Question about masoor daal

The pinkish daal that turns yellow when cooked…

Someone told me that eating masoor dal without mixing it with another dal can cause stomach issues…why?

Re: Question about masoor daal

I've never heard that before and we eat lal masoor ki daal by itself all the time!

In fact Hyderabadi khatti daal and meethi daal are made from lal masoor ki daal.

Yep, we eat masoor dal all the time. Actually that's one of the only daals liked in our family. Never had any problems.

Yup never heard that before...my mom makes it so frequently...:)

It is one of those food related myths I will add it into my food related myths database.
Dilly waloon key pasandeeda daal hay yeh , iss k bghair unn ka dastarkwan mukamal nahi hota. So have I heard.
Yeh monh aur masoor key daal suna hay kabhi ?
Dilly walay kahtay hain keh her monh masoor key daal khanay k lee-a nahi bana. :)

^ :omg:

Nikki, I have never heard that .. I even asked my mom and she hasnt heard this bit either … So as Mirch said , it looks like a myth …
I love red daal … and I hardly ever mix it with any other daal … nothings ever happend to me mashallah …

normally they mix a few other lentils coz together they taste very well …

Masoor key daal key kichri is so yumlisheous.
Before someone ask for recipe. It is made as all other kichri's just substitute masoor daal with you favorite daal. ( do not mix any other daal)
Then masoor key daal gosht , wow.
Recipe? Yes make it as all other daal gosht just substitute it with any other daal you use to make your daal gosht. ( do not mix any other daal)

My mother used to say that masoor key daal khuski karti hay therefore she used to mix mong key daal ( yellow daal ) to counter that khushki.
I do not know what khushki is in hakeemana terms. May be Khalil Khan Faakhta can help in this regard.

If you cook it in a very simple way - it is really the tastiest daal - just boil it with few whole round red chillies and then do tarka with garlic, zeera and 2-3 round chillies! Yummy!

Yes masoor ki daal kitchri - really delicious - we used to have it 2 days a week - after school at lunch - with tali hui mirch or tomatoes/onion/green chlillies/green corriander salad.

i heard and defiantly experienced the same thing about dall maash and

it really create stomach problem especially if u eat it before going to sleep.

Hmmmm. Sounds good then.

yeah.....we cook masoor ki daal in various recipes all the time......particularly khatti daal and we've never had this issue.

It is called Malka Masoor - as it is different in color .... in our household we make some delicious **Daal'cha **with this kind of yoke !