"Public schools" in Pakistan?

Re: "Public schools" in Pakistan?

^^ I was just messing Mate , Peelaa school is a derogatory term for State funded Schools in Pakistan . Don’t go any where near them :)

Obviously I never would. It's prep schools or nothing.

it will be nice if people did not put a price tag on good education – whether it is acquired from an under the trees-shade school or a hi-tech labs and comfortable classrooms bldg. cannot be seen in terms of their lack of or presence of ambiance, but should be looked at for the quality of the teachers' ability to impart education to young minds.

now a days, it is NOT a status symbol to have a higher ed degree to be employable. it is a necessity. so when someone devalues the quality of ed for young children all through their college and university yrs, the future of a whole generation is lost. there wont be any pioneers in research, no original scientific inquiry will take place, no Socratic method of inquiry will leave minds simply dulled with imported curricula for rote memorization, and nothing practical will happen for students to have experiential learning for them to take to their work fields.

studying in grade schools can be just as fine as studying according to the O or A levels or international baccalaureate degrees to become able to study abroad. the track record of students can be stellar always or some learn after they fail and then begin to do well in studies, others will need help.

various issues that are correlates of the quality of ed and its consequent impact on the performance outcomes of the student, have to be considered seriously. these factors will include their family environs, their family's socio-economic ease, example of an intelligent older sibling doing well in studies, and how the school environ helps enhance the potential for a god student to go on to high ed., for improving their minds as well as becoming suitable for competitive professions in their selected field of study.

Pakistani education will need excellent educationists that are trained in all of these: humanities, life, physical & social sciences. private or public schools, does not matter. the way it has become in Pakistan, that education is so expensive these days, it is hard to believe who can send their kids to schools in Pakistan unless they have a lot of money. something has to be changed here. quality of ed cannot be tied with how pricier it can be made for students to avail it. education is not a commodity.

of course, teachers and researchers will need to survive and make decent livelihoods. but there has to be a balance between what students can afford and how much their guardians or they themselves, can pay for the education they get.
Dushwari

LEGBREAKGOOGLY:1 I want to do something for my motherland, and teaching and securing the futures of the next generation I feel is the most noble of ways to help Pakistan. I just want to make sure its at a place worth my while.

**LGB 2: **Obviously I never would. It's prep schools or nothing.

I respect your enthusiasm and your resolve but kindly don't talk about peela schools disparagingly.

I am truly impressed with your thoughts Minerva! and how I wish there were many many like you. PEELA aur NEELA..a school is a school...where one receives education to go forth to serve his/her country in any way.

Thank you for such wonderful thought...which is far more attractive then a lot of 'casual' and time passing exchanges I observed on this thread.

Keep it up!!!

-Raju

If you really want to help your motherland - give money to the right pakistani charities. Or better open up a free school in a rural area.

Nah.

They wont employ you otherwise I would have suggested you to join one of those Citzen Foundation Schools.

I studied at following peela schools! The teachers there were all superb.

Super KG/Primary School
Government Ataturk Lower Secondary School
Ibrahim Ali Bhai Government School.

Yes indeed.

I think Aitchson, Burn hall and Cadet college Hasan abdaal are the main !

if I had such an opportunity I would teach at Lawrence College!

not cuz I've been a student there but cuz of the location; Murree Hills.

Does Lawrence College have a prospectus. There site doesnt offer one for d/l like Aitchisons.

On UK curricilum or Pakistani set up?

My school had a Pakistani setup but our syllabus was more or less the same as the one used by the cambridge system.
Anyways, my university offers University of London External Programme in Law and also in Development Studies. The entire curriculum, course outlines, teaching guidelines to marking of papers is done by LSE. All we do is act as facilitators or lets say provide tutions in Pakistan at the University level to students.
Since you are too hung up on teaching at a school/s offerring/imparting British style education, I 'think' that will be of interest to you as wll.

^^ but what about poor kids like me :) can we afford yr skool minvera ?

No. Its too exclusive for the likes of you.

:p

Really wanna do something for your motherland buddy?? I organise workshops(including academic & recreational activities) for working children in the north of pakistan...join me sometimes! That'll really give u a sense of accomplishment! Want to earn money, stay where you are!

It is possible to earn $ and help Pakistan you know.

^^ atleast thats wht Musharraf & Co doin at the mo .