PTV Prime and me

I am just watching PTV Prime via a link from a Pakistani website. And I’m so surprised by its content. Who’s the idiot behind PTV Prime who thinks he can compensate for meaningful programming by breaking into a song every five minutes.

I mean it’s so painful to watch Shehzad Roy rip off Keanu Reaves, both of whom deserve to be banned from any form of public entertaining. But that’s not all. After enduring the sight of one no-hoper plagiarizing another no-hoper, I am consuming all my intellectual resources and still struggling to identify who the leading lady in the “teri soorat” video, Shehzad Roy or the girl who dies?

I think it is very good that PTV Prime realizes that in order to connect with the younger generation, they can’t dole out dull videos of Noor Jehan and Mehdi Hassan torturing their own throats and the viewers with their facial expressions. But at the same time, a song before and after every scheduled program is too much especially if the actual program also happens to be a music show.

Where are the dramas? Where are the talk shows? The whole deal seems to be a bunch of amateurs deciding to throw together a couple of stupid themed videos and some stupid female hosts who can’t speak English but will try and try until the listener dies from the stress. This leads me to another thing that I wanted to whine about. Why do they have to speak English at all? They speak more English than Urdu. This Iram person sucks at hosting the show. Get her off and away into the little dark room and do not let her our until she promises to stop over acting.

I can go on as you can probably imagine. The only way PTV Prime can salvage its audience is by turning over all creative, managerial and directoral control to me.

Dang I was just going to end my rant but the program that just started is so pissing me off. The show is “Your choice”. Why the hell are there stupid kids running around the stupid set on the stupid show? Are they the directors’ kids or the producers’?

OHHH NOOO!

They started to play Teri Soorat by Shehzad Roy AGAIN. I’m going nuts. Shehzad bhai please spare us the pain, the Matrix, the Romeo and Juliet, and the stupid car race. Does Shehzad Roy have any facial hair at the ripe age of 35? I doubt it. Abhi bhi chiknay hain?

And yeah, one more thing why does the villain in all Pakistani videos have to have a moustache? I find that so offensive and discriminatory. I pride myself on my moustache and believe that it is a very good indicator of a man’s whatever. As they say “Much nahee tay kuch nahee”.

With a deep breath and some regret, I think I’m cancelling my plan to get Prime TV. If the Prime folks want to contact me, they can PM me and I will gladly take Prime off their miserable and pitiful hands.

ROTFL!!

Dude, i’ve written to them so many times about much of what you’re saying.

Actually, I have the channel - and I’m tired of all the dramas - they have like one drama every night, plus another drama they’re running on both wed night and thurs night , right after the news, preceeded by the daily drama.

Plus, they like repeat every thing 3 times - once in the morning, once at night, and once in the middle of the night. Its so pathetic.

I agree about Irum Hassan - I even wrote to her telling her to shutup, but she STILL DOESN’T. She’s totally immature - i dont know where those kids came from either - probably the direcor’s.

And I agree - they fill in the space between shows with pop videos. The problem is that there are so few pop videos made that each video is played like 20 times in a week.

And the film songs are not worth showing, with very few exceptions.

Definitely, the only good thing about the channel is the dramas are mostly good, and I get to see the latest music videos - which I dont see on any other channel , and the local desi show doesn’t do a good job with pakistani entertainment.

I’m probably going to cancel pretty soon. I hope Indus and ARY speed up their plans to expand to the USA soon, because I can’t stand Prime anymore.

And my father is paying them too! Hmph, idiots.

But I like shehzad roy, esp his teri soorat video - and what does he have in common with keanu reeves?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

And Prime does have talk shows - but they’re politically oriented. And even then, they’re censored (naturally).

I agree with both of you. They all have to GO!...Prime TV from repeating programs, Shahzad Roy from acting and Irum Hassan from being Irum Hassan.

As this sounds like a vent your Prime TV / Irum Hassan frustration thread therefore I'm gonna say a few words too. This girl is UN-bardasht-able and I mean un-friggin-bardashtable Period! I was watching this drama the other day, Miss Fit (I guess) and this girl was in it with three other cartoons. These girls had nothing to offer as far as dialogue delivery, acting or even dressing up is concerned - they looked like total misfits for sure. I watched the drama with these words echoing in the back of my mind 'its-ok-boss, its ok'. I thought it was just me but then reading this thread here it makes me feel that I'm not alone...These actors can not get away with their stupidity and not get noticed.

Even though I get PTV for free (shhh don’t tell anyone) I still have a problem with the quality of programs that I am watching. The only thing positive I have to say about it is that it reminds me of Pakistan and helps me keep up with ‘khabaraiN’ (which I think I have memorized by now – it’s the same thing every day) I wanna say a few good words about dramas and those 20 songs which repeat all day long but will do it some other time.

[This message has been edited by BoSS (edited July 21, 2002).]

About Shehzad Roy, I would like to reiterate that I hate this "thing" with a passion. I have vowed to do two things if I ever meet him/her in this particular order:

1) First I am going to accidentally call him Shehzad Baji. (Don't ask me why)
2) After apologizing for the first, I will invite him for a cup of coffee at my place. And after the sucker takes me up on the offer, only one of us will ever come out of my place. A fight till the end!

I as a normal heterosexual male have very severe problems with "Shehzad Roy" taking on a male name and claiming to be of my gender group. About the similarities between the untalented and non-dynamic duo of Mr. Roy and Mr. Reeves, there is a scene in the teri soorat video where he shoots at the villain (even though the villain was more man than him) while throwing himself to his left pure Matrix style. There were some other rip offs too.

About Iram Hassan, since the video quality was so poor I was not able to see her face clearly. All I heard from someone was Iram and not Hassan. I'm surprised because she has done some good work in Punjabi plays a long time ago and I rated her as a decent actress. But then again she wasn't being asked to speak in English in the plays. Man, she's got to be a million years old by now.

I think we have only ourselves to blame for this decline in programming. I mean I see people not only watching but enjoying all sorts of stupid low quality shows. The television folks are not being told that they need to change. For example that drama "Family something" was horrible. I saw the first couple of episodes and then stopped. But I saw a lot of people actually praising it. Maybe it got better, I don't know. But to think that this drama came out of the same tv station that gave us Ankahi is unimaginable. I think it is because we have stopped demanding excellence that we are getting poor television.

Either way, since I have cursed Shehzad Roy enough I think I might get Prime if they make it easier for us Canucks to get it.

That reminds me, Boss you're in Canada right? How do you get PTV? And free at that?

oh man......
i was gonna start a thread on
Irum hassan's acting alone. Over acting i mean.
It is so pathetic......
and it was so funny the way u described about how they keep on trying to speak english.

It would be a splended idea to broadcast the original PTV in place of this prime thing... The original one rocks!!!

This combination in Pakistan rulez...

PTV (the real deal), ARY Digital, IM, Indus Vision!!! Nothing can beat this line up!!!

Calm down y'all and take a deep breath, especially you sambrailian.

I admit, Irrrram is annoying and definitely does over act and has the audacity to say Los Angeles, Canada (yeah! :-/ ), she's not the only thing on Prime. It's a baby channel, please give it some break and cut them some slack. I am sure over time they will try to improve the timings of their shows and not have to show songs between intervals. I for one, like most of the dramas, and the other little shows here and there. There's a lack of good comedy but bombard them with letters and they will hopefully look into it. Remember, it's like any other channel, you will not like every show that is aired, but someone else will. They have to keep a balance with what the young generation wants and what the oldies want. I say keep it, some entertainment is better than no entertainment.

sehar…I agree completly.

Jaan LeY Hi JaUn ViChoRay

baby Channel.
Mind you this is a branch of the original PTV being aired in Pakistan but doesnt even half of the programming shown in Pakistan!

The channel has been on air for a while now and still havent gotten their act together. Seriously the only thing I enjoy on the channel right now is the old programs like Janjaal Puraa.

I would much rather pay 20 dollars a month for old programs than crap like PRIME POST and that Stupid Erum Hassan thing!

Its just pathetic. I mean why speak english if you just cant.Speak Urdu, patah nahi logo ko kya complex hay English bolnay kaa.

Miss Tildas…the protest is legitimate..How can I watch 'Farah’s

hot line’ even if it is a repeat for the third time but skip ‘Your/our choice’… beats me totally :-p

That reminds me, Boss you’re in Canada right? How do you get PTV? And free at that
Sam..u’ve got a PM

Sehar, I was used to watching the real PTV and when I came here, I saw Prime, trust me, it sux big time... We can do alot better than that, and the PTV in Pakistan proves that. I mean what the hell do they air...

Shahzada Faisal!!! What an idiot!

Originally posted by BoSS:
Sam..u've got a PM

Thank you sir the reply has been fired back right at you.

So, nobody else hates Shehzad Roy? I feel so lonely and cold. Shehzada Faisal now there's a hunk.

Spock, you’re always praising the real ptv.

Please, if you can, here or on PM, describe what PTV programming is like and differentiate it from Prime’s programming.

One positive thing about the channel is the dramas. I’m satisfied with all the dramas they’re showing (not incl comedy dramas).

And I’ve gotta disagree with Sehar here. Indusvision came out with an amazing line-up the minute it was born. It didn’t even take them any time to get a stable viewership going. Everyone that came back from Pakistan that year it first opened was singing praises for the channel - “oh wow, finally pakistan is moving ahead in TV” was all I heard.

Prime has been up and going for a WHILE now. Furthermore, they ought to have employed creative people from the beginning. I’m getting the feeling there is some favoritism going on at Prime. My gut feeling - I may be wrong.

And there is NO reason, other than lack of professionalism, to be showing each show like THREE times in a 24 to 48 hour period!

No excuse for this nonsense at all. I’m still keeping it for the time being, since I’m patriotic and all, but in the end, I could do much more with 15 bucks a month.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/ahaa.gif

I say we guppies attack and invade Prime TV - we’ll kick them out of the studios and do some REAL programming!

[This message has been edited by PyariCgudia (edited July 22, 2002).]

Boss

you shouldn’t even complain. Ek to free meiN Farah ko daikhtay ho, aur opar se itnay sare shikway? :stuck_out_tongue:

Sambrailian: I think you are just jaylus of Mr Roy’s hairless and the ever young face. Even when he’s 60, he’ll look like he’s 15.

PyariC : Indusvision is available in the US? Because i haven’t heard of it and do to the lack of any other Pakistani entertainment channel, I’d rather have Prime than not have it.

They also have to deal with one of the strictest censorship boards in the world… They do the best with what they have. I commend them for having shows like Prime Post (boring as it is), because it shows they understand who really calls the shots, we the viewers.. I dont know too many other stations that are willing to read out suggestions ad comments on the air. I think they need to be gven more time.. Ptv like everything else in Pakistan needs time to mature.
BTW… The worst show the have right now, is Farahs hotline…
Farahs cute, but she sure as hell cant host..

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

Originally posted by ~Sehar~:
*Sambrailian: I think you are just jaylus of Mr Roy's hairless and the ever young face. Even when he's 60, he'll look like he's 15.

Astaghfarullah! Funny what a little bit of healthy criticism can be construed as in this day.

Long live Shehzada (Smoothy) Roy!

I like Shehzad Roy…he’s sho cute.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

(for S. Roy only)

yuck!

Look here guys, I don't have any probs with
PrimeTV. I mean I live in the US and this is the first time they've started a Pakistani channel, makes me feel close to Pakistan.

Now as far as the lackluster programmes are conserened, some thing that you don't like, might be superb for someone else. Someone said, they have a problem with drama aired every night. While I believe that this is the best thing on the the whole prime tv.
Drama it self aren't bad. Heck, nothing beats Pakistani dramas. Moqaam, Landa Bazaar, Thori Kushi Thora Ghum are my current favs. Sawan was the best drama aired to prime tv since it's launch in the US.

All you guys ever mention is negative aspects but did you also know ARY digital is launching their channel in the US very soon because of the success of PrimeTV.