proof that our awam is not ready for democracy

Re: proof that our awam is not ready for democracy

fraudia, you have made some valid points. i would however like to point out that all asian countries that went from being basket cases like pak to being developed in less than 50 years went through long period of authoritarian rule. what was important for countries like korea and taiwan was that govt's main goal was to develop the economy for which consistent economic policy is the key. in contrast, their is not a single asian country over the last 50 years that has been a democracy and went from being basket case economy to being developed.

bottomline, i dont think democracy is the answer to pak's probelm at this point in time.

flame of life, i would have musharraf act like general pinochet or park chung hee. google to find more about them. you will be amazed to find similarities between the circumstances musharraf finds himself under and the situation park chung hee dealt with. hint: both supported americans despite huge opposition at home.

fraudia is right on the money. we need to cast our personal prejudices aside and evaluate policies and actions in light of whats best for pak. all rulers did some good and some bad. i hate bhutto for destroying pak economy but i really admire him for the role he played in developing our nuclear program and starting relationship with china. similarly i admire bb for tackling mqm and cleaning karachi. however corruption of ppp govt destroyed the economy.

right now i support musharraf because in my opinion he is the best we have available. people however are free to disagree with me. its a free world and musharraf is not my relative.

Can you please correleate democracy and literacy? I believe literacy is not much of a factor in Pakistan when adopting democracy, the biggest hurdles are nature of people, society, thought process, rationality and not to forget army (:D) etc. I know it has been said umpteen times before but I will say it again, look at the champion of democracy parties i.e. PPP, PMLs, JI, MQM etc, when was the last time they had elections for party leadership? PPP even elected BB as "lifetime" chairperson. Ejazul Haq becomes MNA just because of his fathers "political" stunts.

Democracy will prosper as "evolving" process through government/institutions, it cannot be shrugged off just because people are illiterate or they sympathise with "radicals" or they are personality worshippers, corruption etc.

Pakistani populace is not capable of democratic governance. The majority are like cattle. With the same intelligence and understanding of the world. I have very little hope for them, having seen how they respond to a menace within there own backyard. An idiot nation.

You probably don't know why more people are getting aligned with radicalism then "nationalism". Seed of radicalism was sown in late 1970s early 80s by none other than Zia by volunteering to "educate" Pakistanis for a neighbor's war and someone else's interests (mainly US). Since then education has been going on, madrassah after madrassah were established whose "output" was utilized in war against Russia but when the war was over the same institutions were used to support/form "Taliban" and when "Taliban" became world's eye sore we suddenly stopped supporting them politically and abandoned them completely. It is a separate debate though (the whole Taliban "phenomena"). But our govt/ISI didn't do much damage control other than trying to change syllabus of FSc and an attempt to control syllabi of "madrassahs". Well it was too late. Now people are demanding to kill them, do you think it can be done in days/months? When you use force to "eliminate" such menace, more people get involved in it (due to "collateral" damage) and sympathies then turn towards "victims".

I know the history of Islaminization in Pak. Zia is single handedly responsible for setting Pak on the path to destruction. It cannot remain as a tenable state with two seperate systems, sadly its the backward system that is the widely supported one.

We are going the Iran route. As Galloway says, 1 bullet away from an Islamic revolution. That will bring the US raining missiles down on us. FACT.

Then we need to adapt similar measures to eliminate the militancy mindset. We need to 'assimilate' such institutions, control them so their "output" is better utilised and "productive", it will take time but it will be more effective than bullets and bombs.

This alone is the biggest proof.

Excellently put pir ji! :lajawab:

acha. mein samjha yeh rozay ka kamal hai. :p

Edit: Waesay I don't believe in political neutrality. I think a political debate is all about taking sides, sticking to it, and ridiculing the opponent :biggthumb

thanx for the hints and all but I dont think I'll need them. U wish Pinochet for my country. I wish someone like him/Hitler or Saddam is bestowed on ur country to clean up all the problems. Unless, u r in a place where there r no problems?

I know, useless debate. No matter how much one is overawed by these majestic personalities of the last century.

Obviously u r neither part of this nation, nor in the majority.

Go u :biggthumb

Good point.

Just remember what the so-called democratic leaders did to Pakistan.

right. then we should all stop wasting time here, and perhaps close this place down?

iska transmission mechanism (*if I may borrow that term from economics *:p) kya ho ga kamal bhai? Idea of course is very good. hmm We already have a pressure group sort of thing going here..PILDAT. it was set up by an expat Pakistani. Amir Mehboob. I've emailed him once or twice. Plus, what new stuff would we be unearthing here? Govt.'s have been trying to convict BB for 10 years now and havent been able to do it in one case. So if we drag out those skeletons, we already know the answer...politically motivated. And I just wish u had access to regular TV programming from Pak. BB and NS do get asked about Lifetime chairperson ship and lack of democracy in their parties. They often gole mole it. Just today she was asked about her chairperson ship and she said..hey I did not appoint myself to the post..people did and if they have faith in my abilities, so be it. U know...kind of like dead end.

this is no excuse but our political parties r not run that way =/

what u propose might hold true in urban areas but most people in Pakistan r still getting votes based on biradri system. If I am still around here by the time of elections, I might ask a few questions here and there. If anyone comes asking for votes.

Very balanced post. :k:

Pir ji, and Flame, let's propose and list some orgs, channels (not tv), thinktanks and depts that we can reach out to and write to. Then we can once again take a few issues, to start chose one, and do our discussion, research, proposals etc and compile it and actually send it to some place where it may be atleast received, read, archived if not heeded, and perhaps it may be taken serious in some way by some dept, official, org etc. We'll also have to define ways to reach out to and approach the parties/depts we write to and should use any links/connections available to reach out.
We can set in motion the earlier plans again, as well as the other plans focusing on such objectives, or we could wait for slight reduction in political turbulence as participation has to be ensured.
it's true with this much energy and ideas we have here, we should put it to use...

http://dawn.com/weekly/cowas/cowas.htm

When the majority of people in Pakistan were eating mithai when Nawaz was overthrown by Musharraf on 12 Oct '99, they weren’t too bothered about democracy.