Daleel bhai, so accept the fact that he will be around for a long time. Mashallah.
It is not 1971. Pakistan will remain intact. As long as Pakistan has great patriotic leaders like President Musharaf. Long may he continue. :)
Ask yourself. His patriotism has created a huge mess in Balochistan, Waziristan, Banu and Swat mashallah. He is truely a patriotic leader.
Isn't he the same guy who made the Kargil joke in 99. The worst ever millitary compaign in Kashmir, where Pakistan became a joke internationally. It neither could accept that its forces are in Indian territory nor it could deny after the war was over as caskets flew from Delhi to Islamabad with full protocol.
If he was that sincere, could he stop his puppies (Shaukat and co) to stop selling national assets like peanuts. Can't you see his hypocracy? Do not mask the massive corruption of his government behind the foriegn exchange NRP sending after 9/11 he has nothing to do with it. Its international situation that he got benefitted from, in most parts.
There have been so many predictions over the last 9 months that Musharraf would fall from power, that all have come to nothing. Even after the Emergency when you would have expected the opposition to unite, instead it is literally fighting amongst each other, when not making deals with Musharraf.
There is only one Politician in Pakistan and He is called Pervez Musharraf. Just see how successfully he used emergency to further coutry's interest.
1. Clipped the wings of Bezair Bhutto.
2. Return of Nawaz sharif to allow all leaders to participate in elections.
3. Relative calm in Wazirastans.
4. Successful Army operation in Swat.
5. Demise of BLA leader -- Baalach Maari
6. Realeased all political prisoners from Jail (even Aitazaz)
7. All Tv channels (apart from Geo) are on air now and Good thing is that all of them have signed Code of conduct
8. Many Judges are back in Supereme court and rest of them would be forgotten by Pakistani awam sooner rather later.
9. Prevented Imran Khan from bringing "Revolution"
10. Convinced West that he is the best person to lead Pakistan and there is no doubt about it.
Musharraf is no saint but I do think he is competent enough to lead country as unreliable as Pakistan and he understands Pakistan more than any politican in Pakistan or outside Pakistan. The thing I like about this guy is that he is nationalist and he Talks about Pakistan not about his dad (as BB does about Bhutto and Nawaz does about Abba Jee). Musharraf deserved to rule Pakistan despite of what he did in past Six months because we have got only one Siasatdan (politician) in Pakistan and ironically, He is General. God Bless Pakistan and God Bless Musharraf.
Pakistan Paindabad.
You sound more like an army man or a relative of one there. You are giving Mush too much credit.
Of all the points that you have listed above I would only agree with 3. Most of the others for instance Sharif's return had to do with external/other factors Saudi pressure, hour of necessity etc.
I also accept that Mush has been better than NS and BB but my problem is not with him per se but military rule. If he had given up his uniform >> held free and fair elections >> and then sought re-election for another 5 years from the new parliament I would have whole-heartedly accepted him as a civilian President. But what he has done is resorted to chor tareeqa whereby a parliament that was elected for 5 years in the first place has elected him as president for 10 years! Is that not bizarre?
I believe that Mush's latest concession to Nawaz is his political gamble to ensure that no single party gets a 2/3rds majority in the next elections (so that his amendment, article 52 (b) stays). He has already announced that he would give up his uniform this Thursday. He would not want to be just another Fazal Elahi or Rafiq Tarar. Would he?
You sound more like an army man or a relative of one there. You are giving Mush too much credit.
Of all the points that you have listed above I would only agree with 3. Most of the others for instance Sharif's return had to do with external/other factors Saudi pressure, hour of necessity etc.
I also accept that Mush has been better than NS and BB but my problem is not with him per se but military rule. If he had given up his uniform >> held free and fair elections >> and then sought re-election for another 5 years from the new parliament I would have whole-heartedly accepted him as a civilian President. But what he has done is resorted to chor tareeqa whereby a parliament that was elected for 5 years in the first place has elected him as president for 10 years! Is that not bizarre?
I believe that Mush's latest concession to Nawaz is his political gamble to ensure that no single party gets a 2/3rds majority in the next elections (so that his amendment, article 52 (b) stays). He has already announced that he would give up his uniform this Thursday. He would not want to be just another Fazal Elahi or Rafiq Tarar. Would he?
No he don't want to be a lame duck President and given the circumstances, that won't be in Pakistan's interest either. You admit that he has been better than both NS and BB and that's what I have been saying for ages that he is best among the worst. As far as his coming from chor darwaza is concerned, let me tell you that Pakistanis are generous and bholay bhalay. Judging by the reception, NS and BB got in Lahore and Karachi, people would soon forget what wrong Musharraf did in the past and he would go down in the history as best nationalist Pakistan ever had.
President Musharraf needs to go, he cant stay there forever. His so called "emergency rule" is making a big mess of the political system. As if it wasnt already messed up enough.
I thought their was hope before this emergency rule happened for elections to go relatively smoothly, but you never know with these power hungry rulers.
And arresting all political opponents, shutting the media, jailing others...what the hell has he done?!?!?!
Musharaf may lose all powers or even the presidential seat, after election. Same thing happened to Farooq Laghari, who helped Nawaz come to power, and later on got eplaced because Nawaz wanted a puppet president, a yes sir man. Nawaz's dictator and darbari style was on display everyday on TV, the way he used to fire people (much like Donald Trump), without any investigation. Obviously he did not tolerate a president who was smarter than him. I think Musharaf should be ready for a similar event, when the new sworn in prime minister, they may get enough votes to put their man in.
No matter what happens, the general was good for Pakistan. As a leader and a straight forward talker, he fixed a lot of things in Pakistan. He showed us the right path, the path of moderation. Now its time to destroy what he built and hail the new king. I think in 8 to 12 years we will realize, what where we went wrong. We always do, don't we.
Anyone can last 3000+ days with the army backing and imposing emergency and using brutal tactics. We will see how long he lasts after 16 Dec. The brutality is coming to an end soon.
Dekh letay hain. Hum bhee idhar hi hain aur aap bhee