PTI or PMLN?

I had a very interesting conversation with my 9 year old son.. I thought I should share it with the forum.

My Son: Whom are you going to vote for in the election?
Me: I am undecided son..

My son: What will make you decide whom to vote for?
Me: If I vote for my self I would vote for PMLN, and if I vote for you I’ll vote for PTI.
My son: What does that mean?
Me: I need electricity to run my factories.. If I vote for PMLN I’ll get electricity to run my factories.. I’ll get the ring road to reach my factories more quickly.
My son: This means you will vote for PMLN?
Me: I told you I am undecided.

My son: So if you vote for PTI you will not get your electricity and your ring road.
Me: Probably it will take a long time.
My son: So you should not vote for PTI.
Me: If I vote for you I’ll vote for PTI.
My son: What does that mean?
Me: If I vote for PTI I know my country will be better off in 20 years when you grow up..
My son: So it means if you vote for PMLN the country will be good immediately and if you vote for PTI the country will be good after 20 years? So you should vote for PMLN.. why wait 20 years..
Me: That’s not the case my son. If I vote for PMLN I’ll get some of my immediate problems solved more quickly.. but the country will not be as good as it would be if I vote for PTI in 20 years.

My son: So it means the country will be better after 20 years if you vote for PTI compared to the country if you vote for PMLN.
Me: This is exactly what I mean.
My son: And how this will happen?
Me: There will be more honest people running the country who will need some time to figure out what to do.. but eventually they will figure out. In the long run they will run things like electricity, airports, airlines, hospitals, schools more efficiently. So these sectors will become stronger and the condition of poor people will improve for good. When the poor will have a better life.. the country will become safer for you and you will be able to tell people proudly that you belong to Pakistan.

My son: Papa.. I think you should vote for PTI…

Re: PTI or PMLN?

your son is very smart for his age....:)

Your son sounds very perceptive yazdi. MashaAllah. I had a similar conversation with my nephew on video call. He is in saudia and is 10 years old. He has lived his little life abroad as my bro has been living abroad since a while now.

Him: Saby chachu, aap vote daalayn gay pakistan ja ker?

Me: of course I will

Him: Can I tell you who to vote for?

Me: haan beta I am listening.

Him: Please vote for PTI and Imran Khan

Me: Kyun? aisa kyun?

Him: I heard his speech. He said that inshaAllah people will come to pakistan for work instead of people going to abroad for work. And I want to live in Pakistan and Mama don’t. magar baba phir pakistan aa jayen ge.

Me: But beyta, pakistan mayn tu problems hayn itni.. bombs aur no bijli garmi etc.

Him: magar saby chacho I saw on tv where someone was lying agian and again about electricity (Probably referring to shahbaz sharif’s ad LOL. I barely kept my laughter controlled)
Him: I really want to live in Pakistan jaisa IK kehta hai. Mujhay amreekan nahi rehna. Woh khud bhi tu kehta hai k mayn kabhi pakistan chor ker nahi jaon ga aur baba ne bataya thha k PPP aur PMLN k chairmen dono bahur rehte thhay (he doesnt remember the names)

A less intellectual conversation than yours yazdi but it was very touchy to hear him say that. That my little nephew wants to come back to a country IK envisages. That we all dream of.

Edit: I am sure my bhabi didnt like that convo :hehe:

Good touching post yazdi. After seeing the country going down the drain due to the incompetence of the two bigger parties, there is some light at the end of the tunnel. Imran Khan not only has support among the youth (educated) within the country but also abroad. He is the only person at present who can utilize the pool of best people available to turn the country around. As far as Imran is concerned he alredy has wealth and fame, now if he gets a chance he really wants to do something for the country (like Mahatir or Erdogan).

@yazdi & Sohaib: Aww so cute...kids say the darndest things. :D Gad they did not ask you guys anything about Taliban. Just imagine if Taliban takeover the country. Btw, according to recent survey extremism is #5 on list of things that voters are worried about.

^ to curb extremism is a long drawn process, many potential targets can be weaned away through good governance, rule of law, education, health and better economy etc.

I think if the governance is better, management id proactive, and rulers are credible.. the extremism will eradicate eventually. In the end the betterment of economy will ensure the safety of our children. Otherwise this place will not be a livable place in 20 years.. due to crime and violence. Still it's not a livable place except for some pockets of relative safety. If there is a visible change in the condition of poor masses.. there will be improvement as far as safety is concerned..

I asked my kids this question. Who should win the election, my 5 year old said, Imran, i asked why, he said " because, i like him. "

"Why"
"Because he won the world cup".

Then i asked my 9 year old daughter, she said Imran Khan. Asked why? She asked me who else is in the elections, i told Nawaz Sharif and Zardari. She said, Zardari is bad, and i don't like Nawaz Sharif. "Why you don't like Nawaz Sharif?" "Because he has a big palace" she answered.

Then asked the ledest won, he again was for Imran, asked why, he says, well because people said Pakistan cannot win WC and he won the WC, then people said you can't build the hospital and he built the hospital, then people said Pakistan cannot be fixed, but he will fix Pakistan.

Then he said, i think everyone will vote for Imran, I said well no, not everyone. He goes, well atleast everyone in our family will vote for him, i told him, well actually only his cousins, his uncles and aunts will vote for Nawaz Sharif. He was bewildered. "But why?", i told him because they know the N candidate in their constituency and frankly, he is a good person. But that was still shocking to him, he got on the phone trying to convince people back home to vote for Imran.

All my brothers are going to vote for PTI even though they have a christian candidate from our area! And this they have decided long time ago(not after today's tragic incident)!

SO???? Backwards and racist thinking.

I mean to say we do not mind him being Christian if he is himself a good person and from a good party!

Good :k:

We are giving too much coverage to extremist types, when it should be a plain open and close book law enforcement issue. Bring in the army for special ops if the taliban etc have paramilitary wings (training and weapons) but ultimately it should be the police and local + federal intelligence agencies that should deal with this. If you break the law (kill, maim, loot etc) then your a$$ should be handed down to you no matter any drones, shaheediyat, nationalism of any four provinces should come and save you.

I have 3 1/2 year old Shair ka voter:afshi:

for now “bachay ghair siyasi hotay hain” is working for me :bummer:

my daughter is 2 1/2 years old she only dances on abrar song jitna ve jitna Imran khan jitna, when ppp n pml-n ads come she starts crying, my little pti supporter

The proof of the pudding is in the eating.

Kids say such cute things at times :k: