PTI office in Lahore attacked

Re: PTI office in Lahore attacked

Yeah thats like a true gentleman :sunnyboy:

he got few more support or votes when he said good by to JI!! specially my support:D:

PPP's jialaye want to turn lahore into karachi.

where is this university situated? what does it do? how IK runs it?

Is that a serious and sincere question or do you really not know?

http://www.namal.edu.pk/

The links you pasted above didn’t took me to any university site, it took me to a website of a college, which offers three different programs, now to me there is big difference between a college and university.. don’t you think there is difference, i mean i cannot call Punjab College of Commerce as Punjab University of Commerce?? can I?

Now about this Namal College, where the tuition fee for a semester is around Rs 115,000, it may seem to be low amount to someone sitting outside Pakistan but i can assure you it is no way lower than the fee of any private college in Punjab for that matter… Yes Namal College is in Rural area i would call it a good business venture than social project…

Why would someone living in America or in West, send their children there? It is very expensive for Pakistanis, how they are going to afford this kind of money? I thought this college will run on Zakat, donations and charity so this should be free for people who can not afford:)

brother what are your views on "Govt. College University" and "Lahore College for women univerity" ?? where do u classify them??

well there is donations/zakat for this institute... there is link which guide how to donate..

and overseas Pakistanies are not the target students here, overseas are required to pay donations only... and Rs:115,000 per semester has to be paid by the students...

two things, both Govt College (GC Lahore) annd Lahore College of Women which got the university status not very long ago, are the brand name within themselves... and it is UGC ( to my knowledge) which granted the status of university to them... on the other hand, Namal College is a college which offer few courses/program under Bradford University... this is a good thing, but at least to say, it is (namal college) not a University ( please do not confuse it Numl University )by any mean....

The fees for Namal College are high, and I am sure that includes the lodging of the students there. If the college can become a leading R&D center of the country its worth it, for people who gave money the fees is peanuts and for those who cant afford it I am sure there are scholarships.

http://www.namal.edu.pk/message/

When I was campaigning during the 2002 elections in Mianwali I was appalled at the high level of unemployment amongst the youth. Hence I resolved to set up a technical college so that this youth could become employable. However two things made me change my mind and instead I decided to build a World class University. First was the most beautiful location of the site (donated free of cost by the villagers) which made me dream of a knowledge city like Oxford. Secondly when I was offered the Chancellorship of Bradford University I realized that I had access to an enormous academic technical back up to pursue this dream.I am under no illusion that it is a huge challenge to set up a centre of excellence in such remote though beautiful location. First will be the huge funds needed to make it a University of International standard.

I intend to particularly target Industrial houses within the country who understand that without trained human capital they can not compete internationally. Then I will be going on a fund raising trip to the U.S and Europe to invite overseas Pakistanis (our country’s greatest asset) to join hands with me.

The other challenge we will face will be attracting quality faculty to our University. We intend to overcome this by paying handsome salaries, setting up quality systems (like at SKMT) and above all, providing excellent accommodation and recreational facilities indeed I want to see Namal lake develop into a holiday resort in the not too distant future.

Finally I want to see over half the students in the University coming from less privileged background through scholarships, who in our present elitist education system can not dream of having access to high quality education.

^^ Which university?

This is the vision for this university. It needs to start from somewhere, many universities now were colleges before (My university UET Taxila used to be a college of UET Lahore till 1992-3)

http://www.namal.edu.pk/about-namal-college/

The development of NKC will be completed in three phases. **The journey of NKC started with the inauguration of Namal College in Phase-1 offering short certificate courses and Diploma in higher education programmes. Undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes in various disciplines will be launched in Phase-2. One of the main activities of Phase-2 will be Namal College staff development for the effective delivery of UoB’s courses. All Namal college academic staff will equipped with the UoB’s PGCHEP training programme whereas staff without doctoral level qualification will be registered into PhD under extra mural programme at the UoB. Academies for professional qualifications and links with industrial partners will be established to promote knowledge transfer at local and national level. One of the major milestones during Phase-2 will be to apply for a University Charter in 2014. This will be followed by establishing a technology park, enterprises and commercial areas during Phase-3 commencing 2015.

We may not agree with some one/maybe hate their policies, but criticism for the sake of criticsm wont lead us anywhere. Whatever he has made is in the country, and some students will be educated there. Lets pray that the institute becomes one of the leading institutes of the country which could play its part in improving the IT infrastructure of the country, if it can be developed into a R&D center with national and foreign linkages I think it would be good for all of us. We need more institutes like these all over the country if we want to develop. When the university is fully developed it will transform the local economy of rural Mianwali as well.

^^ bhai, where did i criticized the college, as a matter of fact i called it a good business venture... yes i am not ready to call it University till it get the status from the relevant authorities nor does i am going to call it a social project because if it is a social project then there are tens of such social projects through out Pakistan making some good profit...

Lets face it, it is college and no matter what vision he have, it would remain a college till it get the status of university...

so really you just brought this issue up to discuss the fact that someone referred to it as a university when in fact it has not yet acquired that status.

is that the whole of your argument against it?

You can think whatever you want, but when someone tells me that about the great University project launched by IK in rural area and ask me and others to vote him or support him on these basis then it is my right to perform due diligence on it and as i said, it is no way near to get the university status and i don't know why it is called University by the supporters... are they trying to exaggerate??? and remember this so-called University is one of the only two projects he have done in Pakistan...

now you are free to propagate about a college as a university...

Moreover, kindly check the post again it is some die hard supporter of IK who brought it up and not me...i just asked about it... and again all the insecurities...

Looks like political stunt as there is no followup. Perhaps PTI themselves created this drama.

Just like BB got bombed by PPP itself......to create a drama.

^ no some people got a lot of benefits out of bb's killings, like quaid e Awam saani...