Questions for indians

Re: Questions for indians

That is why hindi is taught in southern states as well. Infact in our state we had the option of choosing either kannada, hindi or sanscrit as our first language. My mother tongue is hindi but i took kannada as my first language. Instead of trying for a comman language, just give something called freedom for all to choose whatever language they want to learn. Leave them to learn in whichever medium they want to learn. Unity will be automatically taken care of. Afterall language is something which keeps changing just like others. Each language will influence the other and more commanality gradually rises between those languages.

We can talk in hindi :), bahanji :D

ruk kyon gaye
abhi to aapko bada hona hai, pahla nasha pahla khumar karna hai, then college then work, shaadi...:D

indopak is a gal/women??...didn't know it!

Abe Pappu this thead is about school. :smack:

:smilestar:I give up! check my profile pic and you tell me whether i’m a woman or a man. This must be the fifth time someone’s thought I was a guy

I might as well change my gender symbol…what’s the use:p:bummer:

okay okay:sunnyboy:…U were there in that Ball tampering thread. never thought a gal will post anything there. earlier u didn’t have this girl avatar…and i didn’t check your profile… ..BTW you look pretty. yeh ley lo ji—>:rose:…:shikra:

I know Baji

:cb: I grew up around all brothers so that sort of stuff doesn’t really gross me out much.

2 Likes

I have few friends from India and they have studied French & Italian at school. But none of you have mentioned these languages. I guess,students can choose at least one foreign language!

We are just discussing the Indian languages here; as far as foreign languages are concerned, every Indian knows atleast one foreign language, I'll say the average would be 2-3, give or take 2-3. Danka. No Fumar.

queer, who was the zamorin?

ah well, a quote by mr. bob dylan,

makes sense.

“This land is your land and this land is my land, sure, but the world is run by those that never listen to music anyway.”

moral of the story, music is the best language we have.

:flower1:

India will not break if they allow each state to develop their own language or teach their history. We need in India more federalism, which would be beneficial for the whole country. May be even kashmir could be more peacefull if we allow for lesser central govt. control.

:hmmm:what’s federalism vineshvk bhai? Can you please explain.

Federalism is like America. Allow each state to make their own laws, and national goverment to make its own laws.

I thought that's how it was in India too.

Here in my schools they gave more importance to American history and a little state history came along with it, literature was both American and European combined.
foreign languages taught were Spanish and French and of course English being the national language was taught from kindergarten all the way to High school and on to college

Are you trying to impress us ?

No..He is not..In many states Sanskrit is either mandatory or optional subject in high school.

i learnt English, Hindi and Marathi (the script for Hindi and Marathi is same, i.e. Devnagri) in school, learnt Gujrati at home, my grandma use to read Gujrati newpapers and magazines... then learnt Arabic from one aunty who use to come home to teach us read Quran...

knockout_artist, he is most definitely not. :)