Punjabi Bashing

I mean I am sick of it! Every now then people express their anger at Punjabis- calling them dugga or whatever and blaming us for Punjabigardi etc. Despite being the bread basket and Sipahi for Pakistan at the same time, all we get from non-Punjabis is gaali, gussa and gandagi. Sindhis think we steal water from them, Balochis think we are stealing gas from them, Mahajirs blame us for dominance and killings, Pathans think we are weak and hindu like.. come, one gimme a break. Agar hum na hotay tu Pakistan na hota :mad:

Re: Punjabi Bashing

Name calling and stereotyping against Punjabis is not correct, however, one must look at the root causes of this anger. Anger does not develop in a vacuum.

Anger against Punjabis at least in my Urdu speaking People community (UP), is based on clash of cultures. The central Bharati culture vs. West region's culture. It shows up at every level for some reason.

It is the same culture clash that existed between Bengalis and UPs. That is why sadly we have 1000's of UPs living in BDeshi camps.

Nobody likes their nation/religion/race to be called names, but if you look around what you mentioned above is not limited to “Punjabis” alone.

That is the arrogance which nobody likes. Each province/city makes its own contribution towards the development of country. You should not bring it up next time.

Tum bhee Hindustani hotay agar Pakistan na hota, I am sure you know that.

I remember it was you who once identified yourself as “Punjabi, Sunni etc.”, I told you that time that was not right thing to do it. Once you indulge in ethnicity/racial “identification” you will at somepoint resort to name calling and insulting other races/ethnicities for one reason or the other.

Same bull sh!t over and over won't make any difference. We are all part of Pakistan, Punjab was not a separate state, it was part of Hindustan/Bharat too. Its not clash of cultures in Pakistan, as your US master tries to suggest for global conflicts (as clash of civilisations). Its all clash of resources.

Next time you should not refer to Urdu speaking community as UP, don't play smart here.

It is the same culture clash that existed between Bengalis and UPs. That is why sadly we have 1000's of UPs living in BDeshi camps.
What lies! It is the clash of Punjabi vs Bihari/Bengali resulting in stranded Pakistanis.

Your very statement is pretty similar to many made by my younger cousins.

The problem with this argument is : If it was Punjabi vs. Bihari+Bengali, then how come it quickly changed to anti-Bihari situation?

p.s. off course we should all be one in Pakistan. Then especially our community must respect landowner's culture of our host regions of Sindh and Punjab.

No, those living in BD camps are biharis not UPites..you live in an alternate universe where night is day and day is night, right is wrong and wrong is right, UPite is a bihari and a bihari is UPite.....

Then it means you need to learn from your younger cousins, some people just grow physically but are slow to grow mentally.

The problem with this argument is : If it was Punjabi vs. Bihari+Bengali, then how come it quickly changed to anti-Bihari situation?

Try to read your response again. When and who said it is "anti Bihari" situation?

p.s. off course we should all be one in Pakistan. Then especially our community must respect landowner's culture of our host regions of Sindh and Punjab.
Someone is shouting all over the forum about people in particular area's tribalistic nature and that they "never learn" I wonder who that is.

Kaptain Ji, you are a good khair-khuah (well meaning) person for us the Urdu People. I give you an award for that.

Pakistan's land owning class in Punjab and Sindh has worked nicely to suppress "tribal and Mullahtic" militants. You only see these tribal and Mullahtic militants where Land owner's hold is non-existent.

MQM's tribal-militant anarchy in Urban Sindh is a good example.

By keeping the tribalistic people we will have people like Bugtis, Pagaros, waderas of Sindh, chodhries of Punjab.... They do not suppress "Mullah" people but they suppress EVERYONE under them, so a big chunk of "voting" people is unable to think on their own.

Before MQM there was PPP, JI and they were no saints either.

Don't keep your focus just on Karachi, there are other cities in country too.

Karachi is a good case study to see how non-feudal, educated group of people can behave as tribal militants.

On the other hand Chaudries of Punjab, and Pagaras of Sindh may look $tupid, but they don't allow anarchy in their areas. That prize only goes to MQM.

^ How does Peshawar do? Which political party "controls" these cities:

1. Peshawar?
  2. Quetta?
  3. Lahore?
  4. Rawalpindi?

Out of these cities, (majority) population of which city faced discriminations in its own resources?

Okay.. assuming anger is justified, could you please tell me causes of this anger and bashing against Pakistan's majority?

In the immortal words of Jamshed Syed, "I luvve Punjavi caltaure"...

Nobody likes their nation/religion/race to be called names, but if you look around what you mentioned above is not limited to "Punjabis" alone.

It is more against Punjabis than any other race. It is like rest of Pakistan Vs. Punjab

That is the arrogance which nobody likes. Each province/city makes its own contribution towards the development of country. You should not bring it up next time.

I know I am just citing the sectors we make most contributions in. Food and Army would be impossible without Punjabis is what I am saying.

Tum bhee Hindustani hotay agar Pakistan na hota, I am sure you know that.

Allah ka lakh lakh shukr hai aisa na hua aur humein Hindustaniyon se azaadi mil gayee!

I remember it was you who once identified yourself as "Punjabi, Sunni etc.", I told you that time that was not right thing to do it. Once you indulge in ethnicity/racial "identification" you will at somepoint resort to name calling and insulting other races/ethnicities for one reason or the other.

Punjabi Sunni Muslim is my identity.. FYI :p

I agree mulz, it really makes me sick when i see this non stop punjabi bashing on this board. The reason i feel sick is because i never had ANYTHING against any non-punjabis and i have never come across an average punjabi who hates non punjabis and yet you see people abusing and insulting punjabis.

I can see People like kehkashan supporting a terrorist thug Altaf Hussain just because he is a Muhajir or urdu speaking( nothing against any mohajir as i consider them pakistanis first) and yet spend half their lives bashing punjabis and blaming them for EVERY problem in Pakistan. At least when i know that Sharif or Chauhdaries are corrupt and luteray, i criticise them and i would rather support an urdu speaking person like Shaukat Aziz (or Musharraf for that matter).
Just look at the other thread about MQM, when PPP came into power, they killed innocent Muhajir, when MQM got the power, they killed innocent Sindhis, Punjabis etc but still ONLY Punjabis are blamed for all the problems in Pakistan. Altaf Hussain has brainwashed lots of Urdu speaking people in Karachi and that's why we see this hatered towards punjabis and trust me an average punjabi does NOT deserve that.

I am not defending any punjabi leader or politician here, if they do anything against the interest of Pakistan, i will call them ba$tard even if they are punjabis.

bhai sahib, they get the bashing proportional to the population just like everything else :o … makes sense now?

Yeah? Baluchis can make similar claims (we supply all the gas), Karachi can say we supply major revenue (via Sindh) etc… is there any stopping of all these claims? Yes, when we stop identifying ourselves on ethnic lines and stop “quota” on everything.

:alhamd: for that, now lets focus on strengthening Pakistan rather than talking about Punjab, shall we?

You haven’t been reading anything I’ve written on gupshup have you? Just look up a mainstream Pakistani newspaper and you will see any number of articles discussing how Punjab’s domination of Pakistan’s political structure has alienated non-punjabis to the extent where they have no trust in anything Punjab does anymore. You can also read up on the history of 1971 civil war and why it happened and the system failed Bengalis (Yes, I know it was a Sindhi-Punjabi system at that time). There are so many anecdotes you can pick up and learn from, yet I don’t think its lack of historical examples that stops you from understanding the minority ethnicities apprehensions. It’s your belief that anything your ethnicity does is for the goodness of Pakistan, and what everyone else does is against Pakistan. Truth of the matter is that there is systematic bias against non-Punjabis in the Pakistani system. And that doesn’t mean, you have people in the government cursing Sindhis or Balochis, but that their opinions and views simply do not count as much as someone who is part of Punjabi-dominated establishment. There is very little tolerance in Pakistan towards the non-popular viewpoint, especially when it comes from a minority ethnicity. For instance, the fact that majority of Sindhis are vehemently against Kalabagh Dam would barely make a dent on the decision making process in Islamabad.

Mulz man Captain 1 is right...........We have enough good honest people out there who love pakistan so dont mull on these things do your part for the country and leave the rest to Allah. I would agree with Kehkeshan to a degree....Balochistan has been the victim of our negligence and negligence of Pakistan not of punjabis alone. I believe sindh and particulary NWFP are not being fair with their accusations.
kehkeshan you said ....For instance, the fact that majority of Sindhis are vehemently against Kalabagh Dam would barely make a dent on the decision making process in Islamabad.......Can you please give me some directions to sight of Kalabagh dam because i really want to see it....You didnt want it we didnt get it so whats all the fuss about.

Please people use your own judgement to make your opinion dont get on the bandwagon and beat that trumpet.

Naliqoon-

As evident from this thread, ignorrant people are on both sides.koi faidah nahi sar phutawal say.

Larai larai maaf karo -Apna Apna ghar saaf karo