Quick Istikhaara

I have been doing the traditional Istikhaara where you offer two Rakats Nafil Namaz. Reading Surah Kafiroon in the first Rakat & Surah Ikh’Las in the second Rakat & then after I do salam I read the Istikhaara Dua making sure that I have my “haajat” in mind when I say “Hadh al Amar” both times.

Problem is we continued it for 7 days with no result. (I started it. Couldn’t do it. Then husband did it) The only thing that has changed now is that we have neutral feeling for the matter where as before we were positive we’ll do it.

I have done Istikhaaras in the past. I know they can take 1-10 days. The matter we were doing the Istikhaara for is approaching fast & I don’ think I can wait for another week for the results. I know there is another way of doing a quick Istikhaara which I guess requires writing the matter in yes or no is small paper chits? Reading the dua but reading the Quran as well. The result is supposed to come up right away.

Does anyone how that can be done & if its even the right way?

Re: Quick Istikhaara

i think there is no guarantee that u'll have results. the least indication is the good/bad **feelings about the matter.

i have an observation to make...its NOT about u mem saab...sorry that i am saying it here. i've observed that ppl do NOT lead a life of a good muslim...they lie, they give/take bribe, do NOT pray, do all kinds of bad things and then they want to do istiKhaaraa...what can one achieve if the life style doesn't conform to islamic code of living...its like keeping Haraam money in the pocket and looking for Halaal Meat shop.

we must NOT kid ourselves!**

Peace Bint_e_Naeem

The adab of Istikhara according to my understanding is not to 'wait' for something but to 'act in trust'.

1) Seek advice from people of Allah (SWT), as they are guided they will guide you honestly.

2) Make your own minds up based on your faculties of reason and intuition

3) Undertake Istikhara, bearing in mind the favoured approach, having loosely decided on the basis of 1) and 2).

4) Begin to act on the favoured approach, i.e. do not wait for something to occur.

Then if you see that things are preventing you from undertaking the favoured approach, for example a dream, or unlucky occurences direclty linked with actions taken for the favoured approach then ease away and distance yourselves by action and heart from that approach and take the other option/s.

Each time continue the Istikhara until the deed is done

I hope this helps

Lol at mem saab. By results I mean the good or bad feeling. Whether it will behter in my "haq" or not.

I kinda understand what you are saying but I am sorry I have to disagree with it. A lot of times I have seen people making this judgement that oh people do wrong & then they wanna do Istikhaara. I am not gonna go into my own details because I don't like bragging especially when it comes to following Islam as its our "farz" not an "ehsaan" we are doing & most of all my good or bad deeds are between me & Allah.

But I do know that just because a person is doing two wrongs doesn't mean they can't do one right.

Just because of statements like these what people have started doing now is they ask a supposedly more Pious person to do the Istikhaara for them. A buzurg or some cousin or chacha or khala who seems to be more religious. In Islam only your mother or your spouse can do Istikhaara for you besides your own self.

And how do we know just because a person thought about taking guidance from Allah no matter how bad he/she is Allah might give him/her Hidayat & they start doing the right thing :)

Your answers have a lot of wisdom in them but they confuse me big time.

When I say waiting for the results I mean the feeling. Either a dream or sometimes Allah just puts this confidence into you that this thing will be right or wrong for you. Its this feeling. I don't know how to explain it. But you just have peace of mind after that. I still have that peace in a way that first I was excited as to should I do this. What if something goes wrong, what if it goes all fine. Now its just a feeling that whatever happens will happen for good. But it still isn't helping me in making my decision.

When you say seek advice from people of Allah you mean?

I understand what you mean by the last paragraph. But nothing positive or negative has happened. I don't know how to explain.

Anyways so you are saying we should continue it? The other way of doing Istikhaara that I mentioned, have you ever heard of it? Its supposed to be quicker, but I am not sure about how its done or if its even the right way.

Slightly offtopic but could someone answer this please. If you do istikhaara and the result is negative but you still pursue the thing, what are the reprecussions?

^Sooner or later you'll find out that things won't be working out & when I say not working out problems do come up later. A very close family member of mine has experienced it.

Also sometimes even if you do not follow the Istikhaara things automatically start happening that prevent you from doing whatever you were gonna do. It could be a sudden change of mind or incidents linking to that thing.

Whenever we do an Istikhaara it shouldn't be thinking if the matter is right or wrong for us but more of a whatever is right for me & the people involved in the matter guide us to that path.

Also while starting an Istikhaara you have to be in neutral state of mind rather than praying Oh Allah please give me a positive answer.

Dildirani if a person does the Istikhaara being neutral, most of the time its very unlikely that he/she will go against the Istikhaara.

Hope this helped.

Peace bint_e_Naeem

If you have come to a resolution and decided to take a a particular course of action then it is better not to wait for a feeling. Getting "No feeling" is just as much a sign for you to act as anything else.

Take a step in the direction if you come up against some hurdle then back away and take another course, but if it get's done easily then put more determination in that course of action then assess again where you are then keep doing so ... Call it the snowball effect if you like but once the Istikhara is done there is no point standing around and waiting for a FEELING ... that may be a supernatural feeling, but Allah (SWT) is Lord of your senses, rationale, intelligence as well as Lord of your dreams and spiritual insights. Perhaps Allah (SWT) has provided you a clear vision by making it clear which approach carried less risk and which carries greater potential benefit.

You have done your deed by involving Allah (SWT) in your decision making process. Now the rest is up to you. If it is the wrong decision believe me you will find out quickly, but if you have not taken any action then it may be that you will not get any FEELING until you do. Alternatively either course of action could be equally good or equally bad and if you must take the action then to seek protection, say bismillah and just do it.

Jazak Allah Khair a million times I guess. You just made it so much easier for me. Thanks again.

BarakAllahufiq but the credit goes to Sayyiduna Muhammad (SAW), who taught us Islam. Just a note of caution ... another aspect of the Istikara is that at no stage should we make any decision that involves haram acts. These are not options really.

Only when immense burden falls on us can we do haram without being blameworthy for it. They do not require Istikhara and should be done first by seeking forgiveness.

True that.

Bint-e-naeem,

I just came across your topic, I used to believe that we had to do istekhara after esha, and after the two rakats we couldn't talk to anyone and then we would be given a signal in the dream. That is one way of doing it but it can be done at any prayer that we can offer nafl after. And I have learnt that it doesn't always have to be a dream.

When I am not too sure about something I step ahead with my inclination and almost all the times after the istekhara I have been come across hurdles like you wouldn't believe and that is how I know that I am not supposed to be on this path. and things that I have not been too keen on ... things have just fallen into place giving me a clear indication this is what Allah will guide me on....

Hope this helps....

wat i think and wat i heard is dat u shouldnt do the istekhara urselves u should tell some religious person or u know those mufti sahib dat come on qtv u should email them and they could do it for u and also there is a website where u could email and they do dat the istekhara for u

^ :salam: sugarplum55

With respect the qtv show called Istekhara is a bazaar wala kaam. We should do our own Istekhara but we can ask a buzzurg to do so as well because it takes the ruling of du’a … likewise the du’a has an adab to be accepted and hence istekhara has a similar etiquette to be followed in order to be guided.

wat u mean by “bazaar wala Kaam” they dont charge people anything for doing a istekhara

^ I mean premium rate telephone calls

well..............u expect them to pay ur telephone bills.......and u dont rlly have to call them they even have a website u could just email them there they do istikhara for u and then they even send u the wazaif's...................

^ Peace sugarplum55

Interesting ... you seem to have some knowledge about them and you seem to be convinced by them, in which case you continue. I'm not convinced on the other hand. I have my reasons. I have not given them enough time to consider either. Perhaps you can give me one of their websites so I can check it out :)

Yeah automne77. Thanks for responding. The whole concept of doing after Isha & not talking to anyone is there because supposedly if you don't talk to anyone then you won't be distracted & there are better chances of getting results right away & as some people say more accurate results. My family used to strictly do the whole Isha thing & just sleep after that. I have done that in the past too. But what I have become to understand now is that You are asking for guidance to the most superior being in this world & be it Isha or some other time of the day. You'll get the indication/guidance you are asking for.

Whatever you wrote in the latter paragraph I kinda understand now. Thanks to Psyah. I always used to think that you have to either have a positive or negative feeling towards the matter. His post gave me a whole new prospective when it comes to Istikhaaras. I actually ended up doing what I was confused about & it kinda happened out of the blue & here I am content about the decision I made. So yup :)

With all due respect I don't see how a Mufti sahab on tv can do an Istikhaara for me. Or any buzurg for that matter. Because no matter how hard you explain it to them they can never have that feeling that a person himself/herself will have for the matter & as far as I know its only your mother or spouse who can do it besides you, as there is a greater chance that they'll be as sincere towards the matter as you will be.