question about pick and choose in islam according to time

salam
in morning i read a post in which sum1 asked if its allowed to follow selected things from quran…
i wanted to reply,but now i can’t find that post…
but as this is really imp so
this ayat from quran is enough to warn
"kya tum kitaab k kuch hissay per emaan rkhtay ho or kuch hissay ka inkaar krtay ho? or jo shakhs aesa kray ga to dunya me us k liyae rusvaee hai or aakharat me un logoon ko sakht azaab ki taraf lotaya jae ga"
surah bakr :85

there are many verses which show importance of following ahkaam:al- noor :88,al maaida:49,al-ahzaab:36,al-nissa:60,…

Re: question about pick and choose in islam according to time

**^jazaak Allaho Khair for the info

it's said that come to the deen FULLY...do NOT even hover at the boundaries. it's best for you if you understand **

Re: question about pick and choose in islam according to time

Not only this verse but if you read verses from 2:74 to 2:90, you will see the behavior of Jews towards the signs, prophets and books of Allah.
for instance

2:79) Woe, then, to those who write the book with their hands and then say: This is from Allah, so that they may take for it a small price; therefore woe to them for what their hands have written and woe to them for what they earn.

i.e., they interpret the Book of Allah as per their preconceived notions as if they are writing book with their own hands

2:83)
And (remember) when We made a covenant with the Children of Israel, (saying): Worship none save Allah (only), and be good to parents and to kindred and to orphans and the needy, and speak kindly to mankind; and establish worship and pay the poor-due. Then, after that, ye slid back, save a few of you, being averse.

and the verse you quoted

2:85) Yet you it is who slay your people and turn a party from among you out of their homes, backing each other up against them unlawfully and exceeding the limits; and if they should come to you, as captives you would ransom them-- while their very turning out was unlawful for you. Do you then believe in a part of the Book and disbelieve in the other? What then is the reward of such among you as do this but disgrace in the life of this world, and on the day of resurrection they shall be sent back to the most grievous chastisement, and Allah is not at all heedless of what you do.

So the Jews were:
1) writing book with their own hands and projecting it as if it from Allah. meaning they twist the meaning of the message of Allah as per their own ideas and project it as if it is from the Lord Almighty
2)They were given some specific messages like Worship none save Allah (only), and be good to parents and to kindred and to orphans and the needy, and speak kindly to mankind; and establish worship and pay the poor-due and Shed no blood amongst you, nor turn out your own people from your homes. but being slaves of their desires they arrogantly or knowingly followed or practiced what was clearly unlawful for them

In these verses, there are points to ponder for muslim ummah as well