Quotes from Pak vs Eng 2005 Series

I think this will be a good buildup thread and something nice to look back to when the series is over.

1st Test, Day 5. After Akhtar uprooted Giles’ stumps. **Rameez: ***“What do you call it again… spread eagle?”

*2nd Test, Day 1. Inzi is on strike and Vaughan calls Strauss from deep mid wicket to come to silly mid on. Strauss puts his helmet on. *Waqar Younis: “Great now he has his lid on!”

*Please add any that you heard.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Quotes from Pak vs Eng 2005 Series

After Pieterson got out in the 2nd innings of thefirst test

Waqar Younis : "Pieterson looks upset, I dont know why he is upset, is it cause he got out or cause he didnt nick it". (replay showing and there is a big edge and a definate sound, Waqar continues) *"Oh he definatley nicked it, I could hear it in my ears" :D *

Salman Butt playing with Inzamam in the 2nd innigs of the first test and the tv showed the current partnership and all the previous ones.

Ramiz Raja : This partnership now 50 runs, take a look at all the other partnerships. Amazingly Salman Butt has featured in all of them. (No *** sherlock, he is the opener and if he is still there he featured in all of the partnerships.)*

ha ha ha…well caught buddy!

this will be a good thread

I am getting more and more piss off ot Ian Botham and Bob Willis ****ing biased views

When Sanjy was making a comparison between Javed and Inzi he asked for Botham's Opinion and Botham Said " A grat batsman, was given out first time in home grounds by an Australian Umpire after playing cricket for over a decade........then he goes quite.

Someone asked Inzi why he has so much success in winning the toss?

Inzi: I practice that a lot

^ :rotfl:

When Pietersen caught Younus Khan in first inning (I dont remember the name of expert)

"Atlast he caught something" :D

Waqar Yunis talkin to Manjrekar after they show a replay of Butt's caught behind "He should know by now, he has been out twice before in this series"

SO? like if he said out b4 in this eries in this fashion, would have made sense but out b4 in this series

we all know that wicky, pak batted first in 1st test and no one except for the last batsman was standing

mohammed akram says on inzi run out:
"He was definitely and comfortably in the crease. Obviously his foot was in the air but not out.

2nd Test, Day 4.

Inzi almost collides with Flintoff while running.

Rameez: Inzi apologizing to fintoff now for the mixup (because flintoff was kinda pissed).
David Lloyd: It'd be interesting to see this, these two.. (hinting one big man against another big man)

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

"I would pay good money to watch him bat when I retire from coaching."
Bob Woolmer joins the Shahid Afridi fan club after his batting assault at Faisalabad

This is so funny

Joking around

November 23

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/inline/content/image/227143.jpg?alt=1

A gripping read © Andrew Miller

Let’s start with a joke.

“A bowler was up against a stone waler [sic] who never moved his bat. Every ball either hit the bat or passed harmlessly by no stroke being offered. The bowler turned to the umpire.
‘Is he out if he doesn’t move bat?’
‘No,’ said the umpire, ‘but he will be, if he does.’”

No, I’m afraid I don’t get it either, and if the subs at Cricinfo had any decency, nor would you. But this rib-tickler, among several others, has already been considered suitable for a publication far weightier than mine. If it’s good enough for the Faisalabad Cricket Association Souvenir Brochure, then it’s good enough for me.

In fact, the more I think about it, the more convinced I become that the joke must be funny and it’s me whose humour is lacking. Why? Because the number of hoops that poor pun had to jump through to make it to the page simply beggars belief. One organising committee, eight sub-committees and 104 good citizens of Faisalabad went into the creation of this match brochure. No wonder it didn’t appear until the Test was all but over.

Bureaucracy is a lifestyle choice in Pakistan. Hundreds upon thousands of diligent desk-jockeys spend their lives weaving knots of such complicity that they could be framed and hung on the wall in Ye Olde Fisherman’s Tavern in Falmouth. At irregular intervals throughout this tour, for instance, a sheet of paper has been handed around the press-box, requiring the same familiar faces to provide the same familiar details, like schoolchildren signing the truancy register. I haven’t yet seen Edd the Duck and Bungle being entered into the class, but it’s only a matter of time.

But back to the brochure. It is less a celebration of the cricket (“A game of fluctuating fortunes and glorious uncertainties” as one contributor puts it), and more a once-in-a-lifetime chance for those faceless armies of administrators to emerge like butterflies into the limelight. No fewer than 20 of the 58 available pages are dedicated to those men who make the city tick, including 11 full pages of colour photos. The teams, meanwhile, are afforded a grand total of four.

There’s a 25-man organising committee. There’s a reception sub-committee. A stadium renovation sub-committee. A law & order sub-committee. A technical sub-committee. A ground sub-committee. A medical sub-committee. A finance sub-committee. A liaison sub-committee. A media sub-committee. A brochure sub-committee. And a 25-man co-ordination sub-committee. Which is presumably there to co-ordinate the sub-committees.

But it’s not all about lists and mugshots. There’s a useful section on fielding positions (“an often neglected part of the game”), 15 important questions for an umpire (“What are the necessary qualifications of an umpire?” Answer: “Counters, pencil and paper, MCC laws book, balls, bails and bowler’s mark drying material”), a trawl through the places of historical interest in and around Faisalabad, and two blank pages for those all-important autographs. Of the sub-committees, naturally.

But let’s finish back where we began, with a joke.

“Great English Cricketer WG Grace was at the crease, he turned to the wicketkeeper.
‘Tell me, my man, just out of interest, how many great players would you say there are?’
‘One less than you think’”

Great administrators, on the other hand, are in an abundance.

An england supporter clarifies his position…

*After superb series victories against SA, NZ WI (x2) and Bang, I felt the compunction to issue a statement “England are the best team on the planet.” I was looking forward to the Ashes with great anticipation.

After severely losing the first test, I was forced to retract my original statement, and issue a new statement “England are the worst team on the planet.”

After levelling the series, I issued a retraction to my original retraction. After going on to win the series, I issued a statement reinforcing my original statement and the retracted retraction. I was looking forward to the series in Pakistan.

Halfway through the opening match with the Patorn’s XI, it seemed we were going to lose, so I hastily issued a retraction, retracting my previous retraction of my original retraction, thus retracting my original statement. I also retracted my secondary reinforcing statement. As we went on to win this game, these retractions were retracted, and a statement issued reinforcing my original statement and the subsequent retraction of the retractions. After losing to the Pakistan A side, this was obviously hastily retracted, and the original retraction reinforced.

A secondary reinforcing statement was issued after losing the first test, making sure the original retraction was in place. After drawing the second test, I was unsure of where I stood, so contacted my solicitors (Nee, Jerk, Jeffers & partners), and was told to await the outcome of the third test, whereby I could either issue a complete retraction, or reinforce the original retraction, thus enabling me to retract all subsequent retractions thereafter.

I hope this has clarified my thoughts on England’s current world status.

My solicitors are eagerly awaiting the tour to India.

Source

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Test 2, England's 1st innings

Kaneria at mid-wicket drops an easy catch off Afridi's bowling. Afridi looks at Kaneria drop the ball and goes *'*UCK!!!!!!!'

David Lloyd looks at Afridi and says (as if replying to afridi) '*You got that right'

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

aray choroo bhaee Rameez,Waqar aur David Lloyd k comments ko. best comments tu mairey mamoon daitey heen. Ager un ka fav batsmen ziada score keryee baghair out ho jayee tu (seriously) kehtey hain "ager yee out nahi hota tu 100 ker laita" :D

PS: wo tu main bhee out na hoon tu shoaib k against 100 ker loon ga ;)

nice one!!!