Pressure Cookers

How many of you guys use a pressure cooker at home? How long does it take you to cook whatever you are making?

I love cooking but cooking meat without the help of pressure cooker does my head in - the only thing is that I am bit scared of getting one. Thoughts are going through my head that it could explode in the middle of my cooking…:bummer:

Which one can you recommend? Not too big and not too small!!! How should I use it? Any hints and tips?

Thanks

Re: Pressure Cookers

Well, the good ones dont explode :slight_smile:
There’s this great pressur cooker by Tefal “Clipso” but its really expensive. :bummer:
I just invested in a good quality Hawkins pressure cooker recently, and am really happy with it.

Usually it takes less than 10 minutes for meat, 5 minutes for daal.
It took about 20 mintues for laal lobiya that I cooked yesterday.
I bought 5.5 L which is just the right size. I already had a 9 L capacity, Pakistan made cooker but it was just too big for a small family like ours.

Pressure cooker is a must. Usually takes 20 mins for the beef. I used to be scared of it also that it will explode on my face lol....but really nothing will happen if u don't open it right on the stove. Once you have cooked for 20 mins turn off teh stove, run the pressure cooker under cold water in the sink for about 1- 2 mins. Then let it sit for one minute and then open the lid with your face little further away. :D

My parents use an old fashioned one that i dont know the name of but it works awesome. Alhamdulillah we have never had a problem with it exploding or anything.

Sadaf, your pressure cooker sounds real fast. I am gonna have to look for that one now.

Ira - pressure cookers work really fast when they are new, with time the cooking time increases a bit. But it doesnt make a lot of difference, kahan 2 ghantay main gosht galta hai, aur kahan 10-15 min.
But if you invest in something good, they they last for a really long period of time, even more than 20 something years. You just need to change the rubber

I also have one and i love it!!! There are nights when dinner is on the table in less than an hour.

I have had one explode on me. I was 17 at the time and ammi was visiting pak so i as the eldest was taking care of aboo and rest of the siblings. I was making daal and it exploded almost in my face but Allah ne bacha lya!! The daal was every where...when i say everywhere i MEAN everywhere. On the ceiling, in the fridge inside the cabinets.....khair it took me and Roshi about 3 hours to clean the place. The cooker was pakistani and it was one horrible incident.

Yeah, once I remember our pressure cooker exploded on my mother she was cooking channa in it. One of channa's skin went and blocked the way for the steam to escape. But it happened almost 20 yrs ago, and it was a Russian pressure cooker, really old fashioned. Now the new ones are designed in such a way that they dont explode, you just need to keep your ears open, if its sound changes then you need to turn the heat off immediately.
However, I have been using cookers for a long time now, and I even boil the potatoes in it. Just dont fill the cooker more than one third of its size, it wont explode :)

hehe…the same chana skin getting stuck in air valve made our pressure cooker explode. And it happened THRICE.
First time was the worst…as \our kitchen was mostly destroyed…everything in sight was broken/damaged…other two times it wasn’t that bad.

when ammi told this to the shopkeeper we usually went to, he was like ‘baji, aap kay kitchen pay kisi nay taweez kiay huay haiN’ :rolleyes:

But.,…don’t be scared Sunset_eyes…:smiley: these were all old fashioned ones. The quality is considerably improved these days.:slight_smile:

I can’t believe he said that…:omg:

i use it all the time, its quick, but the food does taste better if you cook it without a pressure cooker.

lol Afia, that’s really funny. :omg:

Sunset, yes you dont have to worry about pressure cookers exploding, cuz nowdays they come with safety valves.

I got one as a weddinggift! I tried it last week and it only took 20 mins for the beef to cook. It’s my fav. kitchen utensil now :smiley:

^ Lucky you!
Its the best thing for the kitchen… :sigh: I couldnt buy it, kaash mujhay bhi koi gift kar day.

love pressure cookers!! You just have to be careful that you leave enough water in there so it doesn't dry out quickly and not to leave it running for too long
goat meat takes 10 minutes and beef takes 20 minutes.
I don't put daals in there because the lentil seed does have a tendency of flying up and getting stuck in the holes and I've heard too many stories about that :)

All of you have convinced me. After spending 3 hours waiting for the darn goat meat to tenderize yesterday, I really need to invest in a pressure cooker!

ok.. i think im the only one here who absolutely hates hates hates pressure cookers… i cant work em.. simple as that :mad: … especially the ones that go choo choo .. mom bought me the tefal clipso but i havent touched it yet and keep telling her to use it herself…

id rather just cook in a regular pot… but no way has my meat ever taken me more than 30 mins to go tender… i think it depends on the quality of the meat too …