Prove us wrong, Mr. Zardari

Can Zardari defy the odds?

Prove us wrong!
Thursday, September 04, 2008
Ikram Sehgal

One reckoned that since Asif Ali Zardari would not risk declaring his assets, he would drop out of the race for the presidency in favour of his sister, Faryal Talpur. He proved us all wrong. The rather shocking surprise – an anomaly in our laws that allows the Head of State, the only holder of public office, not to declare his (or her) assets. For the record, Musharraf declared his assets every year, so did others before him. Given the stories about Zardari’s many medical reports rendered on oath in foreign courts, it may not be a matter of mental health or credibility any more; perjury is taken very seriously abroad. The president of Pakistan may be immune from prosecution within Pakistan, his person can be prosecuted by courts abroad. Putting himself “in the line of fire” (pun intended), running for the presidency is already an act of courage.

Democracy is alive and well in Pakistan, courtesy of the free and fair February 18 elections, will Pakistan remain alive and well is the real question? The intelligentsia have serious reservations about his candidacy, some are actually sick at the prospect of Zardari as president, the representatives our masses elected to parliament seem to think otherwise. Though not in overwhelming fashion, the people voted for the party of late Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto into power. Needing time to consolidate that process during the transition period of 90 to 120 days, the PPP could only achieve this because of the superb display of politicking by their co-chairman. The second major party, PML-N was kept guessing and off balance. On the basis of loyalty to him (and him alone) his people were placed in critical slots, he simultaneously fended off a nascent revolt within the party from his late wife’s loyalists. All done with dexterity and deadly intent! Was this meticulously planned “the day after” December 27 with his wife still to be buried, according to Clausewitz first principle of war (and peace), the selection and maintenance of aim?

Candidates Justice Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui and Mushahid Hussain Syed are men of good standing. Every CV has some blemish, “let him cast the first stone he who has not sinned”. Neither is any match for Zardari in political wheeling and dealing. Even if one of them steps down in the other’s favour and given that in a secret ballot some in the electoral college may be “conscientious objectors” and not toe the party line, Asif Zardari should still win by quite a hefty margin. Zardari has built up confidence internationally in circles that matter, in contrast to the storm in the US media the US administration is silent (and thereby by default supportive), thanks to the untiring efforts of Hussain Haqqani, a man for all seasons, and sometimes for all reasons! If the US props him up by pumping in money and stabilises our economy, this self-made billionaire will be successful in taking Pakistan out of the economic and political morass we find ourselves in, why should anyone have reason to complain?

President Zardari is a reality staring us in the face and the sooner we come to terms with it the better. Despair among the intelligentsia on this prospect notwithstanding, pragmatists learn to live with the inevitable. With the buck now (almost) firmly on his desk, consider the personal and professional obstacles Asif Zardari must face. Lacking the personality profile to remain a ceremonial president, can he stay aloof from the day-to-day running of the affairs of the party, or indeed of governance?

The first major challenge for the supreme commander will be the reservations of the armed forces. Having taken an oath to defend their country against all evils, their concern (and ours) should be the protection of the nation’s most closely guarded secret, our nuclear assets and the means to deliver them. As president, Zardari will be uniquely placed to exercise extraordinary control over our nuclear option and he will be no Rafiq Tarar. The uniformed seem to be fully satisfied that Zardari does not pose any national security threat. If not, Kayani will do well to re-read the clause about “disobedience of unlawful command” in the Manual of Pakistan Military Law (MPML) before he is reminded of that by his colleagues and subordinates. Duly egged on by the Indians (and one supposes the Israelis) the West has been trying their best to de-nuclearise us. Many still fear the worst, questioning why the US is comfortable with his candidacy despite his controversial credentials. The West has a history of compromising on principles to achieve their objectives. Gen Musharraf was no democrat and Bush did not even remember his name before 9/11, yet the US supported this trusted ally because it suited their strategic interests. One should take the positive route, and keep hoping that he will keep them off our backs. Do the right thing, Asif Zardari, and prove us wrong.

A major area of concern to the uniform will be what happens to the ISI. At the very least, there has been a concerted effort to emasculate its potential, at the worst to permanently put it out of business as a “rogue agency”. While some changes in hierarchy is the government’s prerogative and the political wing must be transferred to the IB, strong suspicions exist that attempts will be made to interfere with the role and functions of the ISI. Such a “civilian” coup was tried prior to the PM’s US visit, did Musharraf’s objections lead to his sudden ouster? And if the objections were from Kayani, what will happen to him? The ISI remains Pakistan’s sure guarantee that our external cordon of security is intact, rabid Pakistan-hater Zalmay Khalilzad’s “private” advisory role to Asif Zardari notwithstanding. Asif Ali Zardari should leave well enough alone and prove such extremely adverse and dangerous perceptions wrong.

Asif Zardari is a major beneficiary of NRO, that black law rescued him from accountability, what will Asif Zardari do about NAB? Call it by another name, the basic mechanics of accountability must remain. Unlike Zardari, Mian Sahib and family have a source of wealth through a well known business empire, it is an irony that they are now being targeted by NAB. This is a contradiction about NAB’s future, the PPP is willing to use NAB for political purposes even as some PPP leaders desperately want NAB to disappear to wipe out the evidence of their white-collar crimes. Asif Zardari should resolve this ambiguity and prove us wrong.

Running a presidential system with the full backing of parliament sanctioned by the democratic will of the people, Zardari will be a civilian dictator on the Cromwellian fashion. He will have a chance to show what military dictators always promise and initially put into effect but almost always compromise to elongate their stay in power, constant good governance with full impartial accountability. Having a major role in accountability, the media will have a good chance to evaluate the limits of its freedom, or otherwise.

If he does the right thing by the country, and by the face of it the army (in particular the army’s chief) is gambling on that, Asif Ali Zardari can prove all of us wrong!

The writer is a defence and political analyst

Prove us wrong!

Re: Prove us wrong, Mr. Zardari

And you believe in every statement of politicians and garbage of jourlanists...lol

I know you are still bitter with the cowardly resignation, but please do let me know how you arrived at this conclusion - unless senility and old age has messed up your mind to an extent that you think whatever I copy paste here is my belief.

Ikram Sehgal is a senior editor and analyst of the Defence Journal.

Zardari is a cleam man after NRO as any cases (real or fabricated) are washed away with NRO, gift of last government. Now, it is time to deal with corrupts of his enemy party that tormented him. He may have obligation to the last government because of NRO, but he has no obligation to the government of Nawaz between Feb 1997 and Nov 1999, the government that preceded last government. So, he should start cases against all corrupts of PMLN government, confiscate their legally and illegally acquired wealth, give them to firing squad, give their family a pension of Rs 10,000 a month and 2 bed flat rent free to live, putting all their confiscated wealth in Pakistan treasury. I believe if Zardari would confiscate wealth of top 20 mega corrupts of PMLN and would make an example of them by sending them to their malik-e-haqiqi, then it would be enough to fill Pakistan treasury and if that would happen with the hand of Zardari than Zardari would become hero bigger than Z A Bhutto and Pakistani masses would remember him forever and would forgive all his past sins.

I do not mind if Zardari takes 10 percent of whatever government confiscate from top 20 mega corrupts of PMLN ... obviously we have to realise that Zardari is the father and guardian of our future King Bilawal, so if Zardari would take 10 percent of money stolen by crooks of Nawaz than it should be acceptable as we Pakistanis could not be so selfish that we do not think about inflating personal treasury of our future King. Later, Zardari can use some of those 10 percent confiscated wealth to buy loyalty of Pakistani bikao maal in Pakistani national Assembly and Senate to pass a constitutional clause that would make Pakistan a khilafat with Bilawal Bhutto as King Khalifa to be followed by his progeny and Zardari as guardian of the King.

As for Kiyani and other lower mortals, they should learn to start respecting the democracy and worshipping Zardari, voice of democracy. Armed forces are servants of those who get to power through democracy. Armed forces should never think of toppling the government of Zardari or his progeny, regardless of they decide to make Pakistan strong or sell Pakistan for peanuts, as whatever they do to Pakistan is their right, as Pakistan belongs to those who have the votes and Zardari is voice of the people, icon of Pakistan democracy. Kiyani and generals in Pakistan army should know that Pakistanis love democracy so much that if army would ever move against voice of the masses (aka Zardari), light of two worlds, elected Angel of pure land, king of 170 million people, ruler of Pakistan, than people of this land called Pakistan would lynch the Generals.

^ im amazed at your writing skills and analysis ;)

sad but true..thats how it will play out especially since media is also a bika hua maal. The media made hue and cry about mUsharraf but no one is questioning Zardari. pathetic.

zardari is a cool clever cat..

Guys...its not about the principles...laws...morales...or the constitution...its all about the power to survive...whatever...

PS: But one thing is for sure...everyone is going to settle into dust sooner... :)

Saleem bhai roza ziyada lagay to yahan aa kar humara aur apna time na waste karein...

I am amazed you think that selective victimisation (i.e. reopening of cases against Nawaz) is morally right

Any accountability process should not be politically motivated and should apply equally to all crooks and dakus incl. Altaf, Zardari, Nawaz etc.....corrupt generals should not be exempt either

^ Its because he is all bitter because Nawaz managed to get rid of Musharraf, though in reality it was Zardari that accomplished the feat.

I am rather dissapointed in your skills though. Firstly, it took the media 8 years to finally come out and bash the hell out of Musharraf, only after Musharraf turned into a mad dog with whatever he did in 2007. What makes you think they'll do the same thing to Zardari who by the way hasnt even taken oath or hasnt even been elected the President yet. Also, I think the media right now is pretty thankful to Zardari for ousting Musharraf, someone who tried to restrict their freedom.

Meray bahi, kewn? Democracy in Pakistan does not mean what you are asking for, equality for all. Democracy in Pakistan means to rub the nose of your opponent on the ground so hard that ground starts gushing water. :) Zardari is Ameer-ul-Momaneen and Sada-e-awam. He is ruler of Pakistan. All people in government serice, including armed forces are servant of Sardari. People are his subjects ... his rayea ... his children when Zardari is father of the nation ... he is King. Why he should not do what he desires? It is up to him if he wants Pakistan develop or get sold. It is up to him what to do with wealth of the country. It is his right and no one should question that, as that is democracy of Pakistan. If someone in past (Nawaz and his goons) in same position has made him (Zardari) suffer than why he should not make them (Nawaz and his goons) suffer too? In Pakistan, if anyone even dares to contest election against Pakistani democrat barons than democrat barons can get him killed, what is the value of opponents? It is zero.

When we demand democracy in Pakistan and get it, we should start respecting and supporting that democracy too, and try to protect it in all ways from army or whatever, regardless of it becoming evil for us or people we like, as democracy in Pakistani style is what democracy we can expect and still, democracy is democracy, regardless of it being good, bad or ugly. Regardless of democracy can take Pakistan to bankruptcy, disintegration or slavery. Right?

For the likes of you he might be clean, but for us we know he is a crook, he is Mr 10% and he is someone who planted a shoe-bomb to extort money out of some investor.

lagta hay Nawaz Sharif ke zamanay mai bohot ki buri chot lagee thi koi :hehe:

Ehtasab saheb … do you know the problem of most Pakistanis? They are confused lot … completely :confused: with no ability to think :blush:. Just imagine that if you, probably someone suppose to be more educated than average Pakistani, could not understand my post than what one can expect from most Pakistanis to understand situation of the country, background of crooks that came to power, difference between dictatorship, sham democracy and democracy, and especially complicated numbers of the economy?:stuck_out_tongue:

Yaar, bura na manna, your post in reply to my post is classic example of the level of understanding things by Pakistanis.:rotfl:

Anyhow, for your ease, something that most with little depth in their thoughts would have understood, what I wrote is not what you understood what I believe, but what I wrote is an exposure of Pakistanis who are pro-sham democracy and talk about half cooked democracy as if it is utopia without realising (unintentionally or intentionally) that the democracy in Pakistan means destruction of Pakistan. Actually, many of them are not naive and they know what they are talking, but it is their interest that Pakistan goes to hell and they could themselves loot and plunder (some are 40 choor behind Nawaz and some are 40 choor behind Zardari). Those who are talking against Zardari are 40 choors behind Nawaz and are upset that their sardar is on receiving end, and that is all. They may now want Army back so that in new turn of wheel their sardar might get the chance. But then, if things were other way round, choors behind Zardari would be talking the same … that government falls. :hehe:

If I was putting my own feelings than it would be that army comes in, arrest both Zardari, Nawaz, Iftikhar, Imran, Qazi and all trouble makers in Judiciary, Journalism, lawyers, so-called civil society … line them up, and shoot them at point blank. Then put the country under martial law for unforeseeable future, giving technocrats to work and do whatever they can to make the country prosper. To me, country does not need sham democracy nor need thug politicians. Country need dedicated people who are employees of state and get to governing level not by doing bandar drama with public but because of their abilities to serve. Sham democracy in Pakistan can only bring thugs and liars, crooks and smooth talkers, nothing else.

I believe what you wrote was your TRUE feelings as you hate Nawaz Sharif but you have no problems with Zardari (probably because Altaf also endorsed him). Now that you are under fire you are making excuse that it was not your true words.

People like you are uni-directional. You think if someone is opposing Zardari then he must be with Nawaz Sharif, you are unable to grasp the concept of critics without bias.

I do not have to make excuse for you or anyone. Do you think that I care what anyone thinks about me? My conscious is clear and what I believe, I write without fear, regardless of what anyone thinks. :)

I know, that when you read my post you got confused and that is what you believed what you wrote ... that I hate Nawaz and have no problem with Zaradari. Unfortunately, you are as far from truth as anyone could be. Anyhow, your understanding of my post did surprise me, as I was not expecting that you would not understand what I wrote, as sometime your posts are sensible ... not like some other posters whose most posts are full of BS, lies, illogical comments and propaganda of their party :). Fact is that, I should not have got surprised because in the end ... expectations from people of Pakistan are very unpredictable and funny. Most are day dreamers, living in their own created disillusion and have impair thinking. I am sure that if you would take my post and show it to someone who can think, he would understand what I wrote, much differently than what you understood.

People like you are uni-directional. You think if someone is opposing Zardari then he must be with Nawaz Sharif, you are unable to grasp the concept of critics without bias.

Oh yea, unidirectional. Please bhai, do not make me laugh at your understandings. No, I do not think that anyone who oppose Zardari is with Nawaz or anyone who oppose Nawaz is with Zardari ... it is only your impaired judgment that gave you that impression. As for critics without bias, I can understand that very well but it is unfortunate that it is you who do not understand and always try to put people in one compartment or another.

For instance, in my above post I was criticising the way sham democracy works in Pakistan where one crook (Zardari) is winning and doing all for his own promotions kicking the Ass of other crook Nawaz, so supporters of other crook Nawaz started looking towards army to flatten the field for the benefit of Nawaz. On the other hand, if other crook would have won then supporter of crook Zardari would have started looking towards army to flatten the field for the benefit of Zardari. Supporters of both Mega crooks to me are pathetic bunch of pigmy crooks.

ahem ahem

:cb:

^ lol

this is by far the funniest thread of the present lot! lol

WOW, what a sher!! :cb: