"Princess"

After reading this wonderful book by Jean Sasson I am yet more determine in helping women of our Muslim nations. Inshallah Allah will give me enough strength to unveil at least some of those crack heads. This is a marvelous piece of writing and is one of the top 500 books that were ever written by women. It describes a life of a Princess or perhaps any Saudi women and how they are being treated in their own country. It will also show you the level where men place women in that rich country.
My soul was shivering while reading those 250 pages. My anger towards men and fear from Saudi men grew more. That fear was in a sense that i am at a point to hate them with passion. I remember living in Jeddah a place, which I called home a place where I wanted to back and live again. As a child, I adored that place perhaps it gave a perfect balance to my soul. I was there during Gulf war and studied in Pakistani Embassy School. We were always amused by those luxuries villas/Royal Palace of Royal Family. I was amaze after hearing and reading that those rich women had NO life. We were far more better then them and Alhumdulilah on that.

My house was few blocks away from Filipino Embassy and every year during the month of June and July we would see buses filled with women. At that time I was told; A Filipino woman have to perform hajj before she gets married. I can still picture several women wearing mainly white Hijabs. After reading “Princess” my thoughts have changed. Some of them were probably there to fulfill some jackass prince’s sexual desire.

I simply can not understand a man who prays 5 times a day and recite Quran shareef would not understand the real meaning of it. I sometime question If their prayers have any meaning to their lives. Those five prayers should remind one each time they get on the prayer mat that they will be questioned in front of Allah. How can you one commit several unlawful acts and still go back to that prayer mat and pray.

I always felt uncomfortable when Saudi stared at my face even when I was 13. I couldn’t understand it back then but today I do. I remember when I was coming to US I was alone for few minutes and I saw some Police officers at least 4 of them literally scanning my body with their evil eyes. Those rascals would not leave you even if you wore Abaya [burkha]. I use to feel protected in that piece of cloth.
I was surprise to read that circumcision was still a widely practice among Royals. I am totally disgusted by those Saudi men. Even here in US if you happen to walk in to a store/mall/shop and there is a Saudi guy he will stare up and down. [DO NOT accuse me of generalizing people…. Speaking from experience… I will change my statement if I see a change but so far…. *sigh]

Divorce- Over there this word is just like any other word. They marry women to have babies legally. I am not saying that cause I read the book. My father’s manager and our neighbor have done the same thing. My father’s manager had 3 wives and had separate houses for them. [once i heard my parents conversation when my father told my mom that his manager had several mistresses. He said it in punjabi i didnt understand it back then… yeah i heard my parent’s conversation - i have done several crazy things ]Our neighbor loved giving divorce… once I heard he divorced his wife because she went to shopping mall without his permission. It didn’t matter even if she went with his mother.

Read the book I am sure you will have tears in your eyes… well at least those of us who have heart. My heart is aching, I am shivering with anger and I am sure my blood pressure is pretty high.

To those low life MEN: Even though Allah made us from your ribs that does not mean we are your property. Stop raping us before we turn around and rape you. [Rape – rape of feelings, emotions- not physical desire]

To Women and Sensible MEN: Those of you who are Girls/Women you and i are blessed to be born in a family and society that accept us as a person. Even though we still complain about thousand things believe me we are Blessed. Perhaps some of us can help those women if not directly some how indirectly.

http://www.princesssultanascircle.com/home.htm

Nia, I have read that book too, a long time back when I was in 12th grade. For some reason I don't accept that everything written in that book is entirely true, though I'm sure some of it is, but it seems grossly exaggerated. Sorry to say this but the authoress seemed to me to be a bit of a sellout. Allah o Alim.

"some " is the word my friend....

You remined me of this girl who i had a fight with. I dont quite remember the reason but i remembered her parents had to come to our house. We use to go in the same bus. She use to live 2 blocks away from my house, poor girl was dead scared of nia. I punched her pretty bad obviously she got the last point of my last nerve.
Her parents came over and met my family, they came to complain. I found out her father was Saudi and mother was Pakistani. She was one of the abused kids herself. I apologized ofcourse.... and i hated myself for hurting her.....

:~)

Huh? Why do I remind you of her?

*giggling

Don't worry sista - I am getting flashback of my memories of Jeddah and for some strange reason you reminded me of that incident. Dont worry :~)

its 12;20 am ...

Dont worry. I am not worried. You can keep giggling all you want LOL

Ta for now got an exam tomorrow :-)

american policy these days is fully focused on spoiling the image of saudi royal family....

u dont have to take all the s**t they give u about ur own muslim brothers....

and if u think the writer here is really a princess of saudi arabia, then it wud not be difficut for me to make u believe i come from mars!!!!

*Originally posted by armughal: *
and if u think the writer here is really a princess of saudi arabia, then it wud not be difficut for me to make u believe i come from mars!!!!

I thought your a Mughal descendant..
oh well, i believe everything these days..

reminds me of this Bahranian princess i think it was.... who came on the OPRAH show to pretty much throw mud at the royal family.. and a couple of yrs down the lane.... changed her stance.....
most of what u have said... is true for so many men around the world... its not just a saudi thing..... desi men can get downright horny... azizia..... kababish..... and hiraj are just a few places where u can find such men ...... and ofcourse.. u studied in pakistani embassy school.. no one knows more than u what kinda situation would arise everyday when girls school let out. saudi men weren't the ones ogling or drooling

i have read this book and i agree with irem... most of it was a load of hogwash.... if royal saudi men are such devils.. royal saudi women bhi koi kum nahi hai (in reference to the part in the book about some royal daughter being a lesbian)..... saudi women are not pure and nor are they allah mein ke gaye..... my dad deals with not the royal family but plenty sheikhs and their families.... from what he sees... saudi women are 2 steps ahead of saudi men ;)
reading is not believing :) atleast it shouldn't be

Nia the next book I suggest for you woudl be "Blasphemy" (sp?)

Would take the hate for "MAN-kind" up a notch!

Can't remember who it's by but I think SHE is a Pakistani... read it about 8 years ago..I still remember every page... shivers

Nia - Excellent post and analysis of the book coupled with experiences of your own. You have matured so much in such a short period of time (three months may be). Wow. I am impressed.

I don't believe anything is exxaggerated in the book or in your comments. If anything it happens a lot more than whats being said. I was in Saudia for Umrah a few years ago and it was a great experience. But I am sory to say that I felt this weird feeling that women weren't being themselves. It was a strange feeling. Your description of the policemen staring at you (at 13 yrs) is a classical example of saudi men. I don't know why some Pakistanis feel obligated to defend Saudis. It may be because they are the custodians of the two great mosques but it doesn't mean we should live in denial. The society has it's flaws and it is really laughable when Pakistanis try to cover it up.

LK, Blasphemy was written by Tehmina Durrani, the wife od Ghulam Mustafa Khur, Chief Minister of Punjab and one of Pakistan Peoples Party's precious pawns.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
LK, Blasphemy was written by Tehmina Durrani, the wife od Ghulam Mustafa Khur, Chief Minister of Punjab and one of Pakistan Peoples Party's precious pawns.

Ahh yes thats the name..incidently I also heard the book is banned in Pakistan

Do you remember any other books she wrote?

The other one is a famous one too. Pakistani burgers love to name it in every other discussion. It is called "My Feudal Lord".

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I don't know why some Pakistanis feel obligated to defend Saudis. It may be because they are the custodians of the two great mosques but it doesn't mean we should live in denial. The society has it's flaws and it is really laughable when Pakistanis try to cover it up.

I don't think that is the case at all Funguy....
Nia is a product of Arabia and ao am I.... its just 2 different opinions of ppl brought up in the same country.
No one is trying to cover up anything. But when things are grossly exaggerated... that is what is wrong.
verna problems kiss country mein nahi hai?
it all depends on the way u look at things.. and how u understand them to be :)
oh and bout the umrah thing... if a desi man can feel a 13 yr old girl up during HAJJ (personal exp).. then anythin is the limit my friend :)

p.s) what do u mean by women weren't being themselves?

I don't know if it's true or not, i don't know who Jean sasson is but the fact is the royal families in the Gulf, whether Saudi or Kuwaiti have always struck me as being scum.

I read this book also, it SUX

*Originally posted by irem: *
Nia, I have read that book too, a long time back when I was in 12th grade. For some reason I don't accept that everything written in that book is entirely true, though I'm sure some of it is, but it seems grossly exaggerated. Sorry to say this but the authoress seemed to me to be a bit of a sellout. Allah o Alim.

Yeah you’re right this book opened my eyes to the abuse women receive especially when their only purpose is to conceive and please, yet at the same time I had a hard time buying the exaggeration.

armghual *smack... MEN - and Yes men are from mars...

khawateen :~) do not believe in anything that you read - Its all rubbish....

funguy funny] i'll be honest i cursed you when i read first 2 lines of your reply. *smile - please give a detail message why women weren't being themselves. I am sure many lose their mind since they go through so much.

Lk *smile

Khawateen- I am a Product of Pakistan - i have very little influence of that culture.... I loved living in Makkah and Madina- I would still go back and stay there for sometime but there is simply no way i am letting anyone forcing me into that rubbish.

Majestic- i wasnt surprise to hear that from you my friend :~)

Maryam - We all know Saudi men practically 98% or may be all of them marry more than once.... khair you are entitle to what you believe.. but would like to tell you one thing sista... if you hear unjust is being done to another female try to stop it....

where do u get such stats from??? :rolleyes:

u sound just like a kid “i know superman exists cuz i’ve seen him in cartoons”…