Pulao Vs Biryani

Re: Pulao Vs Biryani

Biryani rocks

Biryani all the way..........

People who want to go in between pulao and biryani, should try green chillies biryani (without tomatoes etc). Thats a unique taste.

There is a very huge difference between pulao and biryani in the way they are cooked and the way they taste.

Pulao is cooked in whole spices, Biryani is less whole spices and more grounded/powdered ones.

It is not necessary for a pulao to make a stock first and then add rice in that stock. A pulao done this way is yakhni pulao or, sometimes is called, yakhni biryani. They way i make pulao is to make it salan first and then do the layers just like one would do for biryani, the end result is always a pulao.

thats because most of the people cant make a proper biryani. They just mess it up big time.

A fine biryani, which is as rare as an arabian leopard in the wold, is rich in spices and is a wonderful treat for the eyes, the olfactory receptors and the taste buds.

By the grace of Allah, I can cook finiest of the Biryani and in 3 different styles!

Properly cooked Biryani is the king of the rice dishes. There should be no doubt!

Share your recipes Mostar :)

Mostar, I am really keen to hear your recipes , please share them with us :@:

Mutton or beef 1-1/2 kg
Rice (easy cook - saila chawal) 1 kg soak in water for 5 hours

Red chilli powder 2 and half tablespoon
Halidi 1 and half tablespoon
Garam masala - ground 1 tablespoon.
Aroma masala (Grind Jaefal, jawatri, zera and sufeed illachi seeds together to make a powder 1 tablespoon)
Salt 3 teaspoons.
Ginger garlic paste 3 tablespoon
Tomato 1/2 Kg Cut into small pieces (or creamed tomatoes)

Put all these things with meat, add some water, and cook on low heat. When meat is tender. Dry up the water and keep the pot on one side and put some 30 grams plums (aaloo bukhara).

Take two onions and slice them thinly. Fry this till light brown in one cup of oil. Then take out the fried onion from the oil. Take 200 grams yougurt, some mint leaves and some bullet chillies and mix it with the fried onion.

Boil 2 and half times water of the rice in a large pot. Then put the soaked rice in the water and add 3 tablespoon salt in it. When rice are about too cook, drain out excess water.

Then put a layer of rice on the cooked meat and masala, The add a layer of the yougurt paste. Then put rest of the rice. Add oil (the one in you fried onions). Oild should be warm not hot. Sprinkle kewra water and zarda colour liquid on the biryani.

Simmer it for 20 mins.

Note: The meat and masala mix should not be cold when you put rice layers on it.

I've posted it a couple of times here. But this is really tried and tested one.

P.S. As you in the UK, you are invited on any Sat/Sun to my home to have it.

Mostar95, i tried your pulao recipe i believe, and for me it didn't turned to be good.

but i will try this biryani recipe this weekend and will let u know. Thanks :)

I am sorry but that has got entirely different and unique taste. You might have missed something.

nahi nahi koi bhi ingredients missed nahi hoe thee...aur i believe hath ki baat bhi hoti hai...i m sure thats the case...if someone gives recipe that doesn't mean taste will be the exact same.

Big difference is not only spices but way you cook it. Like mentioned Biriyani is usually chicken/meat masala layered with partially cooked rice & then baked on dam for 30-40 mins. Pilao is either when you add the rice to the yakhni or if you make some masala, add water...but your adding kacha rice to the water & cooking till complete. So it doesn't matter what you use chana/aloo/chicken - it depends on method used to make it pilao or biriyani. I love LOVE Aloo pulao or mixed veggie pulao.

ooh and i think in pulao you do not use Haldi, but in biriyani masala you do use haldi...the color difference. Also from what I know, you add a lot of hara masala to masala for biryani, but not for pulao.

Both and any other rice dish.

god, i love both so much, but then again, i love rice.

Ok I made mostar95 above biryani recipe. It came out excellent :) thank you mostar95

Can you please also share the recipe of yakhni paulao :) thanks

Ditto!