A blurry Jebus appeared on my omelette once, thought about building a shrine but was hungry so ate it instead.
As TLK mentioned, the langar is for everyone, it's more a community service thing than anything else. I have been brought up by Sikhs, so have occasionally helped with preparations. A Pakistani aunty learned of this and was horrified, so I thought I'd ask here and see what the opinions, and the reasoning behind the opinions, were.
It has been interesting reading. Thank you all.
the langar would be a problem because you're helping in preparing something that is directly related to kuffar. I would stay away from it.
You should do your best to stay away from anything kuffar-ist in nature. (yeah, I know kuffar-ist isn't a word but you get my point lol)
if preparing langar was unislamic, wouldnt the hundreds of thousands of muslims serving at restaurants in the states be committing kufr too?? i mean church people come every now and then to get food for their functions..
Langar is a good thing to feed hungry. No doubt about it. But the question is related to it being as an act performed at a Gurdawara, to ptomote Sikhism.
Please don't even try to sugar coat something. The question is clear cut. The answer should be clear too.
And prostration to an Idol or picture or whatever other than Allah, or whom Allah said to prostrate is not islamic.
to serve the purpose of islam or to serve the propagation of sikhism, thats what it boils down to. done from a mosque or by an islamic charity then it may be an islamic act.
done from a gurdwara it is done for a rival to Allah SWT and his messenger saw (naudhubillah)
Strange isn't it!!!
How will you propagate Sikhism while helping in Langer? instead you would be helping individuals who have traveled long distance and/or have been there and due to whatever reasons are not capable enough to get food for themselves... how that can be unislamic???
on the same note... i don't understand that we as a muslim are ready to take whatever comes from non-muslims in terms of money, education, culture or you name it.. but when it is time to return then there come some so-called Islamic order/ruling/understanding....
Errr going off-topic but can any Muslim here claim that they worship Allah (swt) directly without involving his authorities? When you pray, you face the Kaaba, you keep the Kaaba in your mind during namaaz. The Kaaba is ghair allah. The name of Allah (swt) are also not Allah but other than Allah.
Kaaba is just indicator, which is required to unify/discipline all muslims in one direction, under no circumstances or any ruling of Islam give the status of GOD to the building of KAABA... and during Salat, it is not the Kaaba which should be in mind, the mind should be focused on the thought that "I am in front of All-Mighty" doesn't matter what place on earth it is...
To the ignoramus who said that guru nanak dev ji was a muslim...its ppl like you that confirm my decision of not being a practicing muslim. If you have any sort of knowledge or education of religion..in this case the sikh religion, guru nanak dev jis first teaching was "na koi hindu na koi musalman", based on that. He was born into a hindu khatri family, but early on recieved a calling from God that his path was different..and he founded the sikh faith. Why i know so much about it...is because i have studied it and i respect it tremendously as a religion. Get your facts straight. I am sick of the distortions that allow any religion to be maligned and islam to be seen as good or the correct way..it isnt..its just one of many paths.
Topo..there is nothing wrong with helping with langar..its a service to humanity. langar is a community kitchen which denies no one..all ppl regardless of their race, religion and status sit together in the house of god and eat ...its a beautiful concept..and it is not shirk.
As for bowing before sri guru granth sahib ji...i have done it..and if i go to this supposed hell everyone is telling me of..so be it..i believe in god..and that is it..he is my ultimate authority
I briefly skimmed the thread..and yet again it shows the arrogance of all muslims..forget that a sikh would know more about their faith than anyone else..but no..apparently ppl like u and the rest of my fellow muslims..just have to know more..and on top of that disclaim everything..why cant u just accept it the way it is..i find it hypocritical..when u have ppl who are killed by our own fellow muslims..when they question islam..yet we can question any other religion and its ok
what if i said the prophet pbuh was a killer of jews..it is documented..he did it..what are u going to do to disprove it?
u know what after reading all the threads here and listening to others...i dont care to follow islam at all...consider me excommunicated
Oh my, that thread is certainly something. I'm surpised Bhai Mardana wasn't mentioned, haha.
confused kuri, I understand your frustration but I'd never recommend renouncing something just on the basis of what other people have said. What people say about something isn't always relevant. Disagreements are par for the course.
If reason, critical thinking, and experience, tell you something isn't for you, then fair enough.
To the ignoramus who said that guru nanak dev ji was a muslim...its ppl like you that confirm my decision of not being a practicing muslim. If you have any sort of knowledge or education of religion..in this case the sikh religion, guru nanak dev jis first teaching was "na koi hindu na koi musalman", based on that. He was born into a hindu khatri family, but early on recieved a calling from God that his path was different..and he founded the sikh faith. Why i know so much about it...is because i have studied it and i respect it tremendously as a religion. Get your facts straight. I am sick of the distortions that allow any religion to be maligned and islam to be seen as good or the correct way..it isnt..its just one of many paths.
Topo..there is nothing wrong with helping with langar..its a service to humanity. langar is a community kitchen which denies no one..all ppl regardless of their race, religion and status sit together in the house of god and eat ...its a beautiful concept..and it is not shirk.
As for bowing before sri guru granth sahib ji...i have done it..and if i go to this supposed hell everyone is telling me of..so be it..i believe in god..and that is it..he is my ultimate authority
Peace confused kuri
I hope you are well and welcome to GupShup and specifically the Religion forum. I've heard the famous statement before
"na koi hindu na koi musalman"
I have also heard that Guru Nanak Ji had learnt much about Islam. In fact Muslims and Hindus alike used to come to him for guidance and advice. I hope this much is true. I also heard that both communities used to fight over who he belonged to the Muslims used to claim him for themselves and the Hindus for themselves.
I'm punjabi so it is interesting to actually translate this statement:
"There is neither any Hindu nor any Muslim"
Now this is where my problem begins. Which does this statement mean?
a) Hindus or Muslims don't exist
b) Hindus or Muslims should not exist
c) The people present who claim to be Hindu are not and the people present who claim to be Muslim are not (for some reason)
d) We should not look at our differences of Hindu and Muslim but deal with each other on a human level
Now when you have answered this ... I would like to see how if possible this translates to mean that Vedantism or Islam is actually being denounced or rejected. Please explain this:
After explaining that then please explain that if both Vedantism and Islam are not right then how can we still claim that there are many paths to God because at least two of them have been ruled out. Unless of course some people are giving the statement more meaning than it is supposed to contain.
"na koi hindu na koi musalman", something to think over!