Protecting Pakistan's Hindus

In the name of blasphemy Hindus are killed..

In yet another case of religious persecution of the minorities in Pakistan, a Hindu was beaten to death in the port city Karachi by dozens of his Muslim co-workers at a leather factory for uttering blasphemous remarks about Prophet Muhammad.

The incident took place in a factory in Sector 15 of the Korangi Industrial Area, after a discussion about religion became heated between Jagdish Kumar and his Muslim co-workers.

According to the Karachi police sources, Jagdish, a 25-year-old resident Mirpurkhas, was tortured to death on Tuesday over allegations that he spoke against the sanctity of the Prophet Muhammed.

Protecting Pakistan’s Hindus

The cultural and institutional marginalisation of Hindus in Pakistan is a travesty of human dignity and freedom
Ali Eteraz

Hindus in Pakistan have suffered grievously since the founding of the nation in 1947. Recently, in the southern province of Sindh, a Hindu man was accused of blasphemy and beaten to death by his co-workers. This comes at the heels of the abduction and dismemberment of a Hindu engineer.

A little while earlier, the military removed 70 Hindu families from lands where they had been living since the 19th century. To this day the temples that Pakistanis destroyed in 1992 in response to the destruction of the Babri mosque in India have not been restored.

Pakistan, according to many accounts, was founded as a way to protect the rights and existence of the minority Muslim population of Colonial India in the face of the larger Hindu majority. Pakistan’s founder, Muhammad Ali Jinnah, is reported to have said in 1947: “In due course of time Hindus will cease to be Hindus and Muslims will cease to be Muslims - not in a religious sense for that is the personal faith of an individual- but in a political sense as citizens of one state.” It is therefore a travesty of Pakistan’s own founding principles that its Hindus - and not to exclude Christians and Ahmadis - have suffered so grossly.

There are two levels of prejudice in Pakistan with respect to Hindus - the cultural and the legal.

While it is difficult to say which one is more pernicious, cultural prejudice is certainly more difficult to uproot because it is perpetuated by religious supremacism, nationalism, stories, myth, lies, families, media, schooling and bigotry.

Cultural prejudice has become part and parcel of language itself. Hindus are referred to as “na pak.” Na means “un” and pak means “pure.” So, Hindus are turned into the impure, or unclean. Given that the word “pak” is part of the word “Pakistan” - which means Land of the Pure - somebody’s impurity suggests that they are not really Pakistani.

To make matters even worse, Pakistani mullahs teach a very supremacist version of the Islamic creed, the kalima. Usually, the kalima reads simply: “There is no god but God and Muhammad is His final messenger.” The version that children are taught, however, reads as follows: “The first kalima is Tayyab; Tayyab means Pak (Pure); There is no god but God and Muhammad is His final Messenger.”

Do you see how the word “Pak” - which denotes both purity and connects to citizenship in Pakistan - is smuggled into the Islamic creed? Since in Urdu this little ditty rhymes very effectively, this is the version of religiosity that most children repeat their entire lives. As a result, while they grow up, they psychologically equate Hindus with impurity, with uncleanliness, as not Pakistani, and therefore less than, both Islamically and as citizens.

The only two parties that can begin to bring some change in this arena are the state and the liberal clerics.

Last year Pakistan’s prime minister did greet Hindus during Diwali and a prominent Hindu nationalist leader - who had to quit his party because of his outreach - that was born in Karachi did come back and pay respects to his birth-city.

Cricket diplomacy, which began in 2004, helped a little (but not really, because the focus was on cricket and not on religion). Also, there are a few prominent Hindus here and there - one is a justice of the Supreme Court and one is the leading leg-spinner for the cricket team. Yet, as the Pakistani exile Tarek Fatah points out, Justice Bhagwandas had to take the oath on the Quran. Meanwhile, Kaneria is regularly excluded from the Pakistani cricket team’s congregational Islamic prayer.

As bad as the cultural prejudice is, legal prejudice is the one that must be more urgently dealt with, because it is what allows cultural prejudice to acquire institutional power.

Two laws in particular have been very problematic for the Hindu community.

The first one was promulgated under the 1973 constitution which made Islam the state religion of Pakistan and established a separate electorate for Muslims and non-Muslims so that Hindus could only vote for Hindu candidates. Musharraf abolished this in 2002. I think Muslims who support the idea of Islamic states around the world really need to stop and think about this for a second. It took an American-backed dictator in the year 2002 for a Muslim state to abolish unequal voting? As a wise man once said: are you kidding me? This is a deplorable commentary on the state of equality in today’s Islam.

The second law is the infamous blasphemy law passed under Islamist dictator Zia ul Haq in the 1980s. Designed specifically to punish the Ahmadi minority, the blasphemy law now provides convenient protection to anyone who ever wants to kill, murder, maim, beat up, mug, abduct, or punish any religious minority. All you really have to do is carry out your brutality and then point at the victim and say that he was blasphemous.

This law needs to be repealed immediately: no reform, no fixing, no tweaking, but total abolishment. Efforts to repeal it under Musharraf failed in the Senate. The secular parliament in session now is probably not going to touch it unless it is told to do so by international groups (who frankly aren’t really interested). The UN, EU, US, and International Council of Jurists must make some noise about repealing Pakistan’s heinous blasphemy law.

There are little more than three million Hindus in Pakistan (a nation of 160 million). They are still part of Pakistani life and need to be treated with respect and dignity. According to some sources, at the founding of Pakistan, Hindus comprised nearly 15% of the country’s population and now number barely 2%. Many have left, many have been killed, and many have converted to other religions to protect themselves. All in all, a travesty for a state that was created with the intended purpose of protecting minorities.

Re: Protecting Pakistan's Hindus

:(

Feel sorry for the victim...........I am also sorry that these kind of atrocities have gone on soon after Pakistan was formed..............

reminds me of the First Most Prominent Hindu who declared he would be moving to Pakistan............and was mercilessly gunned down by an extremist hindu........

His Name was Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi......

Extremists will justify any action......:(

It is always sad to see violence and killings and this case is no different.

We do not know the details of what exactly was said and how co-workers got into the altercation.

At a general level of principle, each side has to be sensitive to the other. Many muslims (including a number of prominent posters here) think nothing of making casual comments about Hindu gods and holy men, yet take serious objection when similar things are said about allah or mohamed (lower case intentional to illustrate the case).

Sindsagar - these were not extremists but commonplace workers who did this killing - the cancer is more widespread

riots based on religion or ethnicity that we see in that region illustrate how deep the issue of intolerance and bigotry is. I believe all we can do about it is try and make changes in us, people around us and whomever we can reach out to.

That's really sad.

It is meant to be the duty of the state and its people to protect the minorities and take pride in the presence of other faiths, unfortunately what we see is totally opposite of that. More a reason why Pakistan is just a muslim nation of the name, and not rules/laws. :(

Would the author prefer that Kaneria be forced to pray namaaz with them? Or should the team be forced not to pray to make him feel "more included"?

In any case, there is a lot more the government could do to protect minorities (the same goes for India). I hope the people responsible for this murder are brought to justice.

The parts about children of Pakistan being taught by implication that Hindus or impure is not only disgusting but also i sthe beginning of writing the death sentence for would be jihadis. If such impression is brainwashed into them at that young age no wonder these grow into nitrojackets that don't feel any compunction about killing others.

ironically using the term purity, sinful impurity is being fed to them! using the term education, unholy satanism is fed to them! using the term religion, they are being turned into animals

Re: Protecting Pakistan’s Hindus

This is extremely condemnable crime. People who are responsible for his murder should be caught and punished. Government should take notice of this seriously and arrest the culprits/killers.

http://www.dawn.com/2008/04/09/top8.htm

Factory worker lynched for ‘blasphemy’

By Imran Ayub
KARACHI, April 8: A man was beaten to death by his co-workers here on Tuesday for blasphemous remarks allegedly made by him about Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

**The incident took place in a leather garment factory in Sector 15 of the Korangi Industrial Area, after a discussion about religion became heated.

The deceased was identified as Jagdeesh Kumar, 22, of Mirpurkhas.
“We have been informed that some blasphemous remarks made by Jagdeesh angered other workers,” said a police officer.

**“They kept beating him for almost half an hour and left him only after someone pointed out that he had died. Police reached the place after they were called by someone in the factory.”
He said the atmosphere in and outside the factory was highly charged and it was a tough task for police to take the body out of the factory.

**“We have moved the body to the Jinnah Post-graduate Medical Centre (JPMC) for an autopsy,” said SP Farrukh Bashir. He said that no-one had been detained for questioning.
“We can take action only after a case is registered and a conclusion is reached on the basis of the autopsy report and investigations,” he said.

**An official at the JPMC said the body bore marks of severe torture, but there was no injury indicating that sticks, bricks and iron rods had been used.
**He said that it appeared to be a case of ‘intentional murder’, rather one of death in a brawl.
**One of the investigators, who met some members of the victim’s family after the incident, said they were not ready to accept the reason being given for the killing of Jagdeesh.
**“The case must be investigated and his co-workers should be taken into custody and interrogated, because no-one can even think of uttering blasphemous remarks against the Prophet in a Muslim society,” the official quoted a close relative of the victim as saying.
**Like police, the family also believed that the murder had nothing to do with religion. It could have been the result of a personal feud. Raju, brother-in-law of the victim, told Dawn that the case should be properly investigated.
**“Jagdeesh was a simple man who knew little about religion. He had come to Karachi to earn a living and not to indulge in debates over religion. And it is easy to kill a member of a minority community and then accuse him of uttering blasphemous remarks. And that it is why there is need for a proper and thorough investigation,” he said.
**“Even if it is a case of blasphemy it should be brought to court,” said Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman, renowned Islamic scholar and chairman of the Ruet Hilal Committee.
**“In Pakistan there has been no such case of blasphemy against Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) by a member of a minority sect, nor we (Muslims) ever did any such thing against other religions.”

He said the incident should be investigated in a transparent manner to determine the actual reasons behind the murder and not to allow anyone to take the law into his own hands**

what nonsense is this concept of 'group' prayer by a cricket team? if an individual wants to pray let him go do that. the operative word in a TEAM is the word TEAM.

I remember the other guy who had to convert from christianity to muslim - yeah I am sure there was nobody openly forcing him to convert but when 15 out of a team of 16 are gathering for a nice namaz I am sure he felt real comfy

In Islam, congregational prayers are considered far more meritorious than ones prayed alone...its why people bother going to mosques and praying in groups when they're technically allowed to pray alone wherever is most convenient for them. If there are 15 Muslim people sitting around, and all of them want to pray, its absolutely ridiculous to force them to pray separately..and I fail to see how that should offend anyone's religious sentiments.

As for the guy who converted, from what I remember reading on BBC, it sounds like he did so pretty enthusiastically over a long period of time...and if, as you claim, he really did convert simply because he felt left out of congregational namaz, then he was a pretty pathetic Christian to begin with. I went to Catholic schools my entire life...I was "left out" of mass every morning. You don't see me converting to Christianity because I felt left out.

this is really a serious issue. and to be honest i never think that after babri mosque was being shaheed in india, danger to hindu temple is also there.
at least Muslims in India do have voice! (wo alag baat hai howa kuch bhi nahi)

but on a same token, are we saying as if muslims living happily in pakistan?

therefore, this is not hindu-muslim issue, this is Pakistani-Pakistani issue.

Jenab - actually I agree with you if you guys place emphasis on praying in groups.

As to christian schooling - I don't think anybody converts there

This is utterly disgusting.

We must repeal draconian laws like Hadood and blasphemy etc. Pakistani minorities have suffered immensely thanks to the hooligans and terrorists like lal masjid goons.

anywhere whoever commits the crime of killing especially in the name of own creed or faith, is ignoble.

befire protecting the rights of minorities, protecting the rights of humans is what needs to be inscribed onto the minds of all citizens of any given state.

what is not fair to you, is not fair to others.
what you cant suffer, no one else should be made to suffer that, merely because they dont happen to be in your group.

nationalism and patriotism has always been given such abnoxious parallels.
in reality if people really were true and honest nationalists and patriots, they would always be mindful of the rights of all people, living on one piece of land.
nothing of the kind of injustice would occur to anyone.

but since the gory reality is that insiders are corrupt and outsiders perpetuate horrors of resentment and hatred, people begin to live in paranoia.
and so, the biases and prejudices lead people to become vicious and ignorant.

Pakistan or India, cannot become blood baths because Muslims live in India or Hindus live in Pakistan.

instead, what people need to do is to perhaps become more open to checking their own discriminatory unconcious or conscious.

best,
Dushwari

Well since someone brought India into this, things are much worse for minorities in India.
If you count up incidents since 1947 against minorites, many more have died in India by far.
The Sikhs killed in 1984 by state sanctioned violence.

The 2000 Gujrat massacre and the Christians in orissa and a whole lot others.

Coming back to minorities in Pakistan, yeah it's such a silly reason to kill someone cause he offended your relgion.

And you are right about the brainwashing. Average Pakistani I've come accross use the Koran as their 'proof' of everything including proving God/Allah's existence. They do not seem to dare question what they are taught one bit.

But if you look at things from another side you'll see that Pakistanis have never voted in an Islamist government even when they had the chance. (Have links to prove my claims, just that I can't post URLs as my posts are under 25 right now)
But what does that tell us? I do find it hard to believe as well but from this it looks like the average Pakstani does not endorse such agression.

Even in recent elections in the NWFP the Islamists lost. I'm afraid I cannot say the same about India. Hindutva parties such as BJP came in through fair elections. I don't like comparisons but since someone brought it up I feel they should see the facts for themselves.
Hindu fundamentalism is very deep rooted in India. Many Hindutva terrorist groups like the RSS operate freely in India and the government could care less. Putting in a Sikh prime minister should not be in any way used as an excuse to forget the 1984 cimes against the Sikh population.

To sum it up in comparison no I do not believe India is 'more secular' than Pakistan and the facts show it.

But coming back to Pakistan only, I think the solution is that the country and the government come down hard at groups who advocate violence against minorites- including Shias. And it's happening. I know Hindus and Christians in Karachi who say they've never faced discrimination.

These Islamists are a minority as the people of Pakistan don't have time to for this sort of nonsense. And the only way they've siezed power is with the support of criminals like Zia ul-Haq.

Pakistan is only meant for muslims- Quaid contended that it's a nation for the muslims, by the muslims and ONLY for muslims. This Hindu must have spoken some crap like uttering "La IIla.." which are reserved for muslims.

Mohandas Gandhi was a devout Hindu- if he was such a secularist, why didn't he convert to Islam and asked his followers to convert too? Even at the time of his death, he utterred the word "Hey Ram" and not "Ya allah(swt)". Muslims in India are butchered by the 1000s but they love to support India. People like ShahRukh Khan and Salman khan should be hanged- they don't keep beard or even have done hajj but dance with Hindu girls on screen even when millions of Muslims were killed in Gujjarat.

Re: Protecting Pakistan’s Hindus

^ :rotfl:

Lala, you’re funnier than a barrel of monkeys

^^ Whats so funny about that? Isn't it ironic there are demolishments of historic mosques and pogroms of thousands of members of minorities in "Secular India" while an incident -- when even ONE member of a minority community is ALLEGEDLY victimized, make headlines in Pakistan?