Punjabi Establishment, Punjabi People and Injustices with other Provinces !

That is not correct rather distortion of 1971 tragedy. I always ask and again ask you a question, what had Yahya Khan stopped him to ask Mujib's Al to form the government, who won majority of the seats in combined Pakistan in elections of 1970? (ZAB won 81 seats from West Pakistan majority from Punjab, Mujib won 152 seats from East Pakistan)

Please don't give me rhetoric bull $h1t that Mujib or ZAB were working against Pakistan. Mujib was in jail in false Agar Tala case by Ayub Khan and ZAB was simply a politician played a Punjabi card during 1970s (His majority winning was from Punjab). I need a reasonable answer because Yahya Khan was an active general, with absolute powers of President of Pakistan. No one could have dared to stop him to hand over power to Mujib or ask both to form a coalition government.

This question clearly ignores the BASIC makeup of parliamentary system. Winning "majority of popular votes" OR "Most seats" does not automatically guarantee you of becoming the ruling party.

The whole idea in British Indian parliamentary system (a really corrupted version of British parliamentary system), is that you win x number of seats, but the president (at national level) will try to figure out who can muster the majority in the NA.

Thus a majority party may not be asked to form the government if the second lowest party can show their plan to combine with other lesser parties thus creating a stable government.

Mujib shot in his foot by NOT having any presence beyond ONE province.

ZA Bhutto (not my favorite) party on the other hand was MUCH MORE national in character and thus more likely to form a majority coalition.

Thus we should not accuse Yahya for not inviting Mujib.

Just remember that, if you believe in democracy, then you ShOULD be ready to SIT in OPPOSITION.

Thus Mujib should have sat in opposition until BHUTTO party lost majority (through new elections or through vote of confidence).

It is time we quit living in la la land of made of history.

As usual wrong analysis based on false and subjective premise far from truth. ZAB only won seats in West Pakistan, he was as such not a national leader as you rant. In democracy majoirty rules. Bengalis were in majoirty (Like punjabis are now in Pakistan after 1971) in combined Pakistan won almost double seats than ZAB's PPP, it was legal and moral duty of Yahya Khan to ask first Mujib to form the government.

People of your attitude cost Pakistan a lot. Distortion of facts, might is right, minority rule that kind of nonsense parted Bengalis from Pakistan and broke Quaid's Pakistan.

Man you are so simple.

Have you ever taken a political science 101 course? Your knowledge is based on heresy.

Please do your own study and then come back to discuss it.

You say ZAB won on in West Pakistan. But there was no constituent unit called "West Pakistan".

FYI. Federating units were Sindh, Balochistan, Frontier, Punjab, and E. Bengal.

These units had their own provincial assemblies and their electoral districts. Thus the parties were supposed to win from multiple provinces in order to be considered "National parties".

You keep on saying "main na manoo" on majority rules. Majority vote is only the FIRST step, and not the last step in a parliamentary democracy.

Why it is so hard for you to understand this?

If you want to discuss the constitution, then discuss it. If you just want to play the blame game, then bhai, keep at it, but you will never learn.

Re: Punjabi Establishment, Punjabi People and Injustices with other Provinces !

Hum sum Pakistani pehle aur punjabi/kashmiri/balochi/pashtoon/sindi/mohajir bad mein hain

At least I am

:jhanda:

If being pakistani in your eyes means having mentality like gen zia-ul-haq, qazi hussain, hamid gul, khwaja khalid, col imam, mullah radio, ibn amin, shah duran, baitullah mehsud, qari hussain, haleemullah mehsud etc. than forget altaf hussian, but all of sindh is not your type of pakistani.

^ Stop crying. We all know how Pakistani Altaf bhai is after he burnt the national flag and then denounced the creation of pakistan as the biggest blunder in the history of mankind.

Khehkeshan, The names you mention are either authoritarians, ideologists or terrorists. Altaf bhai is super Pakistani since he's all three!

Anyways, you never justified that if Punjabi establishment is the supreme power in Pakistan and extremely tacky, how come Musharraf was able to rise up to the position of COAS and sustain his presidency in uniform for so long with them being against him.

I think it is time to check your brain. You need to read 101 history in Pakistan. Read following historical facts and learn something from facts. Don’t use your schizophrenia to create concocted history to satisfy your ego. Discussing with you looks like hitting your head on the wall.

West Pakistan Established as One Unit [1955]

**Even after eight years of existence, Pakistan was without a constitution. The main reason was believed to be the fact that there were two unequal wings of Pakistan separated from each other by more than a thousand miles. To diminish the differences between the two regions, the Government of Pakistan decided that all the four provinces and states of West Pakistan should be merged into one unit. **
**To this end, Prime Minister Muhammad Ali made the first official announcement on November 22, 1954, enumerating the benefits of having one unit or province. On September 30, 1955, the Assembly passed the bill merging 310,000 square miles into a single province, with Lahore as its provincial capital. West Pakistan had formerly comprised three Governor’s provinces, one Chief Commissioner’s province, a number of states that had acceded to Pakistan, and the tribal areas. Geographically, they formed a homogenous block with easy communication, but with marked linguistic and ethnic distinctions. The result of the new bill was to unify these various units into one province to be known as West Pakistan. **

**The Bill was hailed as a measure of administrative rationalization as it was likely to reduce the administrative expenditure. It was claimed that one unit of West Pakistan would eliminate the curse of provincial prejudices. The problem of representation of various units in the proposed Federal Legislature had been a big hurdle in the way of making a Constitution and it was said that with the removal of this hurdle, the formation of the Constitution would now speed up. **

**Dr. Khan Sahib was appointed as the first Chief Minister of the One Unit, while Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani was appointed as the first Governor of West Pakistan. Dr. Khan Sahib’s Ministry, however, came to an end when the President himself took over the administration. Subsequently, Sardar Abdur Rashid and Muzzaffar Ali Qazilbash were appointed Chief Ministers of that province in succession. **

**While the One Unit scheme in West Pakistan could be supported on various grounds, the method of its establishment was not free from criticism. The government wanted to introduce the One Unit Scheme by an executive decree, which it could not do. So the Central Government dismissed the Ministry in Punjab, Sindh and N. W. F. P. One Unit continued until General Yahya Khan dissolved it on July 1, 1970. **

WikiAnswers - What separated east and west Pakistan

**East Pakistan separated from West Pakistan because of neglect and abuse on part of West Pakistan. East Pakistan was fairly lawless and forgotten by West Pakistan. East Pakistan had no voice when it came to its own affairs, as well. **

**Examples of neglect include: **

**The East Pakistani population was 58% of the total population of the country. This majority were not even allowed to have their language as one f the national languages until after a bloody battle between army and students. **

**Sub standard goods were sold from West Pakistan to East Pakistan at double the price. East Pakistan was not allowed to deal directly with any neighboring countries **

**East Pakistani had no representation in the armed forces or in government or local office. **

**East Pakistan was very much in the same position as modern day province Baluchistan. Like East Pakistan, Baluchistan has an independence movement - the Baluchistan Liberation Army. It is fighting for independence for very much the same reason as East Pakistan did. **

East Pakistan won their independence in 1971 and shortly after in 1973 the first Baluchi uprising started with a 55,000 man rebellion agaisnt Punjabi domination in Pakistan

Nobody wants to be your type of "pakistani" where beheadings, suicide bombings are justified and promoted. I am glad people like you don't consider altaf hussain a "pakistani". Jinnah's pakistan is 180 degrees away from your version of jamati pakistan.

The names I mentioned are all of the "pure" pakistanis, sons of the soil, promoted by the state or of the state at one point or another. These are the types of leaders pakistan has produced, so you have to live with that fact.

Musharraf grew up in the military system and as an urdu speaker tried extra hard to fit in to that system by being more loyal than the "king". The moment he deviated from that line of thinking, is when he started to get detractors and eventually the system he grew up in threw him out. The same PCO judges that once agreed with him turned against him when he went hard after khariji fitna.

^ A very slow ineffective system, indeed.

[quote="Khehkeshan, post:10, topic:204643"]

The names I mentioned are all of the "pure" pakistanis, sons of the soil, promoted by the state or of the state at one point or another. These are the types of leaders pakistan has produced, so you have to live with that fact.

Musharraf grew up in the military system and as an urdu speaker tried extra hard to fit in to that system by being more loyal than the "king". The moment he deviated from that line of thinking, is when he started to get detractors and eventually the system he grew up in threw him out. The same PCO judges that once agreed with him turned against him when he went hard after khariji fitna./QUOTE]

As a Musharaff supporter, i have to say that the above theory is a 3rd class one and makes no sense at all.
Musharaff is still getting full support of Pakistan "FAUJ" and everyone knows that, he has been going to different countries under "FAUJI" instructions so the sticking up to the "KING" theory is a full on "BAKWAS" theory. In 7 years, he was trying to please someone and only deviated after 7 years and hence kicked out???
I hope MQM suporters use brain instead of computer chips programmed in UK.

Abey chup. Your bhaiyyaz werent burning Pakistani flags in the 70s and 80s because they condemned suicide bombing, nor was the demand of Jinnahpur related to it. Please dont associate a pig like altaf with the country's founder. If you really want, compare altaf's idealogies (and physical dimensions) to either Laloo Yadav which again is unfair to laloo bhai.

Yeah slow indeed, they should have known he was lying when he swore never to mess with the country's political system or abrogate/violate the constitution and thrown him into a brig.

haha. Losers typically start personal insults when they run out of proper arguments. This is yet another example.

When Mujib’s party won only in E. Bengal province, there was no ONE UNIT. So why do you want to bring the unrelated stuff?

American constitution took 11 years to be finalized. Some 100 years later separatist-civil war happened.

Indian Constitution was finalized sooner, and still the separatist-Sikh civil war happened in Punjab.

Thus the absence or presence of constitution is no guarantee nor a precondition for a civil war.

As I said, do your homework, and read up on political science before shooting off the heresy, and rumors.

FYI. E. Pak was not LAWLESS, until the criminal acts of Awami League started.

Another big ignorance of yours is related to financial issues between the E. Bengal and the rest of the provinces.

By 1970, E. Bengal was taking in $16 billion (a bit less than half of Pakistani budget) per year in today’s dollars.

After separation, they can’t even make $5 billion at their own.

This clearly shows that E. Bengal was less productive, yet they were demanding 3 times their share.

But that’s OK, we treated them as brothers, and it was OK to spend our hard earned $15 billion a year (in today’s money).

But the AL back stabbed us and the result???

E. Bengalis quickly realized the false $$$ propaganda of Mujib, and thus they killed every man, woman, and child of his family in ONE BLOODY night.

But you want to ignore all the FACTS and harp on the made up Akhabari rumors.

Do your study mate! Cut and paste without using your intellect is waste of time.

wiki is not the only place. Do your home work.

It was you who brought un-related and false stuff. You said when Bhutto won there was no West Pakistan. I gave you proof that in March 1970, Bhutto won from WEST PAKISTAN and Mujib won from East Pakistan. ONE UNIT STILL EXISTED IN MARCH of 1970 when these two guys won the elections. It was dissolved by Yahya Khan in JULY 01, 1970. Man you need a lots of spanking.

Can you prove that? Give me link or proof. I give you the proof how much were the budgets of West and East Pakistan. Read following table:

West Pakistan (consisting of four provinces: Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and North-West Frontier Province) dominated the divided country politically and received more money from the common budget than the more populous East.

Spending on West Pakistan (in crore Rupees) Spending on East Pakistan (in crore Rupees) Amount spent on East as percentage of West

West East % of West Pakistan Buget
1950–55 1,129 524 46.4
1955–60 1,655 524 31.7
1960–65 3,355 1,404 41.8
1965–70 5,195 2,141 41.2
Total 11,334 4,593 40.5

Source: Reports of the Advisory Panels for the Fourth Five Year Plan 1970-75, Vol. I, published by the planning commission of Pakistan (Quick reference: crore = 10 to the power 7, or 10 million)

I have tried to post the table in proper format but could not succeed. The first column is Year, second, West, third is East and the last column is % of budget of West Pakistan alloted to East Pakistan.

Well you are fighting a losing battle yara. As I said, browsing few wiki pages full of anti-Pakistan vitriol will not make you educated, instead they will make you d.....

Remember the original One Unit negated the provinces and combined them in one unit.

Here is a question for you.

If One Unit truly existed, then why on earth PROVINCIAL elections were held in Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, Frontier, and E. Bengal?

And if you know that there were province based elections, then how come Mujib claiming to be a national party could not win a single seat out of E. Bengal?

This is unfair. Urdu speaking Pakistanis are best Pakistanis. Me and my brother/sistere Punjabis shoud be ashamed of our Punjabi Establishment .

Dehli was part of Punjab so was Jalhandur so both Gen Mush and Gen Zia were (are) punjabi, only non Pujabi general in Pakistan in last sixty year is Gen Mirza Islam beg and that was nature call. Can any one name benagali, Sindhi, Baluch, Hindu, or even Aga Khani general in Pakistan Army? Is their any Shia General in Pakistan Army?