I was wondering what’s the point of holding it over the bride during ruksati when in most cases the couples may not even pray? Why is it practiced when it has no basis to it?
Re: Qur'an holding tradition during Rukhsati
If they are muslim then they would do this, and i think it would be dependant on their traditions..mostly happens in pakistan/india. I dont think this applies in the all the muslim world! I guess its just there to bless the bride as she is leaving her maternal home.
When a muslim couple get married the Nikkah is carried out which is an Islamic marriage ceremony...so should they not do this if they are not practising?
holding the quran over the brides head is not a tradition practiced in my family, and my grandparents dont believe in such rasam so ill just be ruskhsat normally...with dua's INSHALLAH....
lol we dance, wear sleeveles blouses as bridal outfit (some do) have big flashy non segregated weddings, some even serve alcohol (wine etc) we do everything not accordingly to islam,
and when rukhsati time comes we hold the qur'an over the brides head at rukhsati for "blessings" ??
i still find that hillarious
im not trying to aim at anyone, but i know a lot of people who do these things
sorry for being the party pooper..
honey its cultural and not a islamic tradition :)
I think I am aiming towards finding the basis of this tradition, no one is claiming it to be an Islamic tradition.
i think this is copied from hindus or sikhs...... i remember i saw or read somewhere that they place their holy book over the head........ so muslims in this region also started to do the same!!.......
in our family we dont do it........ when Allah is eevrywhere...... then whats the point of placing the book!..... u pray to Allah... not to Quran. we read Quran for Allah!!
I agree, its just one of those other rasms that we all follow, which all come from the Indian culture! It has nothing to do with Islam!
Re: Qur’an holding tradition during Rukhsati
It brings no harm so I don’t see what the problem is
Each to their own.
who knows if the person holding it even has wudhu?
:aq: I’m sure that they themselves would know whether they have wudhu or not. And agar un ko Quran pakarne ka hosh hai tau I’m sure un ko wudhu karne ka bhi pata ho ga ![]()
It 'brings no harm' but what's the purpose of it? Even the other cultural rasms have some background or reason as to why they are done.
It just comes down to people saying it's to bless the bride/marriage or bring 'good luck', which sounds a bit dodgy and incompatible with the teachings of Islam. If the couple want to start the marriage with Islam they should pray 2 rakats nafl.
So what’s the purpose of hiding the grooms shoes, or throwing rice over your head :aq:
Not everything has a purpose but if it doesn’t cause any harm then I don’t see the problem with it ![]()
And yeah, I’m sure a couple would do that too ![]()
its a book for guidance, and not JUST to put on the bride.
an utter rubish tradition.
these days weddings are so commercialized that we even forgetten the basic idea of marriage. instead by having this rasam we think that we are having an Islamic wedding.
if they really Quran and its meaning then instead we should have a recitation of Quran from both (bride-grooms parents, and bride groom themselves)
i wonder why dont ppl put it on the grooom, as if he dont needs any hidayaat?
^agreed.
lol Quran pakarne ka hosh ho ya nahin, thats not the point…woh yeh nahin pakar key sooch rahe hain key Surah abhi parna hai, but rather that this is just some ‘cultural tradition’ and its sad that our holy book is being reduced to that. how many weddings have you been to that stopped and announced that its time for maghrib or isha? thus how do you know whether the person holding it has wudhu or not, unless he’s religious and prays, and often times, the man selected is the brother of the bride so no one looks to see whether he is worthy of holding it or not.
If you want Allah's blessings at the time of your rukhsati, make dua or recite some verses. Simply holding the Quran over the head at the time of the rukhsati-- to me it makes no sense.
I don’t know. We don’t do those in our family either. However, even it’s just as simple as being for ‘fun’ (groom’s shoes etc), the same reasoning can’t be applied to the Quran rasm.
As I said, the harm is that many people believe it to bless the couple or bring them good luck. To me that kind of thinking is harmful.
its just a baseless tradition. and ive been seeing it since ages in different weddings .. you r so right ..we have confined the Holy Book to just cultural traditions.. how many times have u heard or gone to a dars-e-quran or quran khwani before the wedding..and on the same day its followed later by a dholki/dance party ??
its a shame ..the muslim cultural values have been totally warped by stupid hinduana/western traditions ..
i agree wid inzz..k there is no harm to that..but still rnt we becoming ignorant like the way the ppl of the dark ages were ...wenever they were asked why do u worship idols ..n they said ..thts been in generations and generations..hamare baap dada aise kerte thay ...
we do this ..but when ppl ask such a question..we have no answer to that ..
i agree with the majority.
The basic way we have our weddings have nothing to do with what has been recommended us to do. Do as much as you can afford. But most things that happen in our wedding now a days are not in the right direction, therefor the "barkat" seem to be disappearing more and more from peoples life's, so they're is really no need to fool one self by holding the qur'an over the head thinking it will send automatic barkat on the couple.
The fact and truth is our religion and the way we are recommended to have the weddings in is very simple and easy, we make it difficult with all the weird traditions.
I even know this one family where the dude washed the girls feet with milk ?
and i even saw this one shaadi on tv some muslim shaadi where the girl after the NIKKAH touches the grooms feet?!!! i mean are we seriously loosing it ?!!
anyways thats total off the topic,
but lol im still in shock after that video..
it is merely a cultural tradition.
For me it has no meaning.
as someone said its better that the groom and bride pray to naf'l together and start their life's with the blessings from Allah(swt.) directly by praying then holding a "book" over there heads.
Reduced to what exactly? :aq: At the weddings which I have seen this happening, when the bride reaches her susraal the Quran is opened and read. I do not see the Quran being disrespected, thus do not understand you saying that is being reduced to anything.
As for ‘being worthy’ of holding the Quran, I do not think we can judge who is worthy and who isnt. Of course it would be very wrong if someone touched the Quran without wudhu but we would hope that all Muslims have enough sense to do wudhu before touching.
^yea i agree...u could say it has been 'limited'' to such occasions but not reduced . no matter what happens muslims do and would always respect Quran the utmost, the only book which Allah Himself would guard and protect.
but what we need to realise is its basic need. not to be put away in shelves with the covered up dusty ghilaafs or limited to mosques, rukhsatis , occasional 'fashionable' quran khwanis but rather READ and UNDERSTAND as the book of guidance throughout life.
and the rest we are no one to judge any1.. Allah ko kisi ki koi bi choti si choti naiki bi pasand asakti hai ..and kisi bht baray pohnche hue buzurg ki zara si burai bi can bring upon His wrath..
but we need to get rid of these pseudo modern pointless ideas that we have tried to embed in our culture..