PTV Drama Pyaas

Does anybody remember this great drama by Asghar Nadeem Syed ? It starred arifa siddiqui, abid ali , shakeela qureishi, sohail asghar and others. I happened to watch it on you tube recently.No doubt it was an excellent production by all standards. The ending kind of left me thinking. I think the writer wanted to convey the message that children who’re disobedient to their parents always suffer in life. Although, there are a lot of other moral lessons in this play.

Her fleeing from home created a mess of everybody’s life and her father didn’t help things by being stubborn and rigid. Both of them didn’t gain anything at the end.

Here’s the last scene:

Arifa returns home. She’s sitting in her courtyard all alone and she hears a voice over saying “parda bibiyon parda” . Her eyes well up with tears. what was the message the writer was trying to convey?

Re: PTV Drama Pyaas

Lilly, is this the play where this guy who was son of Molvi sahab used to give Arifa Siddiqui private tuition and when she ran away, he got the blame

yes that's the one! azmi acted as the teacher. you can watch it on youtube.

watched it recently, it was soooooo depressing, from beginning to end. but azm-ul-haq was awesome!

Azm ul Haq was one good looking guy

I thought azmi was just ok. however, arifa siddiqui was outstanding followed by abid ali, shakeela qureishi, sohail asghar , gharich kardoonga wala baba, the elderly fellow who wanted to re-marry and the old faqeer were spellbounding. the dialogues by asghra nadeem syed and the screenplay, is a textbook for scriptwriters.

I didn't find the drama depressing because you had characters like sarangi wala master, maasi, shakeela qureishi and sohail asghra who added so much humor.even in the most tense of scenes the overall mood would not turn into morosity. it always swung between thrill and suspense and comedy .even if you got anxious, you would get relief with perfetcly timed light hearted bantering between characters. take for example abid ali asks the inspector go and get me my daughter as he plans to kill her. the inspoector says but you never told me you knew her whereabouts and abid ali retorts "kahi koi kaam mukhbari ke baghair bhi kar liya karo". need I say more how much importance humor plays in dramas.

note how the dialogue "wakhri type kay bandey hain"is used in the scenes. sohail asghar said it a number of times but every time he uttered , it sounded funny. kudos to the actor for his perfect timming.

It was one of the greatest dramas ever on PTV. Outstanding performance by Arifa, Abid Ali and by others. But it was very sad. I feel sad for 3 to 4 days after i finish the drama.

by reading the comments, I am remembering the drama more and more .. Sohail Asghar was the brother of Shakeela who was the second wife of Abid Ali, right lilly?

^ Shakeela Qureishi played Abid Ali's second wife. She came from a notorious profession before marrying him. Though it's not told in the drama but the way she acts and and behaves reflected her background.

Sohail Asghar played her brother who has a pet bird "dholan". His dialogues specially "hum bande hain wakhri type ke" and "sadqe theevan" became quite popular. He lives off his sister's money.

Must add, Shakeela Qureishi acted very well.She was supposed to play a negative character, though it wasn't outrightly evil. But the mannerisms she adapted made her very enjoyable to watch. I think her comic timing was at par with sohail asghar. Some of the most hillarious scene are between her and Sohail.

What was the end? Did Azmul haq came to arifa or she divorced or she waits whole life for some body?

Is that the Drama when Abid Ali ordered to dig the grave of Arifa Siddiqui as he wanted her to be killed on that name of Ghairat .. or am I thinking of Waris here

the end was unclear, sort of left it hanging. arifa was back at home with her delusional mother (who went crazy after the arifa runs off) no mention of azmulhaq.

yep he does that, preparing to kill her after he plans to trick her into coming home but instead kills himself, in the name of "ghairat" i believe, after his second wife runs off with his land and money back to her shady business. basically he brought on more shame to his 'khandani izzat' than his daughter, who ran away only beacuse she didn't want to get married to her mentally challenged cousin.

Abid ali kills himself because arifa goes for court marriage with azmi .it comes in the newsppaers causing alot of badnaami to the khandaan ke larki nay bhaag ke shaadi karli. abid ali couldn't take that humiliation so he shoots himself.

arifa had a right to choose her own spouse but she also took the wrong way out of her problem. she shouldn't have married azmi because that step cost her a lot. she wasn't even interestd in him. although her father was very selfish and stubborn but she did cause him and her mother a lot of humiliation. she could have atleast let her mother know what she was upto.

^ nah abid ali's character is not that simplistic, he does not deem her that important. to him killing girls in the name of ghairat is enough to salvage the family honour and that was his plan till his daughter outwits him by seeking legal protection in the form of nikah, not because she wanted to 'choose' her own spouse but because she rightfully feared for her life.

he eventually fell victim to his own ego and twisted set of principals regarding khandani izzat when he saw himself as the source of bringing badnami and baizzati to the family name when his second wife runs away from home with his land and money, back to her sinning ways. shooting himself was the self-prescribed punishment for himself, no less for a man of his ego.

anyways, like any good drama the ending is open to many interpretations. its all relative.

^ yup it was quite open-ended.

Arifa did not want azmi as her spouse. She just took the decision to protect herself.

I don't think abid ali killed himself because his second wife ran away. He had made his decision before he got to know of her fleeing away.

I am agreat fan of classic ptv dramas.Best i liked was pyas by asghar nadeem sayeen sayeed.I wish somebody writes me about it.

I am remembering it now ,I think it was a nice drama. I have to watch it again

It was a very good drama and I remember many girls used to watch this for Azm ul Haq and many guys for Arifa siddiqui :)

Thank you lillyy2k for showing the last scene.It is a great job by the writer & director to allow us to think ourselves what the ending should be.I think this is the greatedt drama from sub continent,