Question on Shah Ismaeil Shaheed

Yesterday in a religious gathering some ppl were talking about the different movements in sub-continent in last 3 hundred years.

A person said that the reported incident of Shah Ismaeil’s shadaat in the battle with Sikhs is wrong. He gave several references of independent historians and researchers’ books on Punjab’s history(don’t remember the name, but published in Lahore and Chandigarh), Sikh’s rule on Punjab and the Islamic movments. He claimed them to be unbiased historians, since the darul-ulooms writers always favour their sect in any possible way.

Anyway, he said according to those researchers/historians when SIS wrote those books in which he used disrespecting words for Prophet :saw: the anger was spread all over the sub-cont. A bunch of Phattans decided to kill him and so when he was coming to attack on Sikhs, on his way near river panjar or chanab (can’t recall the name) those Phattans attacked on him and killed him and threw the body in the river. Later on the wahabi movement followers made the story that he was martyred in a battle with Sikhs and that there is a grave of him somewhere in that area. Britishers also helped making his personality a hero in Muslims of India to propogate Wahabism among them. Even Sikhs’ historians deny of such a battle with SIS or his forces.

I need information on this, if someone knows what the real fact is behind this mystry. I want to have a true knowledge about him, as some ppl call him very pious and rightous Muslim and others call him ‘gustaakhe rasool’. May Allah save us all from tohmat and back bitting.

ppl who say that Prophet Muhammad :saw: was a human being and not a NOOR and who believe that Allah alone has the knowledge of the unseen (ilm-al-ghayb) and those who strip off the godly attributes affixed to the prophet r called “wahabis” in pakistan…

shah ismail shaheed was one of those righteous men who opposed praying to graves and seeking help from “awliya” rather than Allah…

I am asking about his shadah, if you know anything about it please share. I myself don’t like ppl who do grave-worship and other shirk and bidaah, but I am not wahabi/salafi/barelvi/devbandi either.

SIS problem was that in his writings he tried to degrade naudobillah Prophet :saw: and this is a single point of failure for any Muslim. There are balanced way to educate people to refrain from shirk and bidah, and other Ulema of that time did a very good job, as we know Thanvi saheb and others took a middle way to convey the message across without making any ghustaakhi in Rasool’s :saw: shaan.

sub adab ki baat hai…ik extereme se doosray extereme per jaana kahan ki aqalmandi hai jahan naudobillah log itnay moonh phat hojayein ke prophet ko ‘postman’ kehne lagein…aur maazallah ye kehne lagein ke hum bhi ese amaal karein tou unjese bansaktay hain :nono: kyon ke woh bhi hamri hi tarah insaan thay, no difference. :teary1:
This is Jewish tradition to insult Prophets and Allah has warned Muslims in Quran how to respect and love Prophets of Allah.

I will not go into further details, as this thread is not meant to discuss wahabism, but to find out the fact whether he was martyred in the battle with Sikhs or got killed by Phattans. Thanx.

Salaam, I’ve not heard of him before but here is something I just found about him on Houston University’s MSA page…

At a time when the general milieu in the subcontinent of India was overwhelmed by the powers of darkness, and the soundness of Faith was reeling under the potentially threatening squalls and the blinding forages of superstitions and paganism, Allah the Almighty, by dint of His special blessing, sent a personality, who, by the strength of his Faith, knowledge and rhetoric, dissipated the redoubtable forces of depravity and smashed the self-made idols of Shirk (polytheism) and Bid 'ah (innovations in religion) and established the base of pure Tauhid (Islamic Monotheism). This great personality was Shah Ismail Muhaddith Dehlawi (may Allah's mercy be upon him) who was the grandson of Shah Waliullah Dehlawi, a man of profound knowledge and great name to be reckoned with in terms of his authentic scholarship among the most qualified and famous celebrities of his time. The services which he has rendered for the reformation of Ummah and his undertaking the task of Da 'wah (the mission of propagating Islam); especially after the previous works of Shaikhul-Islam Imam Ibn Taimiyah and Muhammad bin Abdul Wahhab, are absolutely unforgettable and shall always be cherished in our minds. His status is specially far more prominent and elevated due to the fact that he not only carried on with his struggle on the strength of his pen and tongue, but he practically joined Tahreek-ul-Mujahidin (the first Islamic Mujahid movement) under the inspiring leadership of Saiyid Ahmad Shaheed and achieved martyrdom in his armed struggle against the Sikhs at Ralakot and hence set an ideal example for the weak, incapacitated and oppressed Muslims of India.

The age of Shah Ismail Shaheed was infested and contaminated with the poisonous atmosphere of Shirk and innovations. The Indian Muslims, under the influence of the Hindu mythological faith, had entered such rituals and beliefs in Islam that they even surpassed the ones observed during the pre-Islamic period (in terms of their polytheistic rituals).

Taking the above facts into consideration, Shah Ismail Shaheed's religious sense of honour and the integrity of his Faith could not tolerate the spectacle that Islam which has been chosen for the slaves of Allah to confirm His Oneness (which is also the purpose of affirming one's faith in the Prophethood), should be infiltrated with and gnawed by the concept of associating partners to Allah. In order to achieve this august and noble purpose, he compiled Taqwiyat-ul-Iman (the strengthening of faith), wherein he, along with construing and elaborating on Qur'an and Ahadith, also expatiated at length about the pure Islamic beliefs, and declaring all the innovations and rituals the source of ignorance in the light of Qur'an and Sunnah, he emphatically enjoined upon the Muslims to avoid being involved with them. Apart from bearing such exalted and elevated aims, this book, on account of its elegant, breezy, simple and elaborate style of prose (according to the requirement of its age), proved to be so much popular among the peoples that it has so far been published in millions and has enlightened trillions of delinquent and strayed people and has guided them to the Right Path.

Don’t believe everything people tell you. You know what our barelvi bros are like, anyone who disagrees with their polytheism and innovations becomes a Wahhabi/Kaafir/Gustaakh-e-Rasool etc.

PS. How did he insult the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him)? Do you have references? I doubt it’s true.

smooth ...why dont quote what he wrote about hadrat muhammad salalaho alihay wasalam............
shah ismael and syed ahmad shaheed were against bidaat and shirk thats why they were backstabbed by some biaati pathans at balakot.......

i havent read anything unrespectful about the prophet in any of his books....

Quran 18:110
Say (O Muhammad to the people): I am only a mortal like you.

when someone narrates the meaning of this verse to them they think he is insulting the prophet by saying that he is a human like us....

As others mentioned on this post, I am also sure that Shah Ismail Shaheed was a great reformer who was against shirk and bidaa. Now this book being talked about is the first time I have heard of him like this. I can well understand the reason behind this. I am no wahabi or brelvi or sunni or shia. I am a Muslim! What Shah Ismail shaheed was doing was purely Islamic. Grave worshippers ofcourse do not like him.

I also remember reading how the Hurs of Sindh also sided with him.

Anyway, may Allah bless his soul!

they called Sir Syed Ahmed Khan a 'munafiq' who worked for the british and plotted against muslims....
go figure....

Thanx guy for the responses. I myself want to clarify this, since I don’t want to keep anything against scholars who have contributed in Islam’s propogation or defence. Whether be it great sufis, devbandi clerics or others. They all have great done great work in sub-continent.

I have read many writers from both sides, like Mahir ul Qadri, Zakariya Kandhelvi, Ashraf Ali Thanvi and Ahmed Raza Khan. They all have points on their places and have provided references from Quran and Hadiths to prove their beliefs. I have concluded that there are fanatics who are spoiling the whole environment, which could have been corrected. As for the Prophet :saw: now I believe in only one thing and that is very balanced too.

BAAD AZ KHUDA BUZURG TOU HI QISSA MUKHTASAR

Who we are to determine what prophet’s maqaam is. We are just his umatti, nobody can compare himself or anyone else with Mohammed :saw: He sure was a human being like us, but was regarded as ‘afzalul bashar’ and ‘insaan-e-kaamil’. So he is the best creation of Almighty Allah and is most beloved one. I think all the Islamic sects are agreed on it.

Now as far as the reference is concerned, I read ‘tablighi jamaat’ by Mahir ul Qadri in which he accused SIS being a gustakhe rasool and he also provided some references to his books. Its been 12 years since I read that book, so I don’t remember it exactly. I must say that I have found the writer so biased and some ppl say that there are several phrases quoted from Ulema’s book out of context that changes the whole meaning of them.
However in the light of the information that you guys have provided, I am trying to contact the person who claimed to have read those historical books, so I can get the names of those books, and also if he has any reference of SIS books where he did any gustakhi. I hope that this will turn out to be a misinterpretation case.

On contrary, interestingly here you can find the so called ‘shirkiya kalamat’ by the saints and SIS is no exception along with other famous sufis :hehe:
Sayyid Muhammad Ismail Shaheed (d. 1831 C.E.): He writes in praise of his leader Sayyid Ahmad Barelvi (Muslim religious and military leader in North-West India in early nineteenth century) as follows:

Joseph has now come to Egypt from Canaan, and a whole world has come for his purchase. To give life to the dead the breath of Jesus has now come into the world.
From Madina my Ahmad has come, from the cave of Saur, to teach the Ansar. Sayyid Ahmad came one day with his companions. You should say that the Last of the Prophets came again with his Companions.‘’

(Najm al-Saqib, vol. ii)

The name ansar is applied to a group of the Companions of the Holy Prophet. Here Sayyid Ahmad Barelvi has been called Joseph, Jesus, Ahmad (Holy Prophet Muhammad), and even the Last of the Prophets. His companions have been called Companions of the Holy Prophet. Such expressions are used because of the similarity and likeness which the saints bear to prophets.