Problem with SND_PC.PAK in EA Cricket 2004

Hi fellow guppies,

I am having problem running EA Cricket 2004. This file is not properly copied whenever I try to install the game on my machine. This seems to be a sound file but somehow the game stops as soon as a match is about to start.

Please advise if anyone has experienced this and also if you have a solution for it

TIA

Re: Problem with SND_PC.PAK in EA Cricket 2004

Assalam-o-Alaikum TrueLies Bhai. :)

I saw your thread this morning at work, and remembered to provide you with my side of the response soon upon my arrival at home. I have EA Sports Cricket 2002, 2004 and 2005 installed on my PC. Apart from a few and far bugs and minor glitches in all these versions, I enjoy playing them at my leisure.

This sound file that you are having problems with - I checked in my Cricket2004/Data folder, and I did find it lying there. The actual filesize is 158,308 KB. Could you let me know the filesize from your end? My assumption is that it may not match the actual filesizes from both of our ends, since you mentioned that it is not getting properly copied on installation.

I can definitely send you a zipped version of this file. Please let me know if you require one.

Array wah ... DB ji tusi aithay? It is indeed very thoughtful of you to remember it even from the luxury of your home :). I actually do not have it in my file system since it never got copied after the "CRC failed" error.
It would be so very nice of you if you could send me the one for EA Cricket 2004, since I only have CRICKET_PC.gob in the Data folder right now, which probably contains the game data but not the audio files. I believe this is what's stopping the game from loading.

BTW, how good are you in EA Cricket 2005 by now? :) I've been trying its demo version since yesterday and finally won one game today :D

Here we are. Please do keep me updated on the status from your side, and whether or not the game has started to work in a proper manner. :slight_smile:

On the note of EA Cricket 2005, when I first started the game, I concentrated only on batting. Limited overs (mostly 10), I batted for weeks continuous and refuse to try out in the bowling department, at least until recent past. There are a few loopholes that you can use in both departments, those which I have discovered by reading through the many threads in the official EA Cricket Sports Forum, guidelines written by many of its members. For instance, if you want to dismiss the opposition for as little score as possible, Rana Naveed should open the attack (instead of Shoaib). Have him bang the bowl very short (place the bowling marker just centimeters in front of his foot) and straighten the line of the delivery. Chances are, more than likely, that either the ball will crash onto the stumps, or an LBW is on the cards. Another “bug” that I have came across with; if you get a fast bowler to bowl a deliberate full-toss (stomach-length) and place 3-4 fielders on the leg-side, chances are that the batsman will either play the ball straight into the hands of the fielder, or the stumps will be pegged back many inches, which is always a beautiful sight to see. By trying out these new loopholes in both batting and bowling, one can enjoy the game more, especially in circumstances where, after a certain period of time, it gets awful dreary.

Although I wish there was a multiplayer option in the PC version, similar to where they have implemented the same on PS2, where one can play against an opponent, which makes the game more interesting. But yes, all in all, a quite decent game, and once you get to know a handful of these tips and tricks, it makes it further exciting to see your own side win.

One thing I do wish they would have done, or would have at least tried to maintain - is the design that they have blended in with the players. Glenn McGrath and Jason Gillespie - if you were to see their white-painted faces in the game itself, it resembles so close to their real-life facial structures, yet the likes of Rana and Shoaib have been dipped in black paint - literally. One simply cannot differentiate if the entire Pakistani team were to stand, side-by-side, as to who is who.

Good to read on your winning note. :slight_smile:

Verryyyyyyyyyyyyy interesting!! (As Shiva would say)...

I learnt about a tip on hitting a SIX on forum that helped me win my first demo game! You have to press the arrow key wherever you want to hit (normally a leg-side LAPAITA would do), keep the SHIFT+Advance Shot keys (D?) pressed and press the S key continuously.

You are right that learning these extra tricks makes the game much more exciting. I am downloading the file right which is at 34% and its 5:54 AM here. So let's see how it goes.

A bundle of thanks and I would send another one once the game actually works, inshaAllah :D

:frowning: My luck. Here is the error detail.
Can you please send me “Cricket2004.EXE” as well. I think I’ll transform my game into yours by the time I get it working! :smiley:

I’ll send you another bundle once I get this file :halo:

BTW dhobi jee, whats the file size of "cricket_pc.gob" at your end? Here it is about 791 MB.

Indeed. Glad I could be of help. We will get the game working in full-flow very soon, from your end. :slight_smile:

Most definitely. Here we are.

Exactly the same size as mine. :slight_smile:

*LangRay aam ki teen paiteean aur lifetime supply of Gulaab Jaman. Meharbani Sir. *:smiley: