Problem- Playing Cricket during Ramadan

Ramadan is coming up and I am in a bit of a pickle. No pun intended.

Work place has set up a cricket match which falls during Ramadan. I help set this up too. Unfortunately no other dates were available.

Now what do i do? As a sportsmen am i exempt from fasting for that day? Like the pakistani team are. Should I just make up the fast later on?

I would like to show the tolerant and flexible side of our deen to my white NM work colleagues also.

Please enlighten me on the best course of action…

Re: Problem- Playing Cricket during Ramadan

Make up the fast later.....

People do still play sports while fasting. Why don't you try that?

Yeah, a whole bunch of my friends play in local league cricket during Ramadan while fasting.

Unfortunately i cant do that. Im not exactly in the most healthiest phase of my life...so it will be hard to fast and play at the same time.

Of course i would fast to make it up later on though

unfortunately, under strict interpretations, you cannot really 'flex' the guidance here. Either fast and play, or fast and not play. Playing sports is not considered as an excuse, specially when you are not a professional sportsman.

Personally, i feel God is forgiving and might forgive you since your intentions are not malicious.

I admit i am not a professional sportsman....so those rules dont apply to me.

Would this not show our Deen to be in a tolerant/flexible light? I can always make up the fast later on after Ramadan, and even though the reward wouldnt be as much at least i would have done my Fardh.

Would you risk your job/bonus and/or other worldly benefit for this game? would you still play if you have something important in your office which can land you in better opportunity? would you still play if you an interview call from your dream job?

Don't answer me or anyone for that matter.. answer it to the person inside you....

The flexibility is for the people who have no other option left and Allah Subhan.o.tala says in Quran that Don't make joke out of my orders... i am not saying that you are making it, but just think about it... Fasting of Ramadan is mandatory to all Muslims no exceptions for any silly game of cricket or football

BTW, cricket is not fast game like hockey or Football which require ur engagement for the whole period... it is rather a slow game where at a time only two players play... and more interestingly, none of the two players have a chance ( and it is neither recommended) to eat and drink while they are playing ( i am talking about batsmen and bowler).

It is entirely on ur priorities...

You raise a valid point! Thank you for putting it that way!

Point for discussion:

What if the thread opener fasted and played anyway..... in the event of there being a resulting condition such as collapsing from dehydration or heat exhaustion, he could then cite being sick as a valid reason to break his fast and drink, and catch up for the missed fast later.

In other words, he could try and play while fasting, and break his fast if health issues arise as a result of his playing while fasting. Correct or incorrect?

My only thought when i raised this thread was to show the NM's that the deen does have a flexible side...and is not strict and rigid...and can bend according to ones needs.

Hanibal put it very nicely. I think it would be more important to show adherence to a fardh rather than to show that we are willing to forgo it so easily. What if you decided to play only until you get tired then take a break and sit the rest of the time out?

If you're trying to leave an impression on your colleagues, then I think the better way to go would be to keep observing the fast.

I'd say the closest I've come to your situation recently is that every now and then I have to travel to meet clients out of town. Sometimes we also go for lunch. But if it's Ramadan, then I just excuse myself from that on the basis that I'm fasting.

:mash:

and :no: I wasnt being sarcastic.
I liked the posts made above :slight_smile:

Peace STONECOLD

The advice given to you here is very sound I would adopt it. It is not necessarily the ideal intention to show "how felxible" Islam is. This will not appeal to NMs since their whole life they spend making everything felxible for themselves. They will view Islam in the same way if you show them this, oh, just another club.

We need to show them that we have a passion for Islam. Yes, inshaAllah fast and play and hopefully you will not over exert yourself. This means you can give others more chance to play rather than take the limelight and they will love you for that. They will love you for letting them bat first and bowl extra overs. Just intervene if your team is losing badly. Hopefully you actions will bring about team spirit and you will not lose but win anyway.

The key word is 'needs' ... what are your needs? Not your 'likes' but your needs ...???

Bismillah karo and struggle to make a difference, not 'relax' to make a difference, that does not even sound good. Yes, struggle is loved by all.

Fasting while in the gripes of battle is the best of ibadat.

Like hanibal bhai said i'm sure in agame of cricket you can get by even though your fasting.

Come on Yaar dont shame the centuries of muslim warriors show your mettle and fast and play.

Good luck i'm sure you can make it and victory i hope will be yours.

:salam2:

Ramadhan comes once in a year and being a muslim we believe that Allah SWT wrote a specific period for us in this world and after that we’ll be returned to HIM. Moroever we don’t know when our times up. So better u go 4 fasting first as in Qur’an, Allah SWT said in difference ayats:

Surat Al Mu’minun 23:115 "Then did you think that We created you uselessly and that to Us you would not be returned?"

Surat Al Baqarah 2:183 “O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous -”

Surat Al Baqarah 2:184 “[Fasting for] a limited number of days. So whoever among you is ill or on a journey [during them] - then an equal number of days [are to be made up]. And upon those who are able [to fast, but with hardship] - a ransom [as substitute] of feeding a poor person [each day]. And whoever volunteers excess - it is better for him. But to fast is best for you, if you only knew”

So my advice that don’t excempt ur fasting on any other day. Better u fast and go for play or whatever u wanna do.

am also sportsman and in the Ramadhan month we play ‘football’ after asr till Maghrib and on weekend we start after dhuhar prayer and finish before maghrib. In the meanwhile i do recite some surah of Qur’an repeatedly or sometime i repeats Zikar’s (hamd-o-sanaa). I never felt thirsty and this act made my more strengthen in my body.

I have been told by many westerners that Islam seems to be a difficult religion to follow. They have made quiet a few 'changes' to their religions to make them 'comfortable' to follow.

My response normally is that we consider the life in this world as a 'test' by God. If we do well in test, we get reward and if we fail, we are punished. Just as in any other examination. Now the idea is that examinations normally have regulations that everyone needs to follow and they are usually difficult to attempt. If we are disciplined, we'll do well.

Well put merey Bhai thats the first thing all Muslim men must learn. :salute:

fasting in ramadhan is fardh,playing cricket is not.

thankss