PTI's pathetic stand on terrorism

when will PTI learn the lesson and Imran will stop his stupid and idiotic rhetoric on terrorism?

when will PTI govt will start condemning taliban by taking names?

when will PTI govt officals and ministers start going to venues of bomb blasts? disgusting that they dont even show up

when will they stop appeasing taliban and making offers for friendship?

Time for action - DAWN.COM

[Time for action](http://www.dawn.com/news/1035555/time-for-action) 					[Zahid Hussain](http://www.dawn.com/authors/966/zahid-hussain)

Published  2013-08-13 07:07:08					

A MACABRE dance of death continues to grip the country. There  is little hope that it will be stopped. Deaths have become mere  statistics while the country is being turned into a killing field. 

The killing of some 30 policemen in Quetta in a suicide bombing during a funeral and the death of 11 young boys in a terrorist attack at a football stadium in Karachi were perhaps the two most gruesome incidents highlighting the latest bloody wave of violence. Not a single day passes without terrorist strikes taking their toll.

From the storming of the D.I. Khan jail to the brutal slaughter of foreign mountaineers in the remote northern areas, the incidents illustrate the growing stridency of the militants and collapsing state authority. Even the country’s capital has virtually been under siege with the looming threat of a major terrorist attack. This is perhaps one of the most dangerous points in the country’s history. An implosion is waiting to happen, threatening the unity of the country.

Yet there seems to be no realisation on the part of our political leadership of the gravity of the situation. There are mere words of condemnation; there is no action. While the country has been drenched in blood the prime minister was away on a weeklong private trip to Saudi Arabia. There seems to be no urgency in dealing with the scourge threatening national security.

Confusion and dithering have gravely affected the nation’s response to this daunting challenge. The policy disarray in various state institutions has become more pronounced with the latest surge in terrorist violence. The prevailing inertia in the government and widening differences among the political parties ruling different provinces have resulted in complete policy paralysis, providing the militants the space and environment to operate more freely.

The audacious raid on the D.I. Khan jail and the escalation in targeted killings of policemen in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to a large extent are the result of the unwillingness of the new provincial government to take on the militants. **The soft-pedalling of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) government has led security agencies to lower their guard thus giving new impetus to militancy in the province. **

Despite the intelligence report about the impending jail raid, the administration failed to take appropriate measures to prevent the attack. A demoralised and ill-equipped police and other civilian security agencies could hardly match the heavily armed and well-trained raiders.

Most appalling, however, is the callous attitude of the political leadership towards the victims of terrorism and the security personnel killed fighting the militants. The funeral of the policemen — many of them senior officers — killed in Quetta last week took place without any senior member of the provincial or central government attending it.

Perhaps, it is far worse in KP where dozens of policemen have been killed in targeted attacks by the militants over the past two months since the installation of the PTI-led government.

**Unlike in the past during the Awami National Party government, let alone attending the funeral of policemen who have been killed, no minister even visits the venue of a terrorist attack. **Since the outbreak of militant violence in the province, the police despite their few resources and lack of counterterrorism training have fought valiantly. They have been on the frontline in the battle against the Taliban in the province. Many high-ranking police officers are among those who have fallen victim to targeted killings.
**But the morale of the KP police has now hit a new low under the PTI-Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) administration. Instead of strengthening the capacity of the police force, the ministers spout the mantra of ‘peace negotiations with the Taliban’ after each terrorist attack. KP Chief Minister Pervez Khattak is not even willing to call the Taliban (who themselves have claimed responsibility for most terrorist attacks), an enemy. **

How can one expect the police to defend the post when the administration appears so eager to make peace with the militants? Can one blame the prison guards and the policemen for not offering any resistance to the D.I. Khan jail attackers and for fleeing the scene and taking off their uniform? The present PTI-JI government seems to be reminiscent of the Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal rule that allowed the Taliban to expand their influence in the province.

What is most pitiable is that we don’t even honour and acknowledge the sacrifices of the officers and soldiers killed in the battlefield or in terrorist attacks. More than 4,000 soldiers including nine general officers have so far been killed battling the insurgents. But hardly ever have the country’s top political leaders bothered to condole with the families of those killed, let alone visited the battle zones.

It is left to the military to honour their martyrs. The annual Martyrs’ Day observed by the military is never attended by the top political leadership. At the ceremony, the table for the families of those killed becomes longer each year. How would they be feeling about the rants of some leading political figures that ‘it is not our war’? Certainly such a flawed narrative will not boost the morale of the young officers fighting the enemy in the treacherous tribal regions. If it is not our war then what are they fighting for?
With the spreading of militant violence the last thing Pakistan can afford at this point is to continue engaging in this inane debate of ‘whose war is it’. This becomes even more ridiculous as Pakistan’s own unity and integrity is under threat. The latest surge in terrorist attacks across the country should serve an eye-opener to political leaders still confused about the enemy. There is no time to lose as the country is fast sliding into chaos. The government must act before it is too late.

The writer is an author and journalist.
[email protected]
Twitter: @hidhussain

Re: PTI's pathetic stand on terrorism

I agree that there are many short comings of PTI. They have failed to visit bombed sites, injured/martyred policemen/public. But PTI alone won't be able to do much without help of Punjab and Federal governments. PTI, PML-N have to realize that even if they have to "negotiate" with Taliban they must first show power against TTP. Without showing power mere talk of "negotiations" will only tell TTP that PTI/PML-N are currently wetting their pants, if and when they stop wetting their pants then they might take any action. But then it might be too late and we will see war-lordism in Pakistan a la Afghanistan.

All 3 parties: PTI, Punjab and Fed govts need to launch manhunt of TTP leadership, arrest few and prosecute them. Only then govt will have power to put their terms on the table, until then its all TTP.

i agree....punjab is equally culprit..only yesterday TTP issued warning letters to Punjab govt to stop issuing death penalties to TTP culprits and i didnt see any response from shahbaz....as always he will start begging them. shahbaz sharif and snana ullah are biggest culprits for being soft on TTP.

I just dont know who will stand up against these animals...PTI is more disappointing as PTI is sort of our last hope on many issues including terrorism....and i am afraid that PTI is proving out to be a total disaster on terrorism issue...not only from practical standpoint but also from strategic policy standpoint. Imran khan is standing on the wrong side of the history on this issue and he has no freakin idea.

^ I didn't believe PTI to be last hope in terrorism context, but only in context of overall governance of country.

Sadly, your own comments are laced with the same bias as that of the author of this article. PTIs stance on terrorism is quite straightforward. It needs to be dealt with. A policy has to be put into place, which has to come from a federal perspective. A province cannot make its own segregated policy, as terrorism is a national issue. However, when Nawaz Sharif, the PM of Punjab and Baluchistan, makes a call on Baluchistan, and authorizes them to negotiate with BLA terrorists from a national perspective, while ignoring the clearly more delicate issue of KPK, such disparities will arise. I guess it makes sense for Nawaz Sharif to negotiate with BLA, as BLA is clearly India funded, and NS has a stake in that match up.

And its also funny how we criticize all instances of condemnation, funeral visits, etc by govt officials as eyewash (which they clearly are). And when PTI does not participate in such show-and-tell dramas, they are criticized for it.
It doesnt make sense to turn a funeral into a media circus by rushing 10 MNAs and MPAs and CMs and PMs, effectively diminutizing the sensitivity of the occasion. The politician gets a few good photo-ops, and thats about it. It doesnt help the deceased or his family in any way. A better way to serve is to take practical steps to avoid such instances in the future.

As for PTI's performance on the law and order front, we dont mind giving the federal govt more time, as ' they have been here for just 2 months', but when it comes to KPK, we expect results yesterday, even though most of what needs to be done in KPK is dependent on federal cooperation. Yes, there are lapses and there are problems, and a lot needs to be fixed. But terrorism has always been highlighted as the most important problem plaguing the nation.......and that includes all terrorist outfits...TTP, LEJ, JUD, ASWJ etc. Again, focusing on what terrorist outfit is named or not named is merely semantics, and a way to score points for politicians.

Finally, we have some semblance of a security policy coming out from the fed. We need to approve it fast, and act on it fast. This is something that should have been done on day 1 of power.

Re: PTI’s pathetic stand on terrorism

Here’s Ayaz Amir with an eye opener

http://beta.jang.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=119271

Nobody asking for 10MNAs/MPAs, atleast the local MPA/MNA should be there from the government, otherwise the message people will get is "government doesn't even care". They should visit the site and push the LEAs to investigate the incidence etc.

I agree no one from kpk government is visiting the blast sites or victims, heck they are not even condemning the attacks which is denting the image of the party.

Khan is not pathan but sure is latefoon wala khan.

Waisay aap key andhi aqeedat ko 7 + 7 = 14 topoon key sallami :salute: main nay socha tha August main koi political post nahin karoon ga leekan :hinna: … ganjay to hain he showbaz aur maan lain kah yah bhi unn he jaisa hay :slight_smile:

aab yah neechay jo circus aur photo session hoye thay unn kay baray main kia khiyaal hay? baghlain jhanknay aur aaien baain shaain karnay kay bajay jawab dain kah yahan IK was wrong or right ? Election say pahlay votes kay liye dewana waar har jagah gia aur aab PM nahin ban saka to apnay logoon ka haal pocchna bhi choor dia, so sad :nahi: …iss k liye to tou chullu bhar paani bhi kaafi hona chahiye …

Apnay devata key har buri cheez ko achi cheez banana tou koi aap say seekhay :sadaf:

http://insaf.pk/Portals/0/UserUploads/Arsalan/Punjab/08-09-2011%20naeem.gif

tou iss waqat KPK main koi mutasira khandaan nahin hay Ya phir aap ka kaam ho chuka hay KHAN SAHIB :sannan:

PS : sorry to followers of IK leekan yah khula tazaad naheen hay kia :emmy:

I see this news in different context. PTI has many seats in KP and it has established its party there. But in Sindh, it has no representation. This is a good chance to come to interior Sindh and change the minds of people there that PTI is not only KP or Punjab party. If IK really does work in interior Sindh, people might think of another party other than PPP.

Actually it was before election and after election he is :aj: or :sleep2:

I am a PTI voter.....but they have always claimed they got think tanks on every issue and that they have developed policy papers and plans and whatnot..........

is there any ''security'' policy document by PTI?? Have they ever made any comprehensive , thought out, document on this subject??

Over to Silaaj :slight_smile:

Abhi aap key tabiat saaf key jay gi :cobra:

as far as security policy is concerned, both PMLN and PTI gave an impression that they are absolutely clear in their head about this issue and they knew what to do once they came to power. but reality is that, they both didn’t know real situation sitting outside, it was just speculation, information coming from news and “analysts”, just like we all had. may be a little more insiders info, but that’s about it. when they came to power and got their hands on official documents and records, felt the burden of other issues on their shoulders, then it dawned upon them that all was not as simple as they thought.

talking about PTI in KP and PMLN in center, though PMLN still had more knowledge as they were ruling Punjab already, that’s another story that they were mostly fed wrong info from center because of their rivalry with PPP. still I expect PMLN to come up with a more saner plan and enforce it, PTI is a learner and needs to catch up really fast, no chances of failing or complaining about weather not favorable and umpire taking sides.

Posting in PA don't mean you can talk out of your $@#@@
Why do you want stand ?? you want to iron cloths or some thing?

Ik is not in the business of making stands. Too bad.

He said "if we come in power(in THE WHOLE COUNTRY) we will control this issue"
Before you people go whining again, let me tell you.
When you come in power, you have intelligence, army working for you.
You can talk to other countries as LEADER OF THE country.
Stuff like that.

THAT DID NOT HAPPEN!!!!! you need stand go shop at the mall.
PTI was there to deliver, only lame thing they have done so far was not being able to secure their votes on 12may.

Thats about it. I know people need to talk... about things.. but its good if you have your feet on the ground when you talk...

^ And what stopped them from attending the funerals of slain police to show solidarity with the victims' families? Or is that also a privilege reserved for the Prime Minister? They're all incompetent, Imran Khan included.

Hire a baby sitter.

OmG!!

Mind telling me how exactly PTI pathetic stance is different from PMLN? A day ago, the interior minister said we are ready for both "peace and war". Now how exactly is that stance different from what Imran has been saying?

Actually that is what PLM-N does, only visit “affected” type areas to talk to people about their issues to show concern and then after elections never visit those places again otherwise people may ask for solution to their problems. Every one who is affected by a crisis needs a shoulder, a helping hand, a listener, so if PTI is present in Sindh flooded areas it is okay. But they must also visit KPK bombings/killings sites as well.