So for those of you who are going through this process or who have gone through it, what are some questions we should ask the makeup/hair artist before booking them?
Here’s what I have so far, maybe we can compile a list as a resource for all GS Brides:
What brand makeup do you use?
Do you know how to do the dupatta/veil setting
Can you show pictures of your work?
Please add on ladies!
Of course for those of you in Pakistan it’ll be easy because the salon ladies all know how to pin the dupatta but us bichaari larkiyan in the states sometimes need to rely on American makeup artists. Lets add on to the list!
Re: Questions to ask makeup/hair artist before booking
4) How to use ubtan? Its frequency? Way to apply ... may be brand name too 5) what sort of skin u have and which facial will suit? 6) Manicure nad Padicure 7) Suitable Hair cut most important cause for after weeding parties its a must 8) Any treatment for hair
Be sure and tell them what YOU want... if you want a natural base, shimmer.. dark eyes or a dark mouth. An updo or hair down, flowers or other jewellery.. tell them how you'd like your dupatta 'set' where you'd like your jhoomar placed etc.
Try to ask for the makeup artist's/ hair dresser's portfolio for ideas on what she can do. Then maybe show pictures of something you want and also show your dresses. As Gina said, definitely let her know what you want specifically and don't forget to do a trial. Also here I noticed some non desi makeup artists can go crazy with the bronzer to try to make you look tanned. Please make sure that doesn't happen. I remember once I got my makeup done and my husband was like what happened to your cheeks lmao! way too much bronzer
..hiya,
I would suggest definately asking to see photos of the brides they have got ready, as well as any testamonials from their clients, if possible.
Do ask them if they supply false eyelashes on the day, or whether you would need to buy them beforehand. Do they have good hygiene practises, such as using disposable brushes for mascara (v important)? Also,please check that good quality, professional brands are used (such as Mac Chanel etc), as well as a primer as this can make a difference to the finished look of the makeup.
Do double check the time they will arrive on the day....most MUA would need about 2.5-3 hours to make you look your very best, so please do factor this when calculating the timings for your big day..
My SIL paid $500 to get her make up done and teh lady doing her make up was doing two brides at the same time and didnt even pay attention to her. She was soo booked and got my SIL late to her wedding
kool amazing....i will make my list inshallah.....
tell me which brand is best for makeup?which foundation is best like liquid/matt/powder??....what about primers nd fixers?i heard alot about them but never use so i am confuse ,,as my skin is oily nd sensitive so guide me about primers nd fixers plzz..m thinking about mac .shud i buy all my make up from mac brand? nd i heard about samira umer salon in gulberg 3 .i was planning to go lhr nd chk her as i like her but here all girls talking about madeehas ..so i am now 50/50,as i blive that if MA pik you well nd understand wat u want so u can hire anyone nt esp most popular on..as my sister bridal make up was done my our family MA..SHE WAS LUKING OWSUM...but my bad luck shes nt available for me now,,so m confuse ,double minded ,m stuk between samira nd madeehas...:((
ManoRani, some of the best makeup artists we have here in the GTA cost around $250-500. Maybe even more. But you can get someone whose new, does a decent job and charges less. Just research and ask friends and you should be able to find a good makeup artist for a less of a cost. Some of the best makeup artists we have here like Shirley Wu and Kavita Suri charge around $500-600! While decent ones like Sehr Bridals are around $250. In my opinion anywhere between $250-350 is reasonable, above that may be unnecessary expenditure (in my opinion). Honestly speaking, if you get a decent makeup artist, chances are you'll still look just as good as the one you'll get for a much higher price. Because with the price comes the name. You don't want to look bad either, so I say look around, Facebook has tonnes of pages and groups made by makeup artists showcasing their previous work. All the best and congratulations on your upcoming wedding :)
Strawberry87 @ You are very true about prices. I don't understand why they are charging sooooooooooo much like $500 and $600 is way to much just for one day, beacuse i dont wana spend that kind of money noway man. I strongly recommand to everyone NAILA TAUSIF MAKEUP ARTIST .She did my makeup /facial /hair. I really loved her services and her prices are really good too Check it out her Facebook page * NAILA TAUSIF*.She is so talented whatever makeup style you like it just show her pic she will do it sameee.....
All the best :)
You should ask about her rates
Ask if you would be the only bride she will get ready a your appointment time
Ask what all will be included in the bridal package.. ex: facial, nails, dupatta setting, eye lashes, etc.
hmm cant think of anything right now.. but will add later