Putting Flowers on Grave

:salam2:

When a person is alive and needed help, none of us help him and when he dies we rush to put bunch of flowers on his grave. What I would like to know/discuss here not about helping/not helping others, but to know that why we put flowers on someone’s grave? Any reason?

Plz discuss.

Re: Putting Flowers on Grave

as far as i know our beloved Prophet [saws] once [passed/walked by a grave along with his companions. He [saws] put a green twig with green leaves on the grave. upon the companions' inquiring, Huzoor [saws] said [mafhoom/meaning]:
"saaHib-e-qabr par 'azaab ho rahaa hai is liye maiN ne yeh Harii bharii Tehnii [twig] rakh dii hai aur jab tak yeh harii rahegii, iA, is murde par 'azaab rukaa rahegaa."
this is the reason why Muslims put green twigs on the wooden/concrete slabs covering the grave entrance before putting the dirt over it.

putting flowers is NOT sunnat. putting green twigs is.

Peace Khalil Bhai,

Any source of such saying?

sorry, i don't have any references.

:hmmm: I think I read it somewhere but don’t remember exactly whether it is hadith or in an Islamic book. Let me see if I can find it.

What is done is the planting of plants, plants Glorify Allah thereby possibly lessening any potential punishment.

It is a form of esal e sawab

Also the notion that none of us help a person whilst they are alive is surely not true for all of us. We do what we can, However once the person has passed away and our feeling that tomorrow i will do such and such thing with or for that person is gone. Also gone is everything else we may have planned like going to see them or hearing of them. So the whole cards stack comes crashing down all at once for everyone connected, resulting in an outpouring of concentrated attention

Peace vroom,

It is not about helping one another but about flowers. Like you wrote in first phrase, "...thereby possibly lessening any potential punishment, and is a form of esal e sawab". Is there any authentic source which confirms this?

The Bukhari narration is available, no 213, here:

Bukhari3

Chapter Index:
http://bewley.virtualave.net/bukhcont.html

Planting plants including flowers is a practice that i like

but if you are talking about flower bouquets that are given in western culture at time of celebration and for sympathy then i do not know of any Islamic equivalent for that. It seems an extension of western influence but I do not wish to say anything too blunt on the matter as a precaution

Salam Alaikum

:wsalam: & Peace vroom,

See the hadith is talking more about other things rather then planting plants. However, I was talking about petals especially of rose, which is commonly used nowadays. Why? that what I want to know. :slight_smile:

The possible reason I can understand is
1. It is based on the same Hadith and people put it for the same reason.
2. I just thought and it is not only the rose patels but also rose water which is sprayed / sprinkled , I think this is done for the reson that people who visit the grave should feel beter while in graveyard and also if for any reason there is smell which can be interpreted otherwise as Azab-e-qabar will be covered by this.

Peace Bookworm,

1- Hadith reference, if any?
2- Water sprinkling I think is in rear cases but usage of rose petals are common, i guess.

Narrated Ibn 'Abbas: Allah’s Apostle passed by two graves and said, "Both of them (persons in the grave) are being tortured, and they are not being tortured for a major sin. This one used not to save himself from being soiled with his urine, and the other used to go about with calumnies (among the people to rouse hostilities, e.g., one goes to a person and tells him that so-and-so says about him such-and-such evil things). The Prophet then asked for a green leaf of a date-palm tree, split it into two pieces and planted one on each grave and said, “It is hoped that their punishment may be abated till those two pieces of the leaf get dried.”
Bukhari, Book 8, Volume 73, Hadith 78: Good Manners and Form

Peace Bookworm,

The hadith is already quoted by brother vroom at post #8. I, unable to locate explanation/interpretation of the above hadith.

We know from Quran that all living things including leafs do their Tashbih in their own way. So here it is how most of the people do
1. Bring a Qari (A human ) to recite Quran at the side of grave
2. Put some rice or feed (for Birds)
3. Grow some grass or plant (for Animals)
4. Put Rose petals (as leaf)
5. sprinkle some rose water or even Zamzam to help cool hellfire

Well one of them should work for sahib-e-qabar (its taking 5 antibiotics to eleminate all possibilities, like quakes do)

Peace bookworm,

If I understood correctly than I think the above is for 'Isaal-e-Sawab' of a deceased, am I right? :@:

Putting Flowers on Grave

This is from a completely non religious point of view and just really is a reasoning that just came to me as I was reading this but since plants are living maybe it represents an aspect of the spirits of the deceased. Don't know if that makes sense but I can imagine it is also a decorative practice to decorate the grass of those buried. I imagine roses also have some significance since they seemed to be used universally amongst Muslims for both celebration and death.

i would just add one point.

In Islam, one is not supposed to have a permanent grave marker...no tomb-stones, no concrete around it. it's supposed to be allowed to flatten and let it be recycled. since there is a mention either in Qur'aan and/or aHaadees that on the day of judgement 70 K dead bodies will rise from each grave, some graveyards [both Khaandaanii and non Khaandaanii] do not allow concrete graves and they move the bones aside from the grave and bury another one in the same grave after 2 years i believe.

Peace S and S,

Not universally but in some countries, and that might be copying from others. Check the below images
Image 1: Muslim vs Non Muslim**

Image 2: Non-Muslim vs Muslim

Image 3: Non-Muslim vs Muslim

Again my question is still there. Why we use petals of rose or any other flowers?

The best thing that one can do for the deceased ones is praying for their forgiveness. rest putting flowers, lighting candles, incensed sticks are just "dil ke behlane ko ghalib yeh khayal acha hai"

Aoa KKF,

grave markers and grave stones are unislamic? are you sure? There should be some sanctity of the dead ones. Who "recycles" the graves after two years. wow. it is shocking to learn this.
who are these people? wahabis?