What name do u call ur in-laws by?
p.s. can we leave all the sarcasm out plz ![]()
What name do u call ur in-laws by?
p.s. can we leave all the sarcasm out plz ![]()
I call my mother in law Ami ya Ami ji
My father in law Abu ji ya abu jaan, Daddy
Re: question for married people
Aunti and Uncle (sometimes Abbi)
I call my MIL and BIL by their names. I asked them when i first met them how they wished i addressed them, and they said by name. ![]()
Although, when my daughters are around, i address them as they do; mémé (grandma) and pépé (grandpa).
I have one mother… and the label “mother” is reserved for her and her only. And i would hate for my daughters to call someone else as their mother :no:
Ammi for my MIL...jethanis are "(name) bhabhi", jeths are "(name) bhai"
I call my own mother MOM and my own dad ABBU. I call my MIL Ammi and FIL Papa. I call one of my SIL (name) Baji because she is one year older then I. The others go by their name because they are younger.
wow!! someone thinks like me:@: well i call them uncle and aunti.![]()
my parents are MOMMY and PAPA-JAAN and i call his parents AMMI and ABU (since they are a good 20-30 years older than my parents) and i felt saying 'aunti' and 'uncle' wasnt as respectful...everyone else is (NAME) baji/bhai cuz they are all older than me...
It'll have to be aunty.
Unless he starts calling my mum and dad Ami Abu like i do. Which i don't see happening.
I call my FIL uncle, though I sometimes really want to call him "Abbu" as my hubby does, but it just feel super odd. My hubby calls my parents "uncle" and "aunty" as well, but once in a while he'll call them what I call them, and even that feels really odd to me.
I call his siblings what he calls them. BIL is bhaiyya, and sisters are name Aapi.
wow im amazed tht u call ur in-laws by their names r they Pakistani?
So far in 8 years of marriage I have avoided actually addressing my MIL as anything!!! When It alk to her I just talk without addressing her and when I talk about her to hubby it's 'your mum'.....
In the same way, hubby hasn't ever referred to my mum as mum which is what I call her....
I would have liked to refer to my MIL as ammi like my hubby does but reckon I've left it too late to actually start - feels funny. Same for hubby calling mum 'mum'....
BIL/SIL I call by their name and one SIL just call her by nickname our family has given her
You mean behind their back ?
My father in law died in accident before ever speaking to me, i call mother in law as Aunti. my wife call uncle and aunti to my parents.
well my hubby's parents are my relatives too, so i call them what i did before mariage.would feel really weird to call them mum or dad.
hubby's bro and sis are both younger so call them by their names.
my own mother is mum and mama, mother in law is ammi ji
own dad is abu and father in law is abu too
I am planning to call them "oye" and "aay"
^^^ ![]()
wow im amazed tht u call ur in-laws by their names r they Pakistani?
I think Maroushy's inlaws are French, not Pakistani.