Question about Punjabis

punjabi guys have long ruled hindi film industry, anand's and kapoor's and khanna's and dutt's and jeetendra, dhamendra, rajendra kumar and so on. amitabh's mom is sikh.
so looks wise, punjabi men have been a good draw. i have heard stories about how rajesh khanna was popular with ladies.
not many punjabi heroines though. sikh heroines, maybe amrita singh, i cant think of anyone else.

Originally posted by ZZ:
punjabi guys have long ruled hindi film industry, anand's and kapoor's and khanna's and dutt's and jeetendra, dhamendra, rajendra kumar and so on. amitabh's mom is sikh.
so looks wise, punjabi men have been a good draw. i have heard stories about how rajesh khanna was popular with ladies.
not many punjabi heroines though. sikh heroines, maybe amrita singh, i cant think of anyone else.

..plus forget not Mohammad Rafi - singer of the century is Punjabi ..with contribution to hindi films and urdu language unmatched..

Originally posted by Rooster-Blues:
** correction .. Punjabis from Sialkot are called smelly Punjabis... dumb looking punjabis are called indian punjabis...punjabis with cloth-market on thier head are called Sikh-punjabis .. good looking punjabis are called Pakistani Punjabis.. although the one from Sialkot are still smelly but good looks are the virtue of pak-punjab..

.. a bit correction here.. pagri or pag is not only a part of sikhism but an important part of muslim punjabis living in rural parts - its a symbol of respect..

Naik Gee,
Thats why we love you, you always manage to find the good aspects in people.
You are right, but its a lil different.
It was me posting that, but with all their influences.
You might advise me how i can try to keep my mind clean and not to have it polluted by their sick ideas

ps whats happening, why dont we see you anymore. Did you get lost in your books lately?

Actually to find out about what being punjabi is all about, watch the film MOLA JUTT. And in response to definition of real punjabis- Punjabis from Gujrat (Pak) are the real deal (defined as per the above mentioned film)

Actually to find out about what being punjabi is all about, watch the film MOLA JUTT

A bit of an exaggeration. Not all Punjabis are bull-necked nutters with handlebar moustaches. Those type of films make me sick. I think it's time we moved on from those images. Mindless violence amongst this clan and that are glorified in those films and I think it's time we moved on.

Fact is that Punjabis belong to many religions...Sikhism, Hinduism, Islam, **Ahmadiyas* and even some Christians*

Chann ji, aveiN na mariya karo. Who says Ahmadis Punjabis??? They don't know squat about Punjab. They can never be properly unrefined poeple.

Two groups of Punajbis are the most smart, shrewd and intelligent in the whole world…Punjabi Ahmadis and Khatris.

Proof Exhibit #1: Abdus Salam and Hargobind Khurana

Exhibit #2: Deepak Chopra

Roman: yaar aapaN te ganDay godhan te gannay choopan jogay ee aan

[This message has been edited by ChannMahi (edited October 17, 2001).]

ek tay meiN Abdus Salam toN barra tang aaN. Noble Prize kee lay liya ay, jaan ee naee chadada.

Hooni Ahmadi vee aanda ee hoay ga odhee shaan che qaseeday parHn.

Originally posted by ZZ:

zz your knowledge seems to be as short as a your vision
raveena tandon is a punjabi hindu
hritik roshan is a punjabi hindu
rati agnihotri is a punjaban
poonam dhillon is a sardarni
preity zinta is a sardarni
karishma kapoor and the kapoor khandan are from peshawar again punjabis
mahima chouwdary is a punjaban from haryana
these are all i can remember at the moment sure there are more

Originally posted by kabir:
** zz your knowledge seems to be as short as a your vision
raveena tandon is a punjabi hindu
hritik roshan is a punjabi hindu
rati agnihotri is a punjaban
poonam dhillon is a sardarni
preity zinta is a sardarni
karishma kapoor and the kapoor khandan are from peshawar again punjabis
mahima chouwdary is a punjaban from haryana
these are all i can remember at the moment sure there are more

tandon's are UP people, no way punjabis. dada Roshan, grandpa of Hrithik, musician of 'na to hamsafar ki talaash hain' fame, was from UP. Karishma is only half punjabi. mom is sindhi, rest u mentioned are more of extras than heroines.

well, i forgot neetu singh.

Originally posted by ChannMahi:
**Two groups of Punajbis are the most smart, shrewd and intelligent in the whole world…Punjabi Ahmadis and Khatris.

Proof Exhibit #1: Abdus Salam and Hargobind Khurana

Exhibit #2: Deepak Chopra

And Bengalis are Smarter than Punjabis

They threw them away with bloody nose from Bangladesh

Rabindro nath was much smarter than Deepak Chopra

Amartya Sen was was smarter than Hargovind & Abdus salam together b/c they got shared nobel & Amartya Sen alone got Nobel in Economics.

Calcutta is much richer than Lahore & bengali beuty Sharmila ,Shushmita sen,Kajol Rani ,Rakhi Biswas Suchitra Sen Aparna Sen will give Bhangra dancing villager illiterate kaur run for her money

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bukbuk.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nah.gif

Bengali is language of Art ,Shanti niketan is Univ of Art as opposed to punjab tractor & villages

aarazuu jurma vafaa jurma tamannaa hai gunaaha ye vo duniyaa hai jahaa.N pyaar na…

Zohra, it was a good flame bait of punjabis vs. bengalis. alas! none took it. lemme try. whatever greatness bengalis have in culture or whatever, as far as songs in 'durga puja' go, daler mehdi rulezz, as of now.

Zohra, did I say bengalis are not smart or beautiful? We were talking about Punjabis from different parts of the world. BTW Deepak Chopra I listed was in shrewd adn clever category not the other smart and intelligent one.

What Daler Mehdi ?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

S.d Burman ,ore majhe

R.D.Burman

,Salil howdhry,…

Hemant Kumar

Kishore Manna De

Sandhya Mukherhee

Geeta Dutt,

Ravi Shankar ,What daler mehdi ??

So many copies of classical bengali hits made into Hindi songs to movies tyou wouldnt know which one

Jai Sonar Bangla

OK now, lemme take a punjabi side.
** What Daler Mehdi ?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

S.d Burman ,ore majhe **
OP Nayyar!
R.D.Burman
Madan Mohan
,Salil howdhry,…
husnalal-bhagatram, khemchand prakash, sardar malik, annu malik
Hemant Kumar
Noor Jehan
Kishore Manna De
Rafi
Sandhya Mukherhee **
Ghulam ali, Mehdi hasan.
**Geeta Dutt,

Ravi Shankar ,What daler mehdi ??**
Bade ghulam ali khan,
**So many copies of classical bengali hits made into Hindi songs to movies tyou wouldnt know which one

Jai Sonar Bangla**
jai sonar bangla, long live bhangra also!

Zohra, is there a CD Set of Sonar bangali Gaan. I d like to hve a few good bengali songs. I'm fond of Bengal too. I really like Chitra's Ghazals and Punjabi songs .

Do you speak any Bengali. I lived some years in Calcutta and know Bengali reasonably well. Tho I havent used it for years