Prophet Muhammed and Hazrat Abu Bakr

Assalam-Alaikum All,

I found a few hadith about Abu Bakr which you may find useful:

Jazakallah

Does anybody have any other hadith about the sahaba and how Prophet Muhammed interacted with them?

Jazakallah

cool dude i wwould like to get back to u ..just wait a little

Remember Sherazz: I’m not getting into a Shia/Sunni debate, so if you make this into one, i’m going to refrain from replying

Jazakallah

who is debating?

i m just gonna tell u some of his virtues..baba ghabra to nahi gaye

Yaar, only thing I ‘Ghabra’ about is not pleasing Allah.

No person scares me

Hence i’m not going to get into a Shia/Sunni debate.

c ya

Here are some more traditions ...

Thanks for reading.

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 11:
Narrated Jubair bin Mutim:

A woman came to the Prophet who ordered her to return to him again. She said, "What if I came and did not find you?" as if she wanted to say, "If I found you dead?" The Prophet said, "If you should not find me, go to Abu Bakr."

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 14:
Narrated 'Amr bin Al-As:

The Prophet deputed me to read the Army of Dhat-as-Salasil. I came to him and said, "Who is the most beloved person to you?" He said, " 'Aisha." I asked, "Among the men?" He said, "Her father." I said, "Who then?" He said, "Then 'Umar bin Al-Khattab." He then named other men.

Volume 9, Book 92, Number 406:
Narrated 'Aisha:

(the mother of believers) Allah's Apostle during his fatal ailment said, "Order Abu Bakr to lead the people in prayer." I said, "If Abu Bakr stood at your place (in prayers, the people will not be able to hear him because of his weeping, so order 'Umar to lead the people in prayer." He again said, "Order Abu Bakr to lead the people in prayer" Then I said to Hafsa, "Will you say (to the Prophet), 'If Abu Bakr stood at your place, the people will not be able to hear him because of his weeping, so order 'Umar to lead the people in prayer?" Hafsa did so, whereupon Allah's Apostle said, "You are like the companions of Joseph (See Qur'an, 12:30-32). Order Abu Bakr to lead the people in prayer." Hafsa then said to me, "I have never received any good from you!"

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 19:
Narrated 'Aisha:

(the wife of the Prophet) Allah's Apostle died while Abu Bakr was at a place called As-Sunah (Al-'Aliya) 'Umar stood up and said, "By Allah! Allah's Apostle is not dead!" 'Umar (later on) said, "By Allah! Nothing occurred to my mind except that." He said, "Verily! Allah will resurrect him and he will cut the hands and legs of some men." Then Abu Bakr came and uncovered the face of Allah's Apostle, kissed him and said, "Let my mother and father be sacrificed for you, (O Allah's Apostle), you are good in life and in death. By Allah in Whose Hands my life is, Allah will never make you taste death twice." Then he went out and said, "O oath-taker! Don't be hasty." When Abu Bakr spoke, 'Umar sat down. Abu Bakr praised and glorified Allah and said, No doubt! Whoever worshipped Muhammad, then Muhammad is dead, but whoever worshipped Allah, then Allah is Alive and shall never die." Then he recited Allah's Statement.:-- "(O Muhammad) Verily you will die, and they also will die." (39.30) He also recited:--

"Muhammad is no more than an Apostle; and indeed Apostles have passed away, before him, If he dies Or is killed, will you then Turn back on your heels? And he who turns back On his heels, not the least Harm will he do to Allah And Allah will give reward to those Who are grateful." (3.144)

The people wept loudly, and the Ansar were assembled with Sad bin 'Ubada in the shed of Bani Saida. They said (to the emigrants). "There should be one 'Amir from us and one from you." Then Abu Bakr, Umar bin Al-Khattab and Abu 'baida bin Al-Jarrah went to them. 'Umar wanted to speak but Abu Bakr stopped him. 'Umar later on used to say, "By Allah, I intended only to say something that appealed to me and I was afraid that Abu Bakr would not speak so well. Then Abu Bakr spoke and his speech was very eloquent. He said in his statement, "We are the rulers and you (Ansars) are the ministers (i.e. advisers), "Hubab bin Al-Mundhir said, "No, by Allah we won't accept this. But there must be a ruler from us and a ruler from you." Abu Bakr said, "No, we will be the rulers and you will be the ministers, for they (i.e. Quarish) are the best family amongst the 'Arabs and of best origin. So you should elect either 'Umar or Abu 'Ubaida bin Al-Jarrah as your ruler." 'Umar said (to Abu Bakr), "No but we elect you, for you are our chief and the best amongst us and the most beloved of all of us to Allah's Apostle." So 'Umar took Abu Bakr's hand and gave the pledge of allegiance and the people too gave the pledge of allegiance to Abu Bakr. Someone said, "You have killed Sad bin Ubada." 'Umar said, "Allah has killed him." 'Aisha said (in another narration), ("When the Prophet was on his death-bed) he looked up and said thrice, (Amongst) the Highest Companion (See Qur'an 4.69)' Aisha said, Allah benefited the people by their two speeches. 'Umar frightened the people some of whom were hypocrites whom Allah caused to abandon Islam because of 'Umar's speech. Then Abu Bakr led the people to True Guidance and acquainted them with the right path they were to follow so that they went out reciting:-- "Muhammad is no more than an Apostle and indeed many Apostles have passed away before him.." (3.144)

Note:
a) "best family among us" meant having most people with taqwa and the strength of character needed to act as a leader - Quraish had the most literate people at that time too,
b) Hazrat Abu Bakr's speech after he became caliph, remains one of the most potent lines ever delivered in human history. As muslims we can't thank him enough, considering how he handle the most traumatic time in our history - the death of our Prophet (pbuh) and held together the budding empire.

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 34:
Narrated Ibn Abbas:

When (the dead body of) 'Umar was put on his deathbed, the people gathered around him and invoked (Allah) and prayed for him before the body was taken away, and I was amongst them. Suddenly I felt somebody taking hold of my shoulder and found out that he was 'Ali bin Abi Talib. 'Ali invoked Allah's Mercy for 'Umar and said, "O 'Umar! You have not left behind you a person whose deeds I like to imitate and meet Allah with more than I like your deeds. By Allah! I always thought that Allah would keep you with your two companions, for very often I used to hear the Prophet saying, 'I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar went (somewhere); I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar entered (somewhere); and I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar went out."'

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 38:
Narrated Abu Huraira:

Allah's Apostle said, "Among the nations before you there used to be people who were inspired (though they were not prophets). And if there is any of such a persons amongst my followers, it is 'Umar."

Narrated Abu Huraira: The Prophet said, "Among the nation of Bani Israel who lived before you, there were men who used to be inspired with guidance though they were not prophets, and if there is any of such persons amongst my followers, it is 'Umar."

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 113:
Narrated Abu Musa Al-Ash'ari:

Allah's Apostle said, "Many amongst men attained perfection but amongst women none attained the perfection except Mary, the daughter of Imran and Asiya, the wife of Pharaoh. And the superiority of 'Aisha to other women is like the superiority of Tharid (i.e. an Arabic dish) to other meals."

PS: [all ahadiths are quoted from another thread.]

[This message has been edited by Zalim (edited November 08, 2000).]

This thread is asking for Hadiths about Sahabas. Hence any non hadith or personal views are not welcome

Thanks for the reply Zalim - Your name doesn’t suit you!

[This message has been edited by CoolDude (edited November 08, 2000).]

so basically u guys are trying to convince the sunni audience only right?

convince?? about what?

This thread is for everyone - it's just not for people who want to pit Shia against Sunni.

I want to speak about the virtues of our Beloved Prophet's (PBUH) companions.

cooldude do u know why shia are against them? koi zaat'ti dushmani nahi hai

No I don't - But i've got a feeling you're gonna tell me!

Do me a favour then, answer this only by quoting Quran or Hadith. Nahjul Balagha or Sahih Hadith.

Don't answer it with a personal opinion.

can you do that for me? Cheers buddy!

under ur nick it says searching for the truth..have u just started recently buddy

i always try to provide references

http://www.salaf.indiaaccess.com/sahabah/khalifa_abu_bakr.htm

“If I were to take a friend other than my Lord, I would take Abu Bakr as a friend.” (hadiths)

Meaning of the Word ‘KHALIFAH’
The word ‘Caliph’ is the English form of the Arabic word ‘KHALIFAH,’ which is short for Khalifatu Rasulil-lah. The latter expression means Successor to the Messenger of God, the Holy Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him). The title ‘Khalifatu Rasulil-lah’. was first used for Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu}, who was elected head of the Muslim community after the death of the Prophet.

The Significance of the Caliphate
The mission of Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him), like that of the earlier messengers of God, was to call people to the worship of and submission to the One True God. In practice, submission to God means to obey His injunctions as given in the Holy Qur’ân and as exemplified by Sunnah {the practice of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him)} As successor to the Prophet, The Caliph {KHALIFAH} was the head of the Muslim community and his primary responsibility was to continue in the path of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him). Since religion was perfected and the door of Divine revelation was closed at the death of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him), the Caliph {KHALIFAH} was to make all laws in accordance with the Qur’ân and the Sunnah. He was a ruler over Muslims but not their sovereign since sovereignty belongs to God alone. He was to be obeyed as long as he obeyed God. He was responsible for creating and maintaining conditions under which it would be easy for Muslims to live according to Islamic principles, and to see that justice was done to all. Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu}, at the time he accepted the caliphate, {Khilaafat} stated his position thus:

“The weak among you shall be strong with me until their rights have been vindicated; and the strong among you shall he weak with me until, if the Lord wills, I have taken what is due from them… Obey me as long as I obey God and His Messenger. When I disobey Him and His Prophet, then obey me not.”

Election to the Caliphate
The Prophet’s closest Companion, Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu}, was not present when the Holy Prophet (peace be on him) breathed his last in the apartment of his beloved wife of later years, Aaishah {Radiyallaahu’anha}, Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu}'s daughter.

When Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} came out of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) 's apartment and broke the news, disbelief and dismay gripped the community of Muslims in Medina. Muhammad (peace be on him) had been the leader, the guide and the bearer of Divine revelation through whom they had been brought from idolatry and barbarism into the way of God. How could he die? Even Umar {Radiyallaahu’anhu}, one of the bravest and strongest of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) 's Companions, lost his composure and drew his sword and threatened to kill anyone who said that the Prophet was dead. Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} gently pushed him aside, ascended the steps of the lectern in the mosque and addressed the people, saying

“O people, verily whoever worshipped Muhammad, behold! Muhammad is indeed dead. But whoever worships God, behold! God is alive and will never die.”

And then he concluded with a verse from the Qur’ân:

“And Muhammad is but a Messenger. Many Messengers have gone before him; if then he dies or is killed, will you turn back upon your heels?”
Al-Qur’ân Soorah Ale-Imraan 3:144

On hearing these words, the people were consoled. Despondency gave place to confidence and tranquility. This critical moment had passed. But the Muslim community was now faced with an extremely serious problem: that of choosing a leader. After some discussion among the Companions of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) who had assembled in order to select a leader, it became apparent that no one was better suited for this responsibility than Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu}. A portion of the speech the First Caliph gave after his election has already been quoted in the introduction.

Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu}'s Life
Abu Bakr (‘The Owner of Camels’) was not his real name. He acquired this name later in life because of his great interest in raising camels. His real name was Abdul Ka’aba (‘Slave of Ka’aba’), which Muhammad (peace be on him) later changed to Abdullah (‘Slave of God’). The Prophet also gave him the title of ‘Siddeeq’ ‘The Testifier to the Truth.’

Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} was a fairly wealthy merchant, and before he embraced Islam, was a respected citizen of Mecca. He was three years younger than Muhammad (peace be on him) and some natural affinity drew them together from earliest child hood. He remained the closest Companion of the Prophet all through the Prophet’s life. When Muhammad (peace be on him) first invited his closest friends and relatives to Islam, Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} was among the earliest to accept it. He also persuaded Uthman and Bilaal to accept Islam. In the early days of the Prophet’s mission, when the handful of Muslims were subjected to relentless persecution and torture, Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} bore his full share of hardship. Finally when God’s permission came to emigrate from Mecca, he was the one chosen by the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) to accompany him on the dangerous journey to Medina. In the numerous battles which took place during the life of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) Abu Bakr was always by his side. Once, he brought all his belongings to the Prophet, who was raising money for the defense of Medina. The Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) asked “Abu Bakr, what did you leave for your family?” The reply came: “God and His Prophet.”

Even before Islam, Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} was known to be a man of upright character and amiable and compassionate nature. All through his life he was sensitive to human suffering and kind to the poor and helpless. Even though he was wealthy, he lived very simply and spent his money for charity, for freeing slaves and for the cause of Islam. He often spent part of the night in supplication and prayer. He shared with his family a cheerful and affectionate home life.

Abu-Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu}'s Caliphate
Such, then, was the man upon whom the burden of leadership fell at the most sensitive period in the history of the Muslims.
As the news of the Prophet’s death spread, a number of tribes rebelled and refused to pay Zakaah (poor-due), saying that this was due only to the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him). At the same time a number of impostors claimed that the Prophethood had passed to them after Muhammad (peace be on him) and they raised the standard of revolt. To add to all this, two powerful empires, the Eastern Roman and the Persian, also threatened the new-born Islamic state at Medina.

Under these circumstances, many Companions of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him), including Umar {Radiyallaahu’anhu}, advised Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} to make concessions to the Zakaah evaders, at least for a time. The new Caliph disagreed. He insisted that the Divine Law cannot be divided, that there is no distinction between the obligations of Zakaah and Salaah (prayer), and that any compromise with the injunctions of God would eventually erode the foundations of Islam. Umar and others were quick to realize their error of judgment. The revolting tribes attacked Medina but the Muslims were prepared. Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} himself led the charge, forcing them to retreat. He then made a relentless war on the false claimants to Prophethood, most of whom submitted and again professed Islaam.

The threat from the Roman Empire had actually arisen earlier, during the Prophet’s lifetime. The Prophet had organized an army under the command of Usaama {Radiyallaahu’anhu} , the son of a freed slave. The army had not gone far when the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) had fallen ill so they stopped. After the death of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) the question was raised whether the army should be sent again or should remain for the defense of Medina. Again Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} showed a firm determination. He said,

“I shall send Usaama’s army on its way as ordered by the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him), even if I am
left alone.”

The final instructions he gave to Usaama {Radiyallaahu’anhu} prescribed a code of conduct in war which remains unsurpassed to this day. Part of his instructions to the Muslim army were:

“Do not be deserters, nor be guilty of disobedience Do not kill an old man, a woman or a child. Do not injure date palms and do not cut down fruit trees. Do not slaughter any sheep or cows or camels except for food. You will encounter persons who spend their lives in monasteries. Leave them alone and do not molest them.”

Khalid bin Waleed {Radiyallaahu’anhu} had been chosen by the Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him) on several occasions to lead Muslim armies. A man of supreme courage and a born leader, his military genius came to full flower during the Caliphate (Khilaafat) of Abu Bakr. Throughout Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} 's reign Khalid bin Waleed {Radiyallaahu’anhu} led his troops from one victory to another against the attacking Romans.

Another contribution of Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} to the cause of Islaam was the collection and compilation of the verses of the Qur’ân.

Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} died on 21 Jamadi-al Akhir, 13 A.H. (23 August 634 C.E.), at the age of sixty-three, and was buried by the side of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (peace be on him). His caliphate had been of a mere twenty-seven months duration. In this brief span, however, Abu Bakr {Radiyallaahu’anhu} had managed, by the Grace of God, to strengthen and consolidate his community and the state, and to secure the Muslims against the perils which had threatened their existence.
http://www.salaf.indiaaccess.com/sahabah/khalifa_abu_bakr.htm

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

Some QURANIC verses regarding the Sahabah:

A Companion is defined as one who met the Prophet (s.a.w.s) in a state of belief and who died in that state. Allah said (after mentioning some of the hypocrites who stayed behind from Jihad): {Rather, the Prophet and those who believe with him fought with their property and their lives for these are all good things, they are the successful ones and Allah has prepared for them gardens beneath which rivers flow therein forever and that is the great success.} At-Taubah: 88-89

Allah’s praise of the Companions also extends to all those who follow their way. Allah said: {The forerunners those who came first among the Migrators and the Helpers and those who followed them with the best. Allah is pleased with them and they are pleased with Him and Allah has prepared for them gardens beneath which rivers flow therein forever and that is the great success.} At-Taubah: 100

Abu Bakr’s high rank is indicated, among other signs, by the fact that to deny his Companionship to the Prophet entails disbelief (kufr), unlike the denial of the Companionship of Umar, Uthman, and `Ali to the Prophet.[12] This is due to the mention of this companionship in the verse: “The second of two when the two were in the cave, and he said unto his companion: Grieve not” (9:40) which refers, by Consensus, to the Prophet and Abu Bakr. Allah further praised him above the rest by saying: **“Those who spent and fought before the victory are not upon a level (with the rest of you).” **(57:10)

Good Luck.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

[This message has been edited by The Watcher (edited November 08, 2000).]