Have been watching prime for over two hours now and all I have to say is…
YAWN!
I dont think religeon should have to do anything with television. No offense to any of the religuous sects!
But I liked that they aren’t showing stupid Pakistani movies and instead showing some spectacular Pakistani dramas! Anybody watched HAQDAAR today! Miss the good ol’ days!
You know what? These guys are SUCH hypocrites. In honor of Muharram , they've stopped playing all the new pop songs and they've stopped showing ne filmi music. BUT, they go ahead and show all the ghazals and tarannum naz and u know the boring type of songs with the woman or man singing on a stage with no movement except maybe an eyelash batting here and there? If they're not playing today's music, they should not be playing yesterday's either! Typical desi behavior, kal ka zamaana is right aur aaj ka zamaana is haraam!
…kuch samjh se kaam lo te aik maheena zara chup ker ke baith jao…jaan nahin nikal jaye ge tum dono ki ager aik maheena junoon ki mater-gashtian te junaid ke thumkay nahin daikh sako ge…
God bless u all…
DerVaisH
Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…
Alibeta, this is not the first time you have complained about PTV showing religious programs. This is why it makes us different from those kafirs, PTV, which is not only for entertainment for the Pakistanis abroad but also a chance for the young generations who were born here to learn about our religion and teach them moral values which you will hardly find by watching zee tv or Jerry springer.
I understand that sometimes they get a little carried away with the religious programs especially during the holy months but you also have to understand that there are some people who live in places where they have no connections to the mosque or any other religious source, so they rely on PTV.
Eventhough I am not a big fan of prime but I do admire their educational or Islamic progrmas they show.
[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited March 18, 2002).]
Waisat dervaish bhayee jaan!
I didnt know there is a law on here not to discuss PTV here on gupshup! Healthy crisitcism is the thing which will help improve PTV!
And as for Umair316 yaar there isn't anything wrong with showing religuous programs. But I think they get too carried away. I mean this is an entertainment channel, not a religuous channel. I mean not that I am offending anyone. But if it is time for ISHA in New York is it time for Isha in LA?
I think it’s good. The channel is representing Pakistan, not only in culture but religious wise too.
They are bringing just what you people asked for.. Pakistan to North America.
If you get bored watch another channel or make up your own channel. Simple.
chal yaar! PC channel start kartay hain! Kya idea hay. I will be the Music incharge! PCG can be our Managing director. And you could be our 'techincal' guy! hahahahahaha! You know why I said that!
Please read my post again - carefully. I am not saying at all that I dislike any of the religious programmes. I am not even saying that they should do any less than what they are doing. What I am trying to point out is their hypocrisy. They have stopped playing the songs of today and they continue to play the old ghazals and filmi ghanay. My point is -- just becuz those songs are old, doesn't make them respectable to be played during Muharram.
Alibeta's point is different. If I am reading correctly, he is saying that they should not be showing the amount of religious programming they are showing and that they should show more entertainment. I'm saying, if they are going to throw out today's songs, they ought to throw out yesterday's songs also.
But I have to say something else too, in addition to reiterating the comments in my first post. Pakistan houses other religions as well, yet we never see PTV give honor to them by telecasting anything non-Islamic. There is a sizable hindu population in Pakistan, and I have yet to see (other than in print media) any coverage on diwali or holi. I am not sure about Christmas, but all I remember seeing was this video on the internet of a music show being telecasted from a house or a hall with x-mas decorations. Thus, I'd like to pose the question here of whether Prime should take a step ahead and show programming of other religions?
PCG, can you give me an estimite percentage of non-muslims in Pakistan, maybe 3 to 5%, and how many of those 5% are living abroad, if you look at it that way then its not a huge non-muslim audience.
I haven't watched PTV in couple weeks but I can say one thing, I don't think the new songs are the reason why they are not showing, maybe because the video on the songs are not clean, believe me there have been some new videos which are no different from bollywood.
And old ghazals and filmi songs are clean.
Umair, What do you mean clean? And what new songs and videos do you think, of today, are unclean. Please provide examples, in detail. I personally think the music scene is basically unchanged. They're still singing about their saiyaan's and mahi's. All of them since the day Pakistan was formed. Its the same stuff, just the music is different. I mean, all the models in today's videos are fully clothed. The concepts of the videos are usually innocent romance or the usual desi male-oriented machoness.
AB and PC if you r so dying to miss your programs why do’nt you watch on vcr what you like or get migrated where you get your choices or have an international antenna or dish installed
Anyways in Muharram it’s ok to listen to music such as ghazal’s and qawalli’s.
Not this mauj masti style of songs.
As far as religion is, it’s what the viewers demand is. More demand for Islamic programming than Hindu. (Not like i’m being racist). They could fit some other religious shows into their telecast if the public needs it, or else it will take up a timeslot.
Same goes for every program, even if it is Islamic.
But, in that case we’d have to fit in tons of religious shows all day to fit everyones religion.
I suggest, they fit time in their schedule for christian and hindu shows once a week? Just like ZeeTV does.
Oh btw guys.. Muharram isn’t for 365 days. And I guarentee withen the next two months there will be more complaints about Prime TV on this board, so I recommend turn the receiver off for 4 days and then you’ll realize that you are missing Prime TV (even if Muharram is on).
critizing Prime is anyone's right. Just becuz we criticize it doesn't mean we hate it -- there are plenty of programmes which I like to watch and once in a while you do get to see a different song (anyone see that cool video for "yeh asaal shehzadi" done by Sheema Kirmani and Tahira Syed?)
See, to me ghazals are usually about love -- something not really brought up in muharram from what I see and have been brought up with. Now you have say, Haroon's Pyareya: also about love...just done in a different style. The subject matter is the same, and in one situation the girl has a red riding hood and in the other the woman is standing on a stage and singing in a sari -- its the same thing...so what place do ghazals have in muharram?
oh and when you guys say that the new music is "unclean", then why are u watching it at all? so, is it that you're deciding to be a muslim in muharram and not the rest of the year by watching what you think is unclean? And if you're going to just slap the word unclean on this music then please put some proof to it by pointing out examples as to what you mean. Until then, I maintain my opinion that the whole "kal ka music saaf sootra, and aaj ka music unclean" is an example of pakistani backwards mentality.
Listening to music in Muharram is same as listening it in any other month. If you consider music as wrong, u wont listen to it the whole year. BTW, if somebody wanna ban music, it should be Ramadhan, because in that month, sins are multiplied.
Originally posted by Al-Farooq: Listening to music in Muharram is same as listening it in any other month. If you consider music as wrong, u wont listen to it the whole year. BTW, if somebody wanna ban music, it should be Ramadhan, because in that month, sins are multiplied.
I agree.
If you think anything is wrong why do you do it when muharam's over?
Secondly what ever is done in muharam is not Islam anyway. Its not a piece of religion. So tell me if this 'religious teaching' does any good. Showing people hurting themselves scares the non-muslims if nothing else.
I dont get one thing why is PTV such a domesticated kind of a channel..why is it so affected by the events? Why cant they stay normal for a week!
Totally hate PTV in these days. Trying living in muharam with no cable.