PTI Quetta Jalsa, another challenge

Re: PTI Quetta Jalsa, another challenge

Agreed. Bengalis should have ruled Pakistan and always they would have ruled because of their majority. But the biggest responsibilty lie with the then dictator who had just played and thought military action in former east pakistan was the only solution to the problem. This resulted in breakup of Pakistan, humiliation of 95000 army soldiers who surrendered arms before General Jaggeet Arora. Read the history before you jump on this volatile issue and open a separate thread. Don't derail this thread with this nonsense.

Sachaydino, I personally have found you to be one of the very few sane voices from PPP supporters. There is one thing that the responsibility of Dhaka debacle lies with both military and civilian leadership of the then united Pakistan. We can't hold military responsible for it solely.

True enough. :k: If there is one province that can be developed most rapidly (due to more lower population), it’s Balochistan. And it’s not like their demands are that high. Just give them basics of everything, and they’ll get along fine. Of course, for that to happen you need to get the sardars out of the picture somehow. Easier said than done, but you’ve got to start somewhere.

When was the last time we saw a player from Balochistan in the national cricket team?! :bummer: My point and reason for giving this very minor example is that they have been out of the national loop for many a years now. The first order of business is to stop apologizing every time a new government comes along, and instead of that, doing some good work for the populace.

I have gone through this tragedy before my eyes. My close relatives were in Chittagong when this tragedy occured. What happened then I don't want to repeat here. Read the history. Military was solely responsible because President had absolute power, was a general. He had full authority to hand over power to Shaikh Mujib. But he did not do so as he was reluctant to hand over power to Bengalis knowing that once they were given powers, West Pakistan would never ever get the leadership which was snatched away from Bengalis since partition. You can not convince me with the selective or prejudice feed back you got. People who blamed Bhutto were the same who made Alshams and Albadar who committed genocide of key professors and students in Dhaka University. Again open another thread and I will tell you what actually happened in former East Paistan where my close relatives faced directly this tragedy. (My uncle who survived this tragedy later became one of the top business man in Bengladesh. He saved many west pakistanis(mostly Punjabis) and Bengalis form potential genocide from both sides Bengalis and military)

By the way there was no civilian leadership sharing the power in military government of General Agha Mohammad Yahya Khan as in past history like regime of retired General Field Marshal Ayub Khan. Who created fraud 'Basic Democracy' concept later the same concept was followed by Amirul Mominin General Mohammad Zia-ul-Haq and General Pervez Musharraf.

I don’t know maybe because of March 23 (Pakistan day).

Perhaps you have never read about Bhashani's movement
Jalo Jalo aagan Jalo
which forced Ayoub to quit
It was too late to solve normally unless Yahya quit
But yahya was not ready for that
He left when every thing gone .

So what? It is a perfect day for the jalsa in Baluchistan. But IK new that it is very difficult to impossible to convince Baluchis under present circumtances.

Why were people like tikka admitted and even went to jail for bhutta? All major parties, except PPP, were willing to talk to AL. I don't like either bhutta or mujeeb, but what bhutta in cahoots with the military generals did was to completely sideline any pro-Pakistan voices in former East Pakistan that could've countered the Agartala Conspiracy.

Sachay, I share the pain of that tragedy with you. My own khaala, maamoo had been residing in Chittagong (I think somewhere near Surma House) if I remeber correctly, and I had relatives living in Dhaka back then as well, so I know thru them what had happen. I did not say armed forces were not responsible, they were but that doesn't mean civilian leadership can be considered "Bari-uz-Zaman" with that responsibility. You know and I know how the politics work in Pakistan. It is very common to to make one scape goat and let the other unquestioned. The East Pakistan crisis started during the Ayub tenure, but, it was Bhutto who opposed going to talk to Mujeeb, remember his words he'll break legs if anyone decides to go to East Pakistan, now you would say that is also a propaganda.

Varsa Bose (Indian Bengali Author) has mentioned in her book "The Dead Awakening" proving all the magnitude of massacre in Dhaka Univ. and other places as false. She has interviewed a substantial number of people both in India and Bangladesh who are still alive and are witness to the great tragedy. There were killings but not of the magnitude that propagated by other media or Bangladeshis. According to her estimates based on her research the total casualty in '71 war cannot be more than 70 to 80 thousands and here people claim in millions. Her book was banned in India when it came out, I don't if its now available in Indian market.

Yes, I do agree that military was in power back then, but again their policies/handling of the whole situation was based upon what feedback they were getting from likes of Bhutto who had his eyes to capture the top slot and he did extremely well taking advantage of the crisis. The easiest thing is to blame everything on one factor to rid yourself from any accountability. Hamood-ur-Rehman commission report had recommended punishing military officers as well as civilian for the tragedy. Why was the report hidden/destroyed by PPP of Bhutto? I wish all the culprits of Dhaka debacle are tried for treason someday indiscriminately.

Why are you deploying logic with jiyalas? :D

No logic is required to learn from history .
History of thousands year .
No need to say more but now it is time for change .
Come out of our historical conspiracy mentality .
Har Aaqa kay talway chatnay ki rawait kabhi to khatm ho .
Taqat kay samnay sar jhukanay aur charhtay sooraj ki pooja kabhi to khatm ho .
Liaqat , Sohrwardi Bugti aur Bhutto kay Qatlon aur un kay puppets ki hamait
No more

We will see if the jalsa goes ahead or not, the new date 20 April is not that far away.

Military janta was not mentally retarded that they would take any stupid advise from Bhutto or other politicians. It had full powers to deal with that volatile matter very sincerely. They should have vision what would be the repurcussions of military action. Therefore they were 100% percent responsible for this tragedy. Moderator has opened another thread on the the above topic (though a number of threads have been opened on the same subject in past and discussed thoroughly) and I have responded in detail what you are saying. Read and if you are still not convince then I am sorry no one can convince you the selective understanigs of events.

It is a long journey to Quetta .
Pasha is not there .
How to reach ?

Pray that he does not reach there.

No need

OK we will see only 2 weeks to go! I'd prefer him to have one jalsa in interior Balochistan as well, but doesn't seem probable at present.

would be a tough jalsa indeed, i agree…this article is from dec 2011.

Balochistan – a tough pitch for PTI? | | DAWN.COM

So, the “PTI revolution” is heading toward Balochistan. What is the pitch in Quetta going to look like on March 23? At this point, one hears mixed opinions. One thing is common in people’s responses: They represent two extremes. The pro-PTI section, backed by Imran’s recent apology to Balochistan during the Karachi rally, argues that someone as uncontroversial as Imran can at least mediate in, if not entirely resolve, the Balochistan puzzle. The pessimists frown, “Balochistan is just like medicine,” they warn, “Keep it away from children’s reach.”

**Both opinions are valid but not absolutely uncontestable. We oftentimes tend to forget that Balochistan, besides its gradually subsiding secessionist movement, also has a considerable segment of permanent members of the establishment who have historically wasted no opportunity to become a part of the revolution-in-making.
The opportunist politicians’ club in Balochistan is divided into two groups. The first one abruptly smells political change and jumps on the victory truck much before others can even see it. This is primarily a self-proclaimed “pragmatic” group which joins the ‘future ruling party’ ahead of time so that it gets ample time in advance to develop necessary connections inside the party prior to the formation of the future government.

Classic examples of politicians belonging to the above mentioned segment are Retd. General Abdul Qadir Baloch, former Corps Commander and the governor of Balochistan and Sardar Sanaullah Zehri, a leading tribal chief and an ex-interior minister. Both of them joined the PML-Nawaz almost a year ago hoping that a little hard work and well done homework will land them on key positions in the future dispensation.

The second school of opportunist politicians comprises of enraged leaders who have either been ignored in their own parties or who grumble about not receiving sufficient ‘benefits’ from their incumbent parties. You may wonder why these leaders are not respected and patronised in their own parties. Very simple: They have switched so many political parties in the past that their faces are now barely familiar to the senior or junior cadre of their new/current parties.

**Thus, the first group, which is shrewdly mindful of the significance of benefits an early bird receives, will suffice with joining the PTI if it gets live coverage on news channels and makes front page headlines. Former president of the Balochistan National Party (BNP-Awami) Moheem Khan, ex-Jamori Watan Party senators Khuda-e-Noor and (who had later on defected to the PML-N), Amanullah Kanrani, a former information secretary of the JWP and Anwar-ul-Haq Kakar, a former PML-Q electoral candidate with little popularity among Quetta’s educated urban class, are some of the likely candidates who may join the PTI to resuscitate their political careers.
As far as the second section of leaders is concerned, it, besides the enraged leaders of ruling parties, also includes those who lead one-man shows locally known as political parties. Don’t get surprised if PTI floods Talal Bugti’s shabby Jamori Watan Party and Zarak Zheri’s PML- Zehri Group (Has anyone ever heard of it?). Senator Lashkari Raisani and Sadiq Umrani, the former and current chiefs of the PPP respectively, are both either discontented with their own parties or with the chief minister. Who knows if Imran is looking to get one of these two precious wickets!

Regarding the JWP, what is still undecided who, between the PTI and the PML-N, will make the first and solid move to influence Talal Bugti to either incorporate the JWP with one of these future ruling parties or at least form an ‘alliance plus’. Although the JWP is unlikely to win a sizeable number of seats in the provincial and the national assemblies, Talal Bugti isn’t as insignificant as his detractors smugly consider him. Let’s not forget, he resides in Quetta’s symbolic Bugti House where most government and opposition leaders go to pay respects to late Nawab Akbar Bugti, Talal’s father, or simply to express solidarity with the disenchanted Balochs.

Imran may not be able to fully win the hearts of the Marri, Mengal and (the pro-Brahamdagh section of) Bugti tribes who stand in the forefront of the Baloch nationalist movement at this juncture. It, nonetheless, does not minimize PTI’s chances of bringing on its side Balochistan’s Pashtun voters who are weary of America’s drone policies in spite of not being fond of the Talibanized version of Sharia which is staunchly championed by the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI).

**The PTI may upset the JUI if it uses “my name is Khan” card to woo the Pashtun voters. Thus, this move will possibly bring the PTI some Pashtun leaders from the PML-Q, such as Jaffar Khan Mandokhel and Raheela Hameed Durrani, without alerting the ANP (Awami National Party) and the PKmP (Pashtunkhwai Milli Awami Party).
In some Baloch districts, old loyalists of General Musharraf such as former ministers Zubaida Jalal, Shoaib Nosherwani, Balochistan Assembly’s current Speaker Aslam Bhootani and Rubina Irfan are all shaky wickets. Let’s wait and see what transpires after one hundred days of net practice ahead of the Quetta rally. Critics who consider Balochistan a tough pitch will probably have to watch another major upset from the visitors’ gallery.

I am sorry but I never thought that you are a …
Are you Kidding yourself or others .
**The dirtiest politician of the world can do only acts like this in Baluchistan
Finding some Dirty Lota there like Sindh .
You can give it the name of revolution or change