.
The truth is, desis piss me off more for their high-handed attitude, same as people of any background. The only people i can't stand are those who think they are somehow better than everyone else, and i don't care what their colour is.
The only people I can't stand are those who think they are somehow better than everyone else, and i don't care what their color is.<<<<
That’s exactly how I feel. Xtreme introduces a new dimension to this debate which is often overlooked. I don’t know about your experiences, but my experiences with my own kind (my distant relatives, and other ordinary Pakistanis) who ‘hate whites with vengeance’. That kind of racism is far worse then racism based on the color of one’s skin. For example, some (not all) Pakistanis think of Western women as someone with ‘loose’ moral standards, and are inferior to desi ‘women’; Jews are thought of as ‘inferior’ beings; calling someone Hindu is thought to be an insult, just to name a few. If that is not racism I don’t know what is.
Edited::: Oooppsss...I just read Fraudz's post...He is saying essentially what I meant to say. Sorry Fraudz.
i used the stinking part as an example. I mean soemtimes you dislike ppl because of something else other than their race, religion etc. the challeneg is that they attribute it as racism and thus avoid any responsibility on their part or what they can do.
This next statement may get me a butt whoopin but its true...
how many desis do you dislike because of how they act, and not because of who they are..think about it.
Now why is it that if somone else dislikes them, it becomes a race issue. This is not to say racism does not exist, I just tunk its too handy a crutch for many ppl to use.
how many desis do you dislike because of how they act, and not because of who they are..think about it.
Now why is it that if somone else dislikes them, it becomes a race issue
I don't disagree with that. This is just common sense though to be able to separate issues. Then it becomes important to get beyond the superficials and look at each case individually, whether the reason is justified or not.
Point is, while it is true that desis can be just as racist as anybody else (witness attitude towards Bengalis for example), that does not excuse generalising whole communities whichever ethnic group is 'holding their noses'.
Now why is it that if somone else dislikes them, it becomes a race issue
I don't disagree with that. This is just common sense though to be able to separate issues. Then it becomes important to get beyond the superficials and look at each case individually, whether the reason is justified or not.
Point is, while it is true that desis can be just as racist as anybody else (witness attitude towards Bengalis for example), that does not excuse generalising whole communities whichever ethnic group is 'holding their noses'.
Yup I agree sterotyping shouldnt be there .... but extreme still u know ... there are certain basic traits of human nature ,and even though a person is well educated and can curb his shortcommings, he still generalises ... for example in my case , the lady at the counter genralised every one from pak ... and I generalised about any one in brit society.
The only people I can't stand are those who think they are somehow better than everyone else, and i don't care what their color is.<<<<
That’s exactly how I feel. Xtreme introduces a new dimension to this debate which is often overlooked. I don’t know about your experiences, but my experiences with my own kind (my distant relatives, and other ordinary Pakistanis) who ‘hate whites with vengeance’. That kind of racism is far worse then racism based on the color of one’s skin. For example, some (not all) Pakistanis think of Western women as someone with ‘loose’ moral standards, and are inferior to desi ‘women’; Jews are thought of as ‘inferior’ beings; calling someone Hindu is thought to be an insult, just to name a few. If that is not racism I don’t know what is.
Edited::: Oooppsss...I just read Fraudz's post...He is saying essentially what I meant to say. Sorry Fraudz.
Pyaray ahmedi bhai
Actually u r rite all sorts of raceism exisists in this world , u r being quite generic and one sided as I am being but .....there is a small diference.
the raceism by goras is a different one, some body on the street might hit u a bottel , or abuse u , not serve u , etc ......in the gora society.
But u tell me when these goras go back to india/pak even though we think that there women have no morals are corrupt etc .... are we rude with them on the streets ...NO..... If u r raceist and keep it to ur self probably that is better rather then making people fell unwelcomed .
have you gone to pakistan as a white person? also think about how many of the tourists/visitors are there, who they interact with and how long are they in Pakistan for.
If they had lived among, or dealt with low life's like the national front goons, they would probably get some interesting treatment as well.
We are quite capable of hurting people or not serving them becauase of prejudice, this can be easily observed by looking at all the complaints diff ethnic groups have about each other as well as the violence that erupted in our streets.
we also have the example of our jawaans harassing european women who were in Pakistan, the news made headlines a year or so back. so they did exactrly what u said we dont do, i.e. have some prejudice against someone but not show it in our actions. some showed it by their actions in what they did, others showed it by saying they were asking for it
have you gone to pakistan as a white person? also think about how many of the tourists/visitors are there, who they interact with and how long are they in Pakistan for.
If they had lived among, or dealt with low life's like the national front goons, they would probably get some interesting treatment as well.
We are quite capable of hurting people or not serving them becauase of prejudice, this can be easily observed by looking at all the complaints diff ethnic groups have about each other as well as the violence that erupted in our streets.
we also have the example of our jawaans harassing european women who were in Pakistan, the news made headlines a year or so back. so they did exactrly what u said we dont do, i.e. have some prejudice against someone but not show it in our actions. some showed it by their actions in what they did, others showed it by saying they were asking for it
Fraudiay bhai aap phir tangent per nikal gaye
First of all I have seen many goras who come to do mountain climbing in skardu .... u wouldnt believe the respect we give them from islamabad to islamabad.
secondly no such party as BNP exsists in our culture or faith ... people have prejuidices against goras but being from a nation of 80% illitracy compared to these nations having 100 % littracy we r much much moderate with our stance ......
Out of 1000000s of pakistanis aND INDIANS i have met here not one said that the goras are as fare to us as tehre own kind , but the other way around I never met a gora saying this about pak/india.
pakoray what tangent?? you say we are not prejudiuced or atleast dont act upon the prejudice... i showed you that we are prejudiced and indeed we act upon it.
no part like BNP exists??? maybe we dont target goras, but we target others around us which are different than us...remember the bloodshed by Jiye Sindh, and MQM types?
The difference is that you whereas there is a sizeable population of desis in UK, there is no sizeable population of goras in Pakistan. The prejudice is not just based on race but becaus eth groups live next to one another come in contact on a daily basis and feel that they are worse off due to someone else..
Cool read, if someone is racist and I know its racism. My solution is to laugh at how intelligent they are seeming with the close-minded attitude. If they hold a professional position and do it to me then, I go to the superiors. If nothing still happens, lawsuits are fun...