Someone told me that if your hair starts to turn naturally lighter (without the use of dyes, etc) over a short period of time very quickly, that indicates you have severe protein deficiences. Just wondering - how accurate is that ?
Are you sure they didn't mean Zinc, not protein?
Thanks, Shahreen
i was hoping i’d get at least one response:D No, she said protein, but she could have been mistaken about her information.
Does naturally-changing hair colour indicate lack of zinc, or for that matter, anything unhealthy? My hair’s going brown very fast and it feels really weird. Someone asked me if i dyed it, and it’s getting to the point where it’s getting stupid when i say no because it sounds like i am lying through my teeth. Is that an indication of something unhealthy - some lack of protein, vitamins, zinc, iron, etc?
And this is kind of related - but what’s marasmus? Much more severe condition though. Does that cause a change in hair colour as well?
Actually the zinc thing was something I read a while ago but that was more related to a total loss of pigmentation in the hair shaft rather than just going lighter. I know my hair always goes a shade or so lighter during the summer from the sun but I'm assuming you've ruled this out already.
Originally posted by Shahreen: *
**I know my hair always goes a shade or so lighter during the summer from the sun but I'm assuming you've ruled this out already.
hm good point, i thought of that too. :( Summer/spring haven't started here yet though in the sense that it may have in other countries. Today was the first time in months that temperature went above +13...it was relatively hot outside today, but that's unusual for us cuz i live in a screwed up city with strange climate. Our summer starts around May. So i don't know if there's enough sun exposure i'm receiving, for that to occur.
But thank you for your help, Shahreen - i really appreciate it.
Nadia_H
go to a doctor will you
The operatiuve word is severe. We're talking about something extreme and clearly visible to the naked eye.
These conditions usually affect children in developing countries.
Kwashiorkor and Marasmus are the two types of severe malnutrition that you see examples of when you see news flashes about places where there is chronic famine. Protein defeciency for Kwashiorkor and Energy (calorie) deficiency for Marasmus.
What do you see? water retention (edema) especially in the belly area, reduced muscle mass (thin arms and legs), dry skin.
Protein deficiencies can occur due to other dietary errors or because of metaboilc problems. When in doubt see your doc!
Irem, Don’t worry
Shirin, Thank you, just the information i was looking for. i studied this in one of my classes a long time ago, i should have remembered all of it but i forgot it. Thank you very much.
yaar u dont even let me ask u how ur health is on msn aur phone pe bhi ![]()
did u go to the doc? ![]()