Pronouncing Names Correctly

We’re trying to choose baby names and have come across the issue of pronounciation. Naming your child in the west is difficult because you want to have a name that will be easy to pronounce…otherwise the name will be butchered and the child will be made fun of.

Can you please suggest some unique baby names that are also easy to pronounce.

If its a boy we are thinking Shayaan, would this name be easily pronounced?

Re: Pronouncing Names Correctly

Danial
Ibrahim
Azaan
Ali
Yahya
Yousuf

that is all I can think of ! I think they would be easy to pronounce.

Not if the kid butchers the name callers... :@:

Okay seriously I know what you mean but I would always like to name my children with powerfull and evocative names. The sort of name most folk would just hear and know instantly... :)

Ali is an awesome name!

I also suggest names like.

Assad.

Haidar.

Musa.

Ameen.

Imaad.

Zaid.

Amir.

Umar.

You will have issues with pronunciation no matter what you name your child...name them what you want.

how you spell ur name also plays an important role. my nephews name is Umar...ppl started calling him U-maaar then my bro changed the spelling to Omar then again same result with just a minor variation. this time it was pronounced as O-maaar. Finally, my bro changed to Omer and now its much more closer to what we want them to pronounce.

Shayaan isn't easy to pronounce, but some are very hard eg Aliyaan would be close to Alien.
Zoheb, Nyle, Sameer and Mikal are nice names qand easy to prnounce.

As Reha said, no matter what, you can not wipe off the problem. So select the name that you like :)

i have a friend Asif and they call him "as if". In fact someone cracked a joke that Asif will open an eye care shop after retirement and he will name it

"as if I care"

thanks guys for the input, its a difficult task!

**:omg: true…who cares! :smiley:

THREE of my friends had to change their names right away as soon as first gora called his name in the US…use ur imagination:

1. AAS MoHammad
  2. Nudrat [Nude Rat} :omg:
  3. FaKhar Ahmad**[/COLOR]

height of imagination of KKF bhai :D

Mazhar Fakhar.

^ lol!!

Shayaan should be pretty ok but I think Cheyenne/Shayan is actually a female name in the West, if that matters to you.

Cheyenne is a unisex Native American name, not that anyone has mentioned it in this thread.

I knowa shayaan male and female in pakistan so I think its a pretty universal name....

as long as you choose a respected muslim name for your child everything else is secondary

ppl make fun of names in pakistan too....lalarukh is lala direction etc

we had the same problem here in germany. yahaan par to naam ko aur bhi kharaab kar dete hein...

but shayaan is really nice and i think easy to pronounce... where do u live?

in the UK, any other suggestions of easy to pronounce names?

How about ADAM. It is very popular as a western name but also very Islamic. I also love Musa and Kamran ( could be pronounced as Cameron!). For girls I like Aneesa and Maliha(which is also Obama's daughter's name)

Do you want your child to have an easy to pronounce name or one with character, dignity and a pious meaning?

My name is Huma. How difficult is that to pronounce? Yet there’s a bazillion versions of my name - homa, hooma, heyuma, hema, hama, even human! :teary2:

Lol I don’t even care any more. My supervisor was like “no, you should care, it’s your name, people should get it right” and I was like pffttt whatevz.