Qibla Compass: What do those numbers mean? Mine goes to 400.

And what number am I supposed to point to if I am in Houston?

Re: Qibla Compass: What do those numbers mean? Mine goes to 400.

You have to pray 400 times in each direction to be sure.

well indeed a very bad Joke:nono1:

Sorry, I will try better next time. The thread starter as given limited information on his compass.

Please see below information regarding Qibla Finder:

*United States *
Atlanta 295
Austin 305
Boston 270
Chicago 290
Denver 305
Detroit 285
Kansas City 300
Los Angeles 310
Memphis 300
Miami 300
Minneapolis 295
New Orleans300
New York 275
St. Louis 295
Washington 280
Phoenix 310
San Francisco 310
Pittsburgh 280
Portland (Ore). 315
Portland Maine270
Houston, Tex300
Dallas, Tex 305

Canada
Edmonton 310
Halifax 260
Montreal 270
Ottawa 270
Port Arthur 290
Quebec 265
Vancouver 315
Toronto 285

HOW TO USE HOLY KAABA DIRECTION FINDER
Select the city in which you are located and read the Index Number.
Place the Direction Finder on the floor and turn it until the needle points to the selected Index Number. The Minaret at top of the Direction Finder is now pointed to the HOLY KAABA IN Mecca.

The direction of Al-Qiblah (The Holy Kaaba in Mecca) from North America, as shown by the HOLY KAABA DIRECTION FINDER, is East-South-East/South East depending on the locations of the cities.

The Index Numbers have been scientifically calculated from the latest available geophysical and geodetic data for 1980.

*Please Note: *
The above information is the reproduction from the book “HOLY KAABA DIRECTION FINDER, Index Numbers and city locations worldwide”.

Thank you for the answer. I will try 300.

***Sorry to say who so ever wrote this is misinformed and still believe the Earth is Flat like the Flat Maps they consult…:smack:

Simply Use a GPS hand held device and enter the cordinates of Mecca Mukarrama in it…

IN the USA on average the Qibla from the East Coast is North East…or 37 degrees from True North…not the Magnetic North

For Houston it 35 degrees from True North!
and on the West Coast it is North North East…or 18 degrees from True North..

Check out this website has best explanation:

In Ingles por favor? 35 from true north? Where is true north?

Very Good Question TDWala...........................

True North and "Geographic North" are one and the same thing............

**and it is Marked on ALL City Maps in the TOP Right Hand Corner or the bottom. **
..........................Mecca
........................./
..................N /
like so W<^>E
..................S

So in Houston on the ground line up your city Map with the place you are standing.........

You should be Facing North and North is pointing to 12:00 Oclock (direction of hour hand) then Mecca direction will be close to 1:30 Oclock (direction of hour hand) i.e 35 degrees East (to the Right) from the 0 degree North Pole direction....

Updated explaining the use of Analog Face of Clock to describe direction using the hour hand on its face as means of pointing out the direction

Hope that make it clear...if not just get a hand held GPS....:D

houston or makkah mein sirf do ghantay ka time difference hai? :)

thougth i would get in my annoying question as well sindsagar

Ji Nahin Pir Sahib, using the Face of an Analog Clock(not digital mind you) and it's hour hand only as a pointer for direction has been used in aviation for quick observation. Has nothing to do with time........ but only direction

Makes sense?.............:)