Prime Ministers of Pakistan

While watching a program on T.V. where Naeem Bukhari was discussing politics with Uzma Gilani, I realized that there’s quite a lot that I don’t know about Pakistan’s prime ministers.

I’d appreciate it if we could list all the Pakistani prime ministers in chronological order, their brief background, their tenure, main highlights of what they have done for/against Pakistan, and anything else that is relevant or worth mentioning.

I’m interested in different views and opinions and I’m hoping it won’t turn nasty.

Re: Prime Ministers of Pakistan

In the beginning, Pakistans prime ministers changed so frequently that nehru said they change more frequently than he changes his dhoti

i used to know them by heart when i was in olevels, lets see

liaqat
nazimuddin
bogra
mohammad ali
suhrawardy (first one from east pak)
chandrigar
feroz khan
then comes the martial law, so no PMs
zulfi bhutto
junejo
bb
jatoi (caretaker)
nawaz sharif (tind)
mazari
moin qureshi (sexy boy)
bb
miraj khalid (soota-baaz)
nawaz sharif (ganja)
jamali (haathi)
chaudhry shujaat (badmash from gujrat)
shaukat aziz (smart boy)

Nawabzada Khan Liaquat Ali Khan: He belonged to the nawab family of karnal former east punjab and was the first prime minister of pakistan.Took an active part in the pakistan movemnent with Quaid was assaninated and the files which had details of the investigation into his assasination are not available.The negative aspect which some people consider about shaheed-e-millat that he had differences with the Quaid on some issues.some people even blame him for quaids death that he delibrately didnot send the ambulance to ziarat.Liaquat ali khan is also accused by many as pro muhajir some historians believe that he was biast and gave top jobs to urdu speaking migrants.His trip to USA was also significant as he told the US authorities that he should get the same protocol as nehru.

Khawaja Nazimuddin: He was also from an influential family of dhaka.He is one of those bengali leaders who was pro west pakistan.The language controversy first surfaced during his tenure.

Muhammad Ali Bogra: He belonged to bogra and was from a rich family.The first prime minister who many analyst believe that was sworn in on the orders of washington because he was serving as an ambassador prior to his appointment as the PM.

Chaudhry Muhammad Ali: He was from east punjab and was a bureacrat.In his tenure the first constitution of pakistan was made.

Hussain Shaheed Suhrawardy: He belonged to a respectable bengali family.He formed the AWAMI MUSLIM LEAGUE which became awami league and now is the main opposition party of bangladesh.He is one leader who commands respect both in the prsent pakistan and bangladesh.His grand daughter Barrister shahida jameel was made minister in the musharraf government.

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar: He belonged to the muhajir community his exact area is not confirmed I think from rajasthan or gujrat.He was made interim prime minister by iskander mirza for only two months.

Sir Malik Feroz Khan Noon: He belonged to an influential landlord family of sarghoda.He was removed from the office by Iskander mirza.

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto :He belonged to a famous family of sindh his father Sir shahnawaz bhutto was the dewan of junagadh.His entry into politics was at the time when army was ruling the country.He with ayub khan and yahya khan is blamed for the fall of dhaka.His political slogan was roti kapra and makan whic became popular with the masses.He started the process of nationalisation which failed to give any relief to ordinary man.
In his term the present constitution was made in consensus with the opposition.He was ousted by zia and on his orders was hanged.

Muhammad Khan Junejo :He belonged to a landowner family of Sindh.Though he was made pime minister at the time of zia ul haq in a party less elections.He developed differences with zia and zia sacked his government.He is regarded by many political analyst as a prime minister who didnot compromise on his principals.His daughter and son are in politics,His daughter is nazim of some town of sindh.

Benazir Bhutto: daughter of zulfiqar ali bhutto her firm term at power was after the crash of zias plane and she returned from exile.She was part of a coalition government with ANP and MQM.ghulam ishaq khan dismissed her government due to corruption.

Ghulam Mustafa Jatio :he belongs to a landlord family of sindh.He was the founding member of PPP but after bhutto's death developed differences with benazir and nusrat bhutto.He formed his own National peoples party.

Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif: He was an industrialist was brought into politics by Zia.He had differencess with the president and was sacked on charges of corruption

Balakh Sher Mazari :a baloch sardar of south punjab rajanpur.He waS a care taker prime minister.he is out of active politics and now he is in favour of dividing punjab into three administrative provinces

Moeenuddin Ahmad Qureshi :He was a care take prime minister and served at a high position at world bank.Many people say that he didnot have a National Identifiaction Card when he became prime minister because after going to states he didnot returned to pakistan.

Benazir Bhutto Benazi:r second term was disatrous both at the international level as well as national level.During her term taliban had the goverment in afghanistan her interior miniter naseerulah babur called them"My Babies".She also ordered actions against the Mqm

Malik Miraj Khalid: He belonged to a lower middle class family of lahore.He was the caretaker prime minister.Many People say that he was against VIP culture and wanted to reduce the protocol and perks of the government officials

Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif: The second term he won by a convincing two third majority.Pakistan became a nuclear state.His differences with the army first surfaced at the time of kargil and eventually the army took over after a year or so.

Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali: He belongs to a sardar family of balochistan.He didnot have any major achievemnet and was overshadowed by President musharraf.People accuse his sons of corruption.He developed differences with chaudhary shujaat and president musharraf.He also served as a bodyguard of fatima jinah

Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain: He belongs to a landlord/industrualist family of gujrat.His father was the speaker of National assembly.He made sure of shaukat aziz's seat from attock and tharparkar

Shaukat Aziz: He belongs to a middle class urdu speaking family of karachi is still serving as prime minister and his status is more or less equal to zafarullah jamali.

People have the right to disagree with me and may not agree with my interpretation of facts.

Thank you for the detailed analysis.

Would Zia, Musharraf and other such rulers fall under the category of prime minister or something else?

I'm interested in reading about Ayub Khan, as that is the individual that was mentioned last night and I hardly know anything about him.

From what I can gather so far, Pakistan's mainly been run by the rich and the influential.

Did Pakistanis democratically elect all the prime ministers so far, or is there another side to it?

Pakistans first direct election under one person one vote was in 1970..prior to that from Liaqat Alis death till 1972 all other PM’s exercised very little real power..whatever power there was was in the hands of the civil service and the Army. As far as Pakistan being ruled by the rich and influential ..that is partly true..however if you want the names of the rulers who ruled you need a list of Presidents and Governor Generals (like Zia, Ayub, Musharraf, Ghulam Mohamed and Yahya) not PM’s with the exception of two or three PM’s… real power has almost always been exercised by the Presidents and Governor Generals. As far as the ones who exercised real power are concerned, quite a few were not fiscally corrupt (Iskandier Mirza, Khawaja Nazimuddin, Yahya Khan, ghulam Ishaq Khan etc)..

syedpk: quite a well written exhaustive list..just a general comment do you think Mazari should be included? Technically his stint is not considered “legal” ..also I am not sure about this but I think Nurul Amin was made Prime Minister for a brief period beofre Dhaka fell..

Sadiyah,

The following is a list of all people who have held the office of Prime Minister since independence (with dates).

1. Liaquat Ali Khan – Aug 15, 1947 to Oct 16, 1951
  2. Khawaja Nazimuddin – Oct 16, 1951 to Apr 17, 1953
  3. Mohammed Ali Bogra – Apr 17, 1953 to Aug 8, 1955
  4. Chaudhry Muhammad Ali – Aug 11, 1955 to Sep 8, 1956
  5. Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy – Sept 12, 1956 to Oct 17, 1957
  6. Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar – Oct 17, 1957 to Dec 16, 1957
  7. Malik Feroz Khan Noon – Dec 16, 1957 to Oct 7, 1958
  8. Ayub Khan – Oct 24, 1958 to Oct 27, 1958

9. Nural Amin – Dec 7, 1971 to Dec 20, 1971

10. Zulfikar Ali Bhutto – Aug 14, 1973 to July 5, 1977

11. Mohammed Khan Junejo – March 24 1985 to May 29, 1988

12. Benazir Bhutto – Dec 2, 1988 to Aug 6, 1990

13. Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi – Aug 7, 1990 to Nov 7, 1990

14. Nawaz Sharif – Nov 7, 1990 to Apr 18, 1993

15. Balakh Sher Mazari – Apr 18, 1993 to May 26, 1993

16. Nawaz Sharif – May 26, 1993 - July 18, 1993

17. Moeen Quershi – July 19, 1993 – Oct 19, 1993

18. Benazir Bhutto – Oct 19, 1993 – Nov 5, 1996

19. Malik Meraj Khalid – Nov 5 1996 – Feb 17, 1997

20. Nawaz Sharif – Feb 17, 1997 – 12 Oct, 1999

21. Zafurallah Khan Jamali – Nov 23, 2002 to Jun 28, 2004

22. Chaudhury Shujaat Hussain – June 28, 2004 to Aug 28, 2004

23. Shaukat Aziz – Aug 28, 2004 to present

Ayub khan,Zia ul haque and pervez musharraf are all army generals.They all came to power by toppling democratically elected governments and they all violated the constitution.To give some legality to their rule they all became president.

pervez musharraf called himself the cheif executive then he held a referendum and became president.Zia ul haque overthrew the bhutto government and in1984 he also became the president with a referendum.Ayub khan was made defence minister by mohammed ali bogra and when iskander mirza removed malik feroz khan noon he appointed ayub khan as Cheif martial law administrator.ayub developed differences with iskander mirza and overthrew his government.he announced presidential elections where he defeated fatima jinnah.

Yeah rich and influential ruled pakistan uptill now.But the army generals ayub khan,zia and musharraf all are from lower middle class or middle class families.

elections were always held but were they free and fair thats always the question. AccordingThe US state department the 2002 elections also had irregularities.Elections except the ones which were held in 1970 in which majority was with mujib ur rehman were fair according to political analyst but the west pakistani politicians didnot accept their majority as result unfortunately it led to the independence of east pakistan.

Ayub khan was from haripur hazara some analyst credit him for the industrialization process and land reforms.He shifted capital from karachi to islamabad.He gave pakistan the second constitution.1965 war was during his rule .people also blame him for the fall of dhaka.Qudrat ullah shahab a bureacrat at that time wrote in one of his b shahabnama

"Pakistan mara hua hathi hai aur hum sab gidh(vulture) hain is main jitna ghost bacha hai usko bhi kha lo"

The family iof zia and ayub is in politics as well.ayub khan's son ,gohar ayub khan was our foreign minister his grandson,omar ayub khan is currently our minister of state for finance.ayub khans daugter in law is also in politics and i am not confirmed but she is MNA.Zia ul haq son ijaz ul haq is minister of hajj,zakat and religious affairs

Zakk
You are right abou Noor ul amin I somehow missed him.His 13 days at the office.Balak sher mazari was at the time when we had constitutional crisis as well as the PM and president were not going along well.

I am not a legal expert but the present setup is illegal as well because a person who violates the constitution dismisses an elected prime ministerand calls for elections which everyone accepts that it had serious irrregualrities makes a puppet PM.So junejo,zafarulla jamali,shujat husain were all unconstitutional PMs and shaukat aziz is also an unconstitutional PM.

13. Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi – Aug 7, 1990 to Nov 7, 1990
14. Nawaz Sharif – Aug 7, 1990 to Apr 18, 1993
How is that possible?

nawaz sharif term started from nov 1990 and not aug 6 1990.Ghulam mustafa jatoi was the caretaker PM.

I have heard that wife of Iskander mirza and nusrat bhutto(zulfiqar bhutto's wife) were sisters.If it is the case then they both are the only sisters in the history of pakistan who became first ladies.Correct me if the information is incorrect.

Isn't nusrat bhutto irani?

yeah she is irani kurd

Apologies, the correct date when Nawaz Sharif first assumed the Premiership is Nov 7, 1990.

Once again thank you everyone. I really appreciate the hardwork many of you have put in.

I thought the presidents are only their for decoration and prime ministers are the ones with real authority as well as the ones who run the show.

I reckon Nawaz Sharif during his tenure did something due to which a president no longer had the authority to remove a prime minister.

I know I've heard people remember Ayub Khan in a positive manner. Hence, the reason I was interested to find out what he has done.

If it isn't too much of a hassle, could we have a list (copy/paste the list again) along with the major good and bad things (point form would be nice) all of the prime ministers and presidents have done so far.

I sort of want to use it as a reference and guide that I can refer to.

Thank you and I apologize for being so picky.

Go to www.storyofpakistan.com

Events 1947-1958 Personalities 1947-1958
Events 1958-1969 Personalities 1958-1969
Events 1969-1977 Personalities 1969-1977
Events 1977-1988 Personalities 1977-1988
Events 1988-1998 Personalities 1988-1998
Events 1998- Personalities 1998-

Thirteenth Amendment, Fourteenth Amendment.

Muhammad Ayub Khan.

How dare you call Nawaz Sharif a tind :frowning:

Please call him wadi tind and don’t forget the role of abaji marhoom..

Please filll in the application form for PM of Pakistan…

Also please see wadi tinds letter to his janta.

Here is a good link to the Governors + Chief Ministers etc of all Pakistan’s provinces since independence.

http://www.worldstatesmen.org/Pakistan_states.html#North%20West%20Frontier