Protest to name Pakistani roads after Hindus or Sikhs

Re: Protest to name Pakistani roads after Hindus or Sikhs

i dunno...may be it's on their list of cities to be renamed...but, as i said, they face huge opposition and they lose Muslim votes if they really do it...they are kinda worried what if they lose votes. those names like Mumbai, Kolkatta and Chennai are the original regional names which they simply re-instated.

well said

good examples.

One more that I remember is Bheem Pura.. I think Bheem is an important character in Mahabharta. We also got Meetha Raam Hostel inKarachi, but they changed Raam Bagh to Araam Bagh.

In Lahore (where this Bhagat Singh issue has cropped up) , they have Lakshmi Chowk, Dayal Singh College, etc

But now there are only few Hindu families left there, they should change the name now.

why should they change name? Jehlam is named after Alexander's horse... wo ghoRa bhi gaya aur uska Greek master bhi. when they didn't change Jehlum's name. why should they change names of towns in Sindh, where Hindu population forms 8-9% of total population.

I know this is off topic but did they make a bollywood film out of the above book?

Yes Deepa mehta made 'Earth 1947' on this novel starring: Aamir Khan, Nandita Daas and Rahul Khanna

I had no idea it was from a book, but i bet thats better then the film. Thanks Muqawwee

The movie was good as the script was written by Bapsi Sidhwa herself, but novel is better than movie

I've seen the movie a couple of times becasue when i first watched it i didnt understand what was hapening, then understood further when i watched it the second time, but i'm a firm believer that books are far better then their counter part Movies any way =D

Thats true a writer's imagination may not be executed by actors and directors 100%. We will have detailed discussion on this in a separate thread.

How do you see the trend of changing names of places just for the sake of it?

Me to my friend lets go to Bhagat Singh Chowk

This sucks

Shadman is awesome yaar

Oh and there is famous area of Karachi Guru Mandir.

You told me in other thread that they changed seeta city’s name to raam ghar, :hmmm:

Don't you feel low when wandering around Ranjeet Singh's samadhi ;)

I guess they tried to change it as Rehman Nagar to give the city Islamic status :bummer: but the people still call it Sita

Definately … :chai:

I dont agree with the name changing just becasue its an islamic state now. this is how we are loosing history and once the change has come into affect, the older generation will no longer be around to call that specific place what it used to be hence a part of history lost.

Apart from the fact that a lot of places in Pakistan are still named after Non-Muslims: Why is it a problem if roads or squares are named after Non-Muslims in Pakistan? There are places named after Muslims in a lot of countries where Muslims are not even close to being a majority.

Probably our fragile faiths get a fatal blow by naming or not changing Non-Muslim names to places, roads, etc. Its the psyche of people (conquerors) to change the names of places according to their wishes and this is not limited to Desi people. When British ruled this area, they renamed many cities like Sahiwal (Montgomery) and Jackobabad (no one remember its old name). Though Montgomery became Sahiwal again, but Jackobabad didn't get its previous identity due to excess respect for Pir Jackob in the area (he is gora pir for people of Jackobabad).

Agree. The major impact of changing names is loss of history. Historians couldn't determine where the Deebal in Sindh situated due to this change of names. Though Historians consider RohRi as AroR (conquered by Arabs), but they can't say that with authenticity.