Pretty Pakistan

That’s such an incredibly pretty and happy cover for a book that basically covers all the dark details of Pakistani politics, lol. I couldn’t resist sharing it with you guys.

There is something so traditionally PTV-esque about the cover - the idea of representing all four provinces through young people wearing respective traditional clothes. You don’t see that kind of advertisement in today’s media.

The book was published in 2012, so its heart-warming and nostalgic to see the old school and all iconic representation of Pakistan. To me, it’s a very powerful, meaningful and romantic visual - I like it.

What do you think the cover?

PS: Excuse the bad picture quality, it’s pretty sunny outside. The colours are actually very bright and concentrated, you can do a quick google, if interested.

Re: Pretty Pakistan

Definitely a pretty cover and as you said PTV (among all its odds of censorship and sab acha hai mantra) got credit to represent four provinces. That was the time, when we were attentive towards other cultures as presented by PTV’s programs. The best folk songs of all provinces were produced in those days. Though, now we got channels of all languages in Pakistan (like Sindhi got 8 channels), but that one hour of PTV programs had more mature and quality stuff.

I was going to open a thread on these songs, but I think this got relevance here as well.

12 songs from Pakistan’s mountains, deserts, shrines and streets - Blogs - DAWN.COM

^ I remember the article, I've Youtube'd all songs and since then, I've been hooked to Noor Jahan's *'Ay Puttar hattan tey nai wikdey'. *Such emotionally evoking lyrics and voice, every single word of the song carries insanely raw yet timeless appeal. I love when the part when she says *'ay sodda naqat vi nahi milda, tu labdi phirain udhaarr kurray....ay dain he mere Dat'aa di, na awain takkran maar kurrai'. *Truly, one of the finest examples of raw power of Pakistani music.

We have new PTV here, and every few hours in a day, they show old PTV plays and transmission, and I must confess, more than entertainment, PTV plays were a learning experience for audiences. Few weeks ago, I was watching drama serial Marvi on PTV, and it was pretty therapeutic experience. You learn so much about everyday lifestyle, cultures, problems and joys of people living in different provinces. PTV was a ticket to entire Pakistan.

State owned PTV had a punchline of its programming : Entertainment with Education. Now, none of the mushroomed grown channels got such passion. Commercialism / Ratings not only affected creativity, but values as well. The latest Geo / ARY (dogfight - it was beyond cat fight) says that these channels don't feel any social responsibility towards their viewers.

I usually think why we stopped producing songs like 'Main bhi Pakistan hoon tu bhi Pakistan hai' or 'teri wadi wadi ghoomoon tera kona kona choomoon'? Probably our priorities got changed and Media definitely has a role in it.

Do pakistani newschannel add some bollywood songs in background of news item?

Most classical song was Mile Sur mera tumhara on doordarshan :)

yes, except for state owned PTV.

Nobody watches State Owned Doordarshan here, I don't remember watching it for years :)

same is the case with PTV. :)

The media channels should grow up, not every news needs Bollywood songs in the background.

The cover of the book is pretty and quite striking. Here is a picture I found that shows the bright colours a bit better:

Another book that I think has great visuals is this one:

Pakistan: From Mountains to Sea by Mohamed Amin

It has some stunning photography of the natural landscapes of Pakistan from the different regions and of the various important landmarks.

Thanks for posting the original cover and another gem of a cover, Mezghan.

Northern Pakistan is absolutely gorgeous. A paradise for nature lovers.