Prime Television - my weekend at home!

My parents FINALLY decided to get Prime TV. So naturally, despite facing the stress of 3 exams this week, i rushed home just to check out the channel.

I honestly have to say, I was disappointed. I’m beginning to see your point, Alibeta. Here’s a brief synopsis of the shows I watched and my two cents for each:

Cinema Scope: allright, not too bad. Lollywood music is getting better and so is the picturization of some songs. But all that I heard on each interview was the pathetic state of the industry and an analysis on why the industry is pathetic. My question is, when are pple going to start taking some action?

Nigah: what a bakhwaas drama. Amina Haq, though beautiful, is not cut out for acting. The whole story line seems really pointless.

Shahla Kot: good attempt

Farah’s Hotline: this was entertaining.

Jahan Tum wahan Hum: what the @#@%? They have a chic hosting the show who can’t even talk well, who has no personal style or charisma. Then they have her walking around on the streets asking people senseless questions like “why do you think people use cell phones?”

I’m quite serious - that was one of the topics of this week’s show!

Family Front: the only funny show I saw this weekend.

HOtel Lucky Star: they attempted to address some political and social problems thru comedy. Terrible attempt. They need to stop that show right away.

Your Choice: this is the one with Irum Hassan. She’s got a cute haircut - i’ll give her that. But that’s the only thing she’s got going for her. She is too silly for anyone with half a brain to take seriously. Plus, the songs they played this week were ridiculous.

Suraj Grihan: only drama with any thook. Fairly decent viewing, but again I’ve seen better.

Movies: terrible .

The only good thing they had to show, was videos. But then again, music industry itni choti hai, ke they had the same few videos running over and over again. Aadmi thak na jaaye??

A Basant special on Sunday → uh! I’m not punjabi, and i’ve never celebrated basant. But i’m sure they could have done a waaaay better job than what they did. I think there was a show that they did - i didn’t get to see that. But i did see some person (again) walking the streets of Pakistan’s Punjab and asking “Aap ko kaisa lag raha hai basant?”

And the answer was the same boring one “Bohat acha lag raha hai, ji”

Yeah, great way to show the Basant festivities.

Prime TV is in a great spot to really put forth a positive and vibrant image of Pakistani entertainment. They’re based in the UK and they dont have to take ALL of their programming from PTV. I’m sure they could pull some locals to put up a way better show than what I saw this weekend.

Honestly, I’m a drama and music buff and that is why I got this channel. The dramas seemed to be wayyy better last season. The one thing I found was that there is no trace of the fashion industry…I really ought to think they should televise fashion shows and other aspects of the fashion industry - its one of the most professional industries of our country. But then again, I’m only judging with what I saw this weekend.

Overall, out of 5 stars, 5 being the best and 1 being unbearable, I give Prime a lukewarm rating of 3.

I know this primetv is a subject we’ve talked about a great deal already, but I had to provide you guys with my views especially after I had defended the channel without even watching it.

see thats what I was talking about! and trust me PCG Prime has improved a lot! BEfore december they showed 4 hours of Tilawats and all Azhaans! and two movies a day.

Chekc the compares out, Irum Hassan cant speak a word of English. Not that there is anything wrong with that but why does she have to speak it! Urdu main baat karro! Its an Urdu channel. Same goes for the girl on Prinme Post! She is even worse!

You might have also noticed that the quality of dramas is going down (except Shahla Kot).

But oh well! I watch it anyway, just because I love Pakistan and this reminds me of home!

Any idea how to get it in Australia?? Wouldn't mind checking it out. Do they do video streaming on the web?

She gets her good looks from her father. He's a plastic surgeon - Groucho Marx

First of all, with what other channels or entertainment programs are you comparing PrimeTV with? I’ve watched PTV in Pakistan for a few years and now this is the first time i am watching a Pakistani channel outside the country. I’ve seen a lot of changes, good changes that is. Music, especially pop has improved so much, plus filmi music is on its way to better quality. It’s a small industry, you can’t expect it to have releases every week. I think our standard of entertainment has increased as we have been exposed to other channels, namely hollywood and bollywood. You’ve got to give them a break, it’s a new channel trying to obtain audience across the globe, and that is to sustain an audience of all ages. It’s one channel you can sit with your family and watch without having to fear that unspoken uncomfortable moment that everyone feels when something of that sort comes on.

Give them criticism, believe me they need it. I agree some of the show hosts are way out of line. Iram Hassan act a bit too ditzy, the Amina girl from ‘Jahan tum wahan hum’ can’t articulate at all. It’s like someones forcing the words out of her mouth. You need to send them emails, they need an audience and this in result will help them make a better channel. I still say, stick with it.

I am in agreement with PyariC, and Ali here. my mother watches all this stuff and although i don't watch it myself, i have to say that Prime TV is pretty sub-standard stuff for the money they ask. It costs the same as Zee and Star but ZEE TV for example has way better Pakistani dramas and shows.

Prime is stuck with ancient films while one of the few decent Pakistani movies in recent times, Choorian, was shown on Zee.

from what I have seen the only decent show is VJ, a pop show which has some talented presenters.

ARY digital is another alternative, but that's pretty crap too.

Sehar, how do you contact Prime? I will happily send them some criticism, and maybe a few pointers as well. For a start they could get their hands on some recent material instaed of watching Indian channels snap up the best stuff.

How about showing some cricket matches, if they do, all the complaints will be over, no more whininng.

please everyone e-mail your request for cricket on prime-tv from this e-mail.

[email protected]

Thank you, come again

No.. cricket should not be shown on Prime TV, unless it is Live.

Reason for that is, Cricket takes 7-8 hours. Thus if it's not live, the viewing demand will be less and it will ruin Prime TV's sceduale, taking away the audience it has now.

Unless Prime TV makes a Sports Channel, then I would agree on previous cricket matches, but if it's not Live, then don't show it.

Also, Prime TV has in the past shown Cricket matches live from Sharjah, etc.

Another point of the fact is, people can rent cricket tapes, previous matches, easily from your local indian/pakistani video store. I have on many occasions and your certain to find matches in big city stores.

Ok guys put it this way. Would you rather have Prime TV or nothing at all? Ok it sure does suck, it needs to be more digital, get rid of the movies (oh please get rid of the movies), music shows are not bad, but they need Drama like Sony and Zee TV, that come on for 30min a day for 5 days a week, so it anticipates people to keep watching.

Also, they need to make the drama modern. Not this phind, Chaudhry, etc.. stuff. Oh how I hate that. They need good stories, digital picture quality in their tv shows and better sound system.

Just a few changes can make a lot of difference.

I totally agree with one of the points made --the Indian channels show more recent films than Prime. All I saw was terribly made movies of the late 70's and early 80's. How about showing new films which , believe it or not, are better than those 70 flicks? I know they'll be showing ghar kab aao gay on eid, but i'm sure there are more films than that which they can show. They dont have to show the good films only on eid.

I'm not comparing Prime to anything. I am criticizing it as a channel in itself. Also, I'm not saying that I'd want to give up the channel. I'll pay the money, since there are some good programmes. But they should realize by now what the quality of programming should be. PTV has been in existence since when?? a LOOOONG time. Don't you think that by now they would have realized how to hold the viewer's audience? In fact , if anything, the quality of our dramas in terms of story line and performances, has dropped dramatically. You can't deny that, even though there are a few good dramas still made now. And the fact of the matter is asking the Pakistani public what the use of cell phones is --i'm sorry that is not entertainment. Its absolutely pathetic. This is why you hire people based on their talent, not on who knows who and who's related to who and who is from what subculture etc. I have more talent in the tip of my pinky finger than what i've seen this weekend. And frankly, I'm still surprised that Nirma is still "dancing" with "other dancers" on stage to shazia manzoor's songs. I thought PTV would have figured out by now how ridiculous these girls look attempting to dance on stage. Its not even dancing, its waving your hands in the air.

Prime does not need to take all of their programming from PTV. Programs can be produced for Prime by people outside of Pakistan even.

But then again, i was only home for that one weekend...maybe I'll get adjusted to it.

yaar Umair!
I have told you several times! here I go again! Showing cricket matches on an national broadcasting television and showing live sports events on rebrodcasted international channels is different!

In Pakistan! The advertisments pay for the matches which are relayed to DD or PTV on subsidised rates! Unlike channels on Dish! Dish network shows the matches! But they charge you a pay per view fee for that. Which ranges from 30 to 99 dollars!

SO, I hope you get my point this time! IT IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR PRIME TV TO SHOW MATCHES! remember kay jab PTV parr match lagtaa thaa to PTV 2 par nahi lagtaa thaa?

I hope ab aap ko samajh main aa jaye meri baat!

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**How about showing some cricket matches, if they do, all the complaints will be over, no more whininng.

please everyone e-mail your request for cricket on prime-tv from this e-mail.

[email protected]

PCG, Prime is a part of PTV and the objective statment of the channel is to rebroadcast programs shown on PTV. You might have noticed that the news is the same! And they also changed the name to PTV prime! I just think they need better people on the channel.

I would be happy watching old PTV programs as they were spectaular instead of the crap they are showing right now.....

Originally posted by PyariCgudia:

Prime does not need to take all of their programming from PTV. Programs can be produced for Prime by people outside of Pakistan even.

But then again, i was only home for that one weekend...maybe I'll get adjusted to it. **

Not necesarily true ail bhai, channels like zee tv, sony and TV asia showed some live matches. Matter of a fact, 2 months ago, sony broadcasted the tri series in srilanka live. Asia cup and Sharjah matches are other examples.

ps Did you also get my PM about dil ki baat.

Thank you, come again

[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited February 19, 2002).]

**My parents FINALLY decided to get Prime TV. So naturally, despite facing the stress of 3 exams this week, i rushed home just to check out the channel.

I honestly have to say, I was disappointed. I'm beginning to see your point, Alibeta. Here's a brief synopsis of the shows I watched and my two cents for each:

Cinema Scope: allright, not too bad. Lollywood music is getting better and so is the picturization of some songs. But all that I heard on each interview was the pathetic state of the industry and an analysis on why the industry is pathetic. My question is, when are pple going to start taking some action?

Nigah: what a bakhwaas drama. Amina Haq, though beautiful, is not cut out for acting. The whole story line seems really pointless.

Shahla Kot: good attempt

Farah's Hotline: this was entertaining.

Jahan Tum wahan Hum: what the @#@%? They have a chic hosting the show who can't even talk well, who has no personal style or charisma. Then they have her walking around on the streets asking people senseless questions like "why do you think people use cell phones?"

I'm quite serious - that was one of the topics of this week's show!

Family Front: the only funny show I saw this weekend.

HOtel Lucky Star: they attempted to address some political and social problems thru comedy. Terrible attempt. They need to stop that show right away.

Your Choice: this is the one with Irum Hassan. She's got a cute haircut - i'll give her that. But that's the only thing she's got going for her. She is too silly for anyone with half a brain to take seriously. Plus, the songs they played this week were ridiculous.

Suraj Grihan: only drama with any thook. Fairly decent viewing, but again I've seen better.

Movies: terrible .

The only good thing they had to show, was videos. But then again, music industry itni choti hai, ke they had the same few videos running over and over again. Aadmi thak na jaaye??

A Basant special on Sunday -> uh! I'm not punjabi, and i've never celebrated basant. But i'm sure they could have done a waaaay better job than what they did. I think there was a show that they did - i didn't get to see that. But i did see some person (again) walking the streets of Pakistan's Punjab and asking "Aap ko kaisa lag raha hai basant?"

And the answer was the same boring one "Bohat acha lag raha hai, ji"

Yeah, great way to show the Basant festivities.

Prime TV is in a great spot to really put forth a positive and vibrant image of Pakistani entertainment. They're based in the UK and they dont have to take ALL of their programming from PTV. I'm sure they could pull some locals to put up a way better show than what I saw this weekend.

Honestly, I'm a drama and music buff and that is why I got this channel. The dramas seemed to be wayyy better last season. The one thing I found was that there is no trace of the fashion industry...I really ought to think they should televise fashion shows and other aspects of the fashion industry - its one of the most professional industries of our country. But then again, I'm only judging with what I saw this weekend.

Overall, out of 5 stars, 5 being the best and 1 being unbearable, I give Prime a lukewarm rating of 3.

I know this primetv is a subject we've talked about a great deal already, but I had to provide you guys with my views especially after I had defended the channel without even watching it. **

Thanks Yaar! you really saved my family's money!... coz my mother was dying to subscribe to the channel... we currently have Sony and B4U... sony is alright just that they keep on repeating dramas for over few years now!!! but they show reaspnably latest blockbusters... before that we had Zee... got fed up of watching Amanat!...

Now we are thinking of getting ARY or otherwise Prime for good... but after reading your eye openning synopsis... I think that we would have to recondider the chnage over!

so what do you guys say... how is ARY when complared to Prime.. and let's not count Anjuman as a channel (I request you)...

[This message has been edited by aladin (edited February 20, 2002).]

nice breif gudiya..

i wanna get it too…I M A MUSIC LOVER AND I NEEEEEED IT!!!

i TOLD MY DAD he says he will get me soon..but i dont know when this soon is gonna come..heheheh.

hey gudiya do they show VJ.. when i was in pak I use to luv this VJ program..

thats a dumb question y people use cell phone..

i was watching it online.topic was y people speak english…

some people says..they think that they are educated..show offs..only 1 person says that i agree with that “its a worldwide language and people use it everywhere”

DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

[This message has been edited by $ehar (edited February 20, 2002).]

Originally posted by $ehar:
**some people says..they think that they are educated..show offs.."

[This message has been edited by $ehar (edited February 20, 2002).]**

Well there is some sort of truth in that. If you go to Pakistan, especially in theaters sitting by those burgers, they will try to show off by speaking english, which they don't know how to speak.

Thank you, come again

aladin: oh no! what have I done?? I'm deterring people from supporting their own country's entertainment. Ah. For shame, pcg! Dekho, I'm not saying that its not worth getting. Some of the programmes are quite bearable and some others are not. Its like every channel. I think , personally, that I'd be better able to tolerate Prime than Zee. My ex-best friend has zee and sometimes we'd watch it together and frankly, I found the Indian dramas worse than the latest Paki ones. The only entertainment I appreciated on Zee was the filmi songs. My point is not to tell you NOT to get the channel. Most people on this forum like it alot. Or so it seems from the past threads. I just feel that this season, for some odd reason, the programming is not as good. I think they had better dramas, for example, last season. My bias. The best thing to do is to get it for like a month or two and see how you like it. Always give something a chance, dont go on what other people like me say!

I'll be going back this weekend and they'll have the eid programmes on ... i'll see if I change my mind...

there are many more shows on prime than what i've reviewed...i prob wont get to review them cuz i'm not home in the weekdays...anyone else have ne input on those other shows and dramas?

** Some of the programmes are quite bearable **

LOL

OK at least they show the news in Urdu...or