Rabi-al-Awal

Its Rabi-al-Awal on thurs and my mum has asked me to cook some pulao or something nice and do a fathiha dua…

Can someone guide me on how to do it please? I will ask her myself but would like your opinion on how its done.

Thank you.

Re: Rabi-al-Awal

Today is 9th rabi al awal ... so Rabi-al-awal started some nine days ago...

12 Rabi-al-Awal is on thurs..

12 Rabi-al-Awal people normally celebrate the birth of Prophet Muhammad (SAW). Which is totaly wrong.

Prophet Muhammad (SAW) was born and passed away on 12 Rabi-al-Awal...so I wonder they are celebrating or mourning?

The BEST way to celebrate Rabi-al-awal is with:

Darood Shareef
Almighty Allah says: "Surely Allah and His Angels send blessings on the Holy Prophet (Sall Allahu ‘alaihi wa Salim). O you who believe! Send Blessings (Durood) and Salutations (Salaams) on the Prophet with worthy Salutation". (Surah al-Ahzab: 56)

In this verse of the Holy Quran, Almighty Allah, His Malaa'ikah and the Muslims have been mentioned as sending Durood upon Sayyiduna Rasoolullah (Sall Allahu ‘alaihi wa Salim). So, Durood Shareef is actually *"a Du'a in praise of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (Sall Allahu ‘alaihi wa Salim)."

Hazrat Anas (radi Allahu anhu) narrates that Sayyiduna Rasoolullah (Sall Allahu ‘alaihi wa Salim) said: "He who reads a single Durood upon me, Almighty Allah blesses him ten times, ten of his sins are forgiven, and he is increased ten times in stages (internally). (Mishkaat)

Hazrat Abdullah ibn Mas’ud (radi Allahu anhu) also narrates that Sayyiduna Rasoolullah (Sall Allahu ‘alaihi wa Salim) said:** "On the Day of Qiyamah, the closest to me from among the people will be those who have read the most amount of Durood Shareef"**. (Tirmidhi)

I was working in Islamabad in 1991. Rabi-ul-Awal fell in the month of September then - almost at the end of it.

A day before 12 Rabi-ul-Awal, I had no money and the salary day was still far away. I slept hungry that night but had a hope of some meal the other day by visiting one of our relatives who were living about a mile away from my place. As most people do niaz/fathia on that occasion.

When I reached my relatives home we began to chat(he was a retired person). Aunty gave me tea and some cookies. After two or three hours of chatting there was no sign of any niaz! I began to worry about it. And then the uncle asked me to accompany him to the local mosque where there was Quran khawani in the morning and mouvli sahib had told him to come at around 12 for the niaz pulao. I took a sigh of relief then.

Yes Septmeber 22, 1991.

Mashallah - thank you so much STP - i have just printed the page out...its of so much help. Would you be able to tell me how to do fathiha please?

Also, whats the significance when you read the fathiha and blow on the food?

i have just discovered to read fathiha its 11 times durood sharif, 3 times Surat-al-Ikhlaas and 3 times Surat al Fathiha and then bless the Prophet (sws)

Is that correct?