Quetta-Peshawar direct railway service approved

Transportation links between the Pashtun lands from the North to Quetta needed to be strengthened, and this is a good start.

http://www.pakistantimes.net/2005/04/24/national3.htm

Quetta-Peshawar direct railway service approved

Pakistan Times National News Desk

ZHOB: The federal government has approved the direct railway service between Quetta and Peshawar via Zhob on the directives of President General Pervez Musharraf. The new link would be the shortest between Balochistan and NWFP and open a new era of prosperity for the region especially Balochistan, said Managing Director, Pakistan Railways, Imam Din Bhatti here Saturday.

Speaking on the occasion of commencement of survey for the direct link via Zhob, he said the survey would be completed within two weeks. The railway track would pass through Zhob, Dera Ismail Khan, Bannu, Karak and Kohat, he said adding that both the time and money would be saved benefiting the travellers. Nazim Zhob Muhammad Shafique Mandokhel speaking on the occasion said that this would be the fulfillment of another promise made by the President Musharraf to benefit the masses

Re: Quetta-Peshawar direct railway service approved

Why does this simple, articulation services are heed up only when there are issues, I am referring to the current problem between the govt and kabhilazz (bughti..etc)

why cant there be a common sense!

^^ sad but true, they dont think long term, until they are reminded well.
I think it also go to the MNA of these areas they dont put the case properly for need of people of the area.
they just think assembly is to sit, clap, make noise place, or sometime sleep.

well i think its very imp that we also take a look at the positives around us atleast once in a while. as a nation we tend to have a habit of constantly feeling sorry, and never happy and thankful. like every soul faces many hardships, as a nation we face tremendous problems, but that shouldnt bend our heads and effect our ability to appreciate whatever development takes place. the nations we idolize have issues too, only we think they dont because they are better than us in some ways.
sure one day we'll get out of the various messes that we are in and sure we are a great nation!
I really appreciate the effort by some members to post positive threads and create a better atmosphere. a good chanage from the constant whining, fighting and regrets.

Well stated. Thank you.

After patition only 300/400 miles of new track added to PR. I wonder how many mileage/ capital would be required for this connection? Nothing has mentioned about that.

FARID

^^ may added only 300/400 miles, but considering how many miles scrapped may be much more than that.

I have myself seen deserted tracks in many towns of Punjab.
So if we do the bit of maths, PR hasnt expanded but shrank with time.

ya u r right subcontinent engineers needs some requirement engg classes here:D

^^ its not professionals who sets the policy , but other red tape officials and lazy butt government.

Why havent they built this train yet?

coz india is not in mood now.jab mood hoga tab train ban jayegi:D

its the engg who advise them

Lo ji, Pakistan meh tho Indian ki ajazth kai Baghair, Baraish bhi nah ho!!!:rolleyes:

^^haan ji aajma ke to dekho:D

when will you approve rail link to dhaka? ;)

Shak Kills

Pakistan Railway has not shrunk after partition. It has added some 300-400 miles. Go to the PR website Tito’s Peruvian Restaurant Elizabeth NJ | Pollos a la Braza Elizabeth NJ 07201 and read last para of the History. After partition meter gauge and narrow gauge services were closed because of very expensive to run these services.

Since 1979, there was planned movement to curb this most popular mode of transport by the successive governments. Zia-ul-Haq was the main tormentor when he introduced NLC and diverted the budget to purchase heavy road transport vehicles to transport freight from port area taking away 50% of the rail business. Since then railway has always been low priority except on and of some capital investment for replacing depreciated assets. Unfortunately railway is now run by people who do not know railways ABC.

I doubt if government would ever approve this billion dollar project. The money would always go to where ever the approving authorities get the maximum personal benefit from project.

FARID

Introduction of New Trains

Pakistan Railways introduced new long lead mail & express trains between major terminal of Pakistan Railways during 2003-2004 and 2004-2005.

Sialkot Express between Rawalpindi - Sialkot
Badar Express between Lahore - Faisalabad-Shorkot
Summer Vacation Special between Lahore - Karachi
Winter Vacation Special between Lahore - Quetta
Jaffar Express between Rawalpindi - Quetta
Islamabad Express between Lahore - Rawalpindi
Millat Express between Faisalabad - Karachi

New Routes of Express Trains

Pakistan Railways connected Kasur, Pakpattan, Lodhran with Karachi by Fareed Express train.

Havelian connected with Karachi via Rawalpindi, Sargodha, Faisalabad.

Kohat connected with Karachi by Awam Express.

Pakistan Railways has introduced non-stop Islamabad Express between Lahore - Rawalpindi and Millat Express Train between Faisalabd - Karachi with Modern Chinese Passenger Coaches. The journey time has been reduced to 3hrs & 30 minuets between Lahore - Rawalpindi and 13hrs 30 minutes between Faisalabad Karachi.

**Procurement of Rolling Stock Locomotives **

Out of 69 Locomotives on order, 15 Nos have been received from China and 7 Locomotives have been assembled in Locomotive Factory Risalpur.
Passenger Coaches

Out of 175 Passenger Coaches on order, 40 Nos have been received from China and 68 Nos have been manufactured at Carriage Factory Islamabad.

**Freight Wagons **

Out of 1300 High Capacity wagons, 65 Nos have since been received and another lot of 65 Nos is expected during last week of November, 2004.

http://www.pakrail.com/imdo1111.asp

After India is nuked into the ocean and we can have direct link without going through you guys first;)

Why cant we start investing in atleast a few high speed trains.. Start with just one to connect some important ones and then build from there?