Pros and Cons of Rishte Karane Waleee Aunties?;)

I haven’t lived wit my parents since highschool, and this concerns me. Like how many people must have gossiped behind my back about things I never did?

*These rishta walis do what they have to do coz they're getting payed for it...
What pisses me off more is that our own families are the ones encouraging all sorts of weird rishtas these ladies send...
They put immense pressure on us, while at the same time saying "oh theres no pressure on u" par larka bohot acha hai, uski mom bohot achi hai, uski job achi hai, he is very educated!! But at the end of the day, if one can't even stand the sight of this guy, how can one spend the rest of their life with this person??
These rishta walis can be handy sometimes but they can be deadly too, wen they send a rishta which is their idea of a "perfect match" and then the family jumps on the band wagon and the drama starts!
Honestly everytime i have to dress up and serve tea to some potential hone wala dulha and his family, i feel like a bali ki cow, whose been well fed and looked after and now is put on the market for sale! The boys family can look , ask questions, do whatever they please and at the end of the day even have the option to reject as many girls as they want!

Re: Pros and Cons of Rishte Karane Waleee Aunties?;)

Scary :(

I wish, hope and pray no girl has to go thru this and find their match in family, friends or thru them.

Re: Pros and Cons of Rishte Karane Waleee Aunties?;)

My own khala is a "rishtay walee auntee". I showed her this thread, and she was quite amused to say the least. Here are her comments:

1. She does not charge anything for her rishta services.
  2. She does not place any ads.
  3. She only does the rishtas of the families she knows, and the families that they know, and so on. That way, everyone can be traced back, and there are almost no surprises.
  4. She has been doing the rishtas for the last 20+ years.
  5. She will say no upfront to the people who come with unrealistic expectations (example: a guy who has just come from pak, has only an intermediate (high school) qualifications, has no US education or qualification, is working at a gas-station wants a khoobsurat, US citizen Doctor)
  6. She does not give any guarantees of anyone's character: she introduces the two parties, and then its up to them to do the background research etc.

She has kindly obliged to answer any questions you might have, so feel free to ask.