Quite a few people...

…tell me relationships make you gain weight. My fear is blowing up into a balloon after marriage. My eating habits are good and I dont eat a lot of desi food. I eat it once in a while if my mom makes something I cant resist but other then that…I eat healthy.

So, have most of you gained weight after marriage and if not, how did you avoid it?

Re: Quite a few people...

What??? Nothing! No one?!

hmmm... it depends on the people involved. My hubby and I have been married over 10 years now. He gained no weight. I didnt either, even after having 3 kids...until the past few months. I stayed a size 6 until around november - put on about 17 pounds between then and now! I think my metabolism is changing as I get older but my eating habits haven't lol! Making adjustments and exercising more so lets see what happens. Anyway, I'm a size 8 now so I'm not all too worried as long as I quickly get it under control.

I've seen some gain lots after marriage, some not gain at all and some lose...like I said, it really depends on the people and how they choose to live.

I have gained some weight which I think I will get rid of after marriage automatically. so no worries for me :)

It's true dear. I don't know if it's the dawats or just constantly eating out with the hubbz. I think you just are having a good time and once in your life you won't care - and watching calories will be the last thing on your mind.

The coffee and desserets - start adding up. I gained 30 pounds (yes 30) and my sister gained 20 as well. My cousin went to hawaii for 2 weeks and they were eating non stop - came back from her honeymoon and could not fit into her own clothes.

But once you come back from cloud nine - you come back to your normal weight.

If you are really scared just don't give up on the gym membership and go reguarly. Avoid the Parthay and halwa puri breakfast EVERYDAY routine.

Its definitely true...many reasons 4 it

1. davate
  2. You diet so much before marraige you decide you want to enjoy a bit of ur life too
  3. Your saas forces u 2 eat thinking ur 2 shy 2 eat lol
  4. Ur husband doesn't care abt ur weight
  5. You dont need 2 try and attract any more men so u kinda stop taking care of ur weight, coz hes stuck with u now lol
  6. You do tend to go out and eat more and try all those restaurants u wanted 2 try lol

apart from jokes though..it does happen..

my main reason is davate and not having enuff time coz i have 2 come home and cook whereas my mommy did everyfin before so i used 2 come home, relax and exercise...now tings r in different priorities..

but u do end up going bak 2 ur normal self..ive been married 6 months nw mashallah and am starting 2 get bak 2 my normal routine...hoping by summer i may be slim Inshallah!

I am sure you are not getting married to a man not an air compressor or air pump. :D

^ LOL. Uralein mazaq! Im saying that because I feel like he doesnt care if I were to gain weight. In a way, thats good but also bad. :(

Thank you everyone for that. Eating habits and lifestyles change, I am able to see that. But if you all were able to come back to a normal routine, then there is hope for me! :)

Going to davats are a big problem here, we went to a few earlier this year and I had the spotlight. I had to eat because it was all for me! Ohmygosh, it was horrible as I cant eat a lot in one sitting. But my plate was filled up and I had a tummy ache when I got home. I know they did it out of love so I am not upset with them but if I keep going like that, Ill need to have a special door in the house just to get in. LOL.

haha
that can be very much censored!!

yes, .. me gonna loose out too :)

Yes, it is somewhat true! you do gain some weight after marriage for the reasons mentioned above. I actually lost alot of weight right after the wedding, but that was due to me being very sick. Once I got better, all of the davats, and eating out made me put on a few pounds. Now i m back to my weight though.

The more you copulate with your spouse - the more calories you burn. The more calories you burn - the more weight you lose. So enjoy your relationship and have fun! I was slimmer after marriage than I had ever been before but every woman is different of course.

Some women gain weight after sex as their hips expand to better accomodate the new activity. Some notice this - some don't. However, this doesn't happen to every woman.

For those who feel they have put on weight after marriage, try walking daily for an hour, riding a bike, weight training or swimming. These are great ways to burn calories.

:hayaa:

I’ve just created some new nerve cells in my brain.

Lol! :)

I dont think that it is true as a general rule. It is up to the person/couple and the lifestyle change that they adapt, even for a short time.

I still fit into the suit I got married in and I am married for 13 years now. Its not that I did something extra to keep the weight, but the trick is not to do something extra to gain the weight either, like stop watching what you eat or become to lazy cause who is watching us now and why to look good as we are already married.

woah .. that is way more information than what we like to know ..

^ Alright alright. I said it on a positive note btw. Even so many of my friends have had the same effect. :)

The 10-15 pounds I've gained since marriage (4 years ago) are very hard to lose.

Then again, I'm lazy and haven't tried too hard :p

I never cared about what I ate because I've had a fast metabolism all my life and have been stick skinny. Suddenly, after marriage I managed to gain weight in less than a year and it has stayed. Part of it is my metabolism changing with age, but part of it is also eating with hubby. When you're eating with one other person, you tend to continue eating cuz they're still eating. And pretty soon you can handle a larger amount of food, and you actually crave larger portions.

Plus I feel that in the past 5 years I've developed a real appreciation/affinity for food, so meals become an exciting experience, which means I indulge more. I've become more conscious of this recently, so the weight stays stable.

Reha,

Since you're really conscious about staying fit after marriage, I think you'll make more effort to maintain yourself. I have married friends who are very conscious about their weight/figures, and because of this they continued their efforts of staying in shape even after marriage. And they look great! Some of them even have kids and they look the same as they did before they got married.

Just establish a work out routine. You lose weight fastest when you combine cardio with weights. Set aside a few days a week when you will exercise. You can go to they gym or exercise at home. Or you can go running outside in your neighborhood 3-4 times a week like me and do arm weights/crunches at home. That's what I do and it helps.....although I've just gotten back into the routine.

When you go out, eat healthy. Choose items from the menu that are low cal. For example, opt for water over sodas. And choose salad over fries. Or soups over fried goodies. Just because your hubby is sitting across from you at a restaurant and eating.....doesn't mean that you shouldn't eat at all. You should eat....just eat healthier. Talk to your hubby and limit the frequency that you both will be eating out. This reduces spending and calories. Keep yourself well hydrated. Filling up on water can prevent you from overeating.

And stock your pantry with healthier snacks. Often times when one partner eats healthy and works out.......the other partner gets motivated so it becomes like a lifestyle. You have an understanding fiance....and while he accepts you no matter how you look......I'm sure he'll understand that you're just trying to stay fit and healthy.....and he can even help support you when he understands how important this is to you:)

wow red velvet, interesting answer. i agree... its possible to be in shape even after marriage (yeah, luk WHO'S talkin....!! i myself need to lose sum 5 kilos or mroe!) :P
but i think its just that desi food is a bit too fattening if not eaten with care. if u make all those biryani's and kadhai and all fatty stuff u r bound to gain weight. i have also observed rice makes u bloated and gain weight too. its all abt balance. u cannot imagine how much i gained after marriage. atleast 6 kilos. that was not gud AT ALL!!!!!! the only reason i gained weight is cus i strted working and wud feel hungry in lunch time and eat chips and fizzy drinks.... my weight just shoot up!! so cut out sugary stuff and carbohydrates (like pasta, i used to eat alot of that) and that will b a v gud strt i tell u.