Print Making *Etching*

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2228/2534173423_01a17431a7.jpg

this art piece is called “Malta”

This process is called etching (hard ground specifically used), on Zinc plate.
process: you etch (make the marks) with etching tools and then place it into Nitric acid for 20 minutes.
and then wash the plate> apply ink> scrap the away the ink (so all the etched lines fills with ink)> place the clean paper on presser> and then place this zinc plate on the paper, which is placed on the presser.

its a very looooongs process, but the traces is pretty enigmatic, dramatic, and lasting

Re: Print Making Etching

wow great work zobia. I like the detail and all the head work you put in there.

Well done and keep it up. :jhanda:

wow zabardast...

which ink (brand name) is used?

what is presser?

copper and zinc plate .....any difference?

NaMaan- thank you :hooray:

fazeelat- shukeria :blush:

1. - i cant recall the ink brand, but it was oil based…it was part of the coursse and i used it in proper vandalized rooms, otherwise its not hard to pass out while constantly in contant with these inks.

we were in fact forced to go on breaks in open air…cuz u do get unconscious when using them.

but if u were wana do it…go to this site.

2. - presser (well in actual it is called printing press )

it looks like that

3. and yes there is a different between Cu and Zn plates.

copper plate is good for, at most, a few hundred printings of a strongly etched imaged before the degradation is considered too great by the artist. At that point, the artist can manually restore the plate by re-etching it, essentially putting ground back on and retracing their lines; alternately, plates can be electro-plated before printing with a harder metal to preserve the surface.

Zinc is also used, because as a softer metal, etching times are shorter; however, that softness also leads to faster degradation of the image in the press.

source

WoooooooooooooooW! Can you please add this to the list of artwork you are supposed to send me someday?

^ :blush:

chachi app nay “Print Making” nahi kiya kia?

I never did that Zobia.

That is superb! well done zobia!

Jitni tareef karaiN kam hai!

I am not replying as I do not know how to ask a question that has nothing to do with the post.
where do I go to get a list of messages and how do I ask a question without replying

Sorry, I am new to this forum and I have been searching for an etching forum for months and now that I have found it, I cannot seem to figure it out.

grrrrr

Jeanne, help please.

wow !

thank you everyone…:smiley:

jeanne, it is not an etching forum…in fact you landed on Pakistani Forum. :hehe:

ps. if you want to ask any question regarding etching please feel free to ask, and i will try to answer it as the best as i could…btw welcome on the board…and enjoy your stay here…it is a very friendly space.

looks delicous :cb:

here is another print making intaglio piece

App ki Khwashat (Ur desires)

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3212/3143430684_9beb2e5c41_b.jpg

i made this Intaglio Print Making piece two years ago.

it shows how we ask these birds (who are slaves themselves) to tell us about our fate…How Ironic!

on the printing process…well it was extremely hard as we have to put the Zinc plate into the Nitric acid and rub the feather on the plate (when it was the acid) after every three minutes. …an other qamar-toor project of my life!

^^ very nice indeed. Love the drawing/etching and the technique is fasinating.

hi res please, your always posting too small these days, cant see any details. Also maybe an ultra zoom of an area so we can see the actual etching effect.

thank you for these kind words. i reposted it.

Zobia I have an idea for you.
But if you make millions I want my share.
With etching make evil pictures like "sheatan"
"bats"

OR "jin" "churail"

PS: for chrial u can use GS shup as ref. there some here too.

Zobia u can artist? did u study art that is?? great job here. I came across one etching tech. using sand. have you tried that? what do you think about that?

very nice and talented

superb :k:

Very nice. Samajh tu nahi aya ke ye banta kaisay hai lekin acha hai

Art our ishq dono muskil kaam hain :chai:

Oukhey PainDey , Lameyaan ne rawaan ishq deyaan ..

**Zabardast Ullo numa ye tota mujhy buhat pasand aiya Qismat Ka hal:D